Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your mileage will vary
Data & Operations Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMay 29, 2015
Pros: Benefits, relative stability, mission
Cons: Confusing structure, variability in work experience
This is a large institution populated by thoughtful and intelligent employees. It is not a centralized environment and in many ways functions as an academic institution more than as a unified company. Work experience here is variable because of this decentralized nature.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a review
VOLUNTEER AND INTERNSHIPS (Former Employee), Seattle, WaMay 21, 2015
This is not a review. I only participated in a philanthropic effort with FHCRC. We raised a lot of money for the cause which I am extremely proud of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top of the line lab environment with new age technology
Lab Intern (Current Employee), seattle, washingtonApril 22, 2015
Pros: work environment, flexible schedule
Cons: no pay for intern, little chance for advancement
Being an intern, I dont get to delve to deeply into the life of a researcher, but all the researchers within the/ each lab are friendly and get along well with each other. I get to work with top of the line technology to extract DNA and analyze it. Its great when the whole lab takes a break and just chats with each other for a few moments when things get overly repetitive. It is a great work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, little advancement
Statistical Research Associate I (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 23, 2015
Pros: flexible
Cons: little advancement, poor pay
The place in general is nice, but whether you will like it there or not depends on who you work with. It varies a lot based on your boss and your team. There is very little advancement/growth in this company, I'd say expect 3 years or more for it..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good paying job
Facilities Operator Engineer (Current Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 20, 2015
Pros: benefits
Cons: lots of walking, procurement system
Does IMPORTANT work for cancer research. A large and growing campus research facility with complex systems and opportunity for a wide range of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Research Technician I (Current Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: talks, seminar, symposiums, parties, group discussion, inter lab meetings
Cons: can't think of any !
In hutch we get a chance to learn interdisciplinary cancer research. Every week meetings are held wherein we gave constructive feedback to each other and lost of brain storming. Every friday there is a postdoc symposium held in Hutch turn by turn by every lab, which gives a boast and ideas what others are doing. Overall all HUTCH LAND is a FUN LAND & SCIENCE LAND.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Intern
Donor Relations Intern (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 28, 2015
- Great Mission
- Good location and facilities
- Positive teammates
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a Dull Moment
Administrative Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 28, 2015
Pros: the benefits package, dedicated faculty and staff
Cons: there has been a senior leadership vacuum for a couple of years, lack of staff career path, pay is on the low side, the internal admin systems are difficult to navigate
The benefits can't be beat; the work is interesting and benefits mankind; faculty and staff are dedicated to the mission. The Hutch is undergoing some system-wide changes which should bring the institution up the present.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed atmosphere but somewhat disorganized at points.
Research Project Interviewer, Lead (Former Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 19, 2014
Pros: supportive environment. relaxed and casual.
Cons: somewhat disorganized. management at inefficient at times.
Good place to work overall. Positive, supportive culture. Pay a little low. Somewhat disorganized.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Staff and Patients
Practice Plan Coordinator (Former Employee), Seattle, WAAugust 4, 2014
I have never felt more complete in all aspects of my life then when I worked here. Everyone is on a mission for the patient and you can feel the positive energy every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Biostatistics Research Associate (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 4, 2014
Great learning environment
Great people
Great office spaces
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Research
Lab Manager/Research Tech (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMay 8, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, good benefits, great people
Cons: low pay, grant based positions
I was involved in many different research projects at FHCRC. I learned alot about research and cell biology. The management and my co-workers were wonderful. The hardest part of the job was the unpredictability of the research. The most enjoyable was see the research we conducted make a difference in peoples lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Lab Aide (Current Employee), Seattle, WAFebruary 9, 2014
The work atmosphere is very laid back. Co-workers help each other out as much as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job of my career
RN staff nurse - ICU primary care adult (Former Employee), Seattle, WAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: emotional involvement
Primary care from start to discharge. Best work enviroment with cooperation ever between all med personel.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical academia
Staff Scientist (Current Employee), Seattle, WANovember 15, 2013
Typical academic environment. Not so high salary. Need to write grant all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
x
Quality Services Compliance Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WANovember 15, 2013
Pros: x
Cons: x
Would be happy to discuss in person. Current leadership communication needs improvement. Great repoire with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place!
technical support (Former Employee), Public Health SciencesOctober 21, 2013
Pros: quality support staff, honest management
Cons: budget cuts
While budget cuts have me in the former employee section, I enjoyed the work environment. Every one I worked with had the same great work ethic, because we all know to work at this non-profit is a mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful campus
Research Technician II, Molecular Epidemiology (Current Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 17, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: budget cuts
Great place to work, flexible hours, beautiful campus and intelligent knowledge co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, yet fun and relaxed workplace
Program Assistant III (Current Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 15, 2013
It was great while it lasted. Layofff due to grants is expected in this field
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Desktop Support (Former Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 8, 2013
Great place to work. I started as an intern. Everybody in the I.T Department took me in as I had been working there for years. Very pleasurable experience.