Fred's Employee Reviews

Showing all 122 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's taught me a lot about managing a company.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Dalton, GAMay 15, 2015
A typical day at work is a day that you will stay busy at constantly. With helping customers to other tasks that has to get done.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid Back enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Griffin, GAApril 2, 2015
I loved my management at this facility it had good hours got off early, no long long hours when we were slow it felt like forever , i also like the fact if you request days off for this job they give it to you if you have something to take care of they work with you
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Jackson, TNMarch 30, 2015
I enjoyed working at Fred's. I had some very good co-workers who was very respectful. The hardest part of this job was unloading the trucks. I really enjoyed working with the public and meeting different people.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Didn't like working here.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMarch 13, 2015
Fred's was okay, but everyone steals. Managers especially. Just not really a good company to work for in my opinion. The Work was easy though.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible place to work
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Forest, MSFebruary 18, 2015
I was a cashier by day stalkers by night.I never got off of work when scheduled co-workers came and went but never stayed. The manager and Assistant were let go for reasons that i can not discuss.Did not like the job at all do to staff.
Pros
discounts
Cons
the manangement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier/ fun
Cashier/stocker (Former Employee) –  Oxford, ALFebruary 18, 2015
It was okay to work there and yes I would work there again. My manager was the bomb, she understood the single parents.I learn some times you have to do what you have to do like stay work no matter if the rules change or not
Pros
breaks
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Cashier; Stocker (Former Employee) –  Blackshear, GAFebruary 10, 2015
Freds was a great place to work. I was pregannt with my son while i worked here and they were very lienant about me having off for doctor appointments and things. I loved each person as my own family
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Thomasville, GADecember 10, 2014
Answer phone, rang up items. Cleaned the store. The staff was friendly and the customers were very nice as well.
Pros
i stocked items and got to organize
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It will do
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Hallsville, TXNovember 12, 2014
I was a cashier (part-time) while juggling being a single parent to a teen and going to college full time.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail...fast pace
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Stone Mountain, GANovember 7, 2014
• Provide customer service with locating products throughout the store
• Assist with stocking and receiving inventory
• Responsible for categorizing inventory in stockroom
• Logging/ Checking in Vendors and there merchandise
• Cash register operation
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Iva, SCOctober 29, 2014
I was a learning experience . I enjoyed the people there and I thank them for helping me with my office skills i have today
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier
Customer service/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXOctober 25, 2014
I only worked at Fred's for a month. I was temporarily hired on just before the store went out of business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Greenwood, MSOctober 9, 2014
I loved working for this company. I would go back if I had the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so productive and employees are rude
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Hampton, GASeptember 22, 2014
Managers are always getting mad when a cashier calls for them to do a pick up or when it's break time for the cashier
Pros
going home
Cons
healthcare, management and fellow employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and flexible workplace
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Osceola, Ar.September 14, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of greeting and checking out customers which can sometimes involve a little conversation depending the mood of the customer. While working at fred's I learned several of things. I learned how to balance school while working and to not bring my personal problems within the workplace. My co-workers were amazing, we helped each other when it was needed. Any time a task needed to be done with team work we would simply handle it. The hardest part of my job was working on holidays. things would constantly move very quickly, not that it was something I could not handle. I enjoyed having conversations with the customers for the most part.
Pros
long breaks, challenging tasks
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Operations Expert (Current Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LASeptember 7, 2014
Laid back, not over whelming and fun. I have been here for months. Scheduling is flexible and team oriented environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going enviroment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Waycross, GASeptember 6, 2014
Great managers, clean workplace, lunch breaks are decent as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun team to work with
3rd Key/Operation Manager (Former Employee) –  Albany, GASeptember 2, 2014
I enjoyed seeing regular customers
Management worked great together
Everyone made a great team
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with a friendly staff.
Operations Expert (Current Employee) –  Piedmont, SCAugust 31, 2014
Freds Inc. is a great place to work with friendly people. The upbeat staff made work fun and enjoyable.
Pros
could leave work there and not bring it home.
Cons
short breaks, difficult schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Home Expert (Former Employee) –  Westminster, SCAugust 15, 2014
Put furniture together, Do plan-o-grams, put out stock, cashier and janitorial work. I learned how to do plan-o-grams and how to run a baler. I got along with the manager and co-workers. I enjoyed helping the customers.
Pros
working with the customers.
Cons
short breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 122 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture