Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 48 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This center is ok to work for
Glassware Technician Lead (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 3, 2017
If you work in the labs it can be very stressful and fast paced.If you do not work in the labs some of the lab technicians and PI's will look down on you. There is a lot of politics that go on in this place of employment there is also not a lot of diversity at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Center. There is also a lot of favoritism that takes place.
Pros
Depending on where you work, it can be a laid back atmosphere.
Cons
You feel like you can not take vacation or take a sick day in fear of getting in trouble.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always felt supported
Admin Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAApril 5, 2017
Great place to get your foot in the door. The culture is comfortable and enjoyble. Plenty of opportunities to learn more. I've personally had and maintained a great relationship with my manager and have always felt supported.
Pros
Great benefits, opportunities to learn, educational work environment.
Cons
Upward mobility can feel unattainable at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good culture, good people and meaningful work.
Administrative Operations Manager, emphasis in HR (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 19, 2017
Overall good culture, good people and meaningful work. Subject to bureaucracy and many of the leaders are self-serving. Not a lot of opportunity for advancement.
Pros
benefits, cafeteria, flexibitlity, cuture, people
Cons
advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful people, Amazing research
Lab Technician II (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 15, 2017
This is a true community of scientists. I have never met anybody who was rude or mean. Shared equipment, shared knowledge, shared fun and pride in the work.
The lab spaces are excellent sized and well maintained, well designed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment.
SAS Programmer consultant (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMarch 8, 2017
Nice work environment, provide every credentials needed.
.
Good Management and facilities were so good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and motivating people
Lab Aide (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 23, 2017
Overall I have loved the opportunity to work at Fred Hutch. I have learned so many skills that I didn't think I would learn in my position and feel prepared to take on larger roles because of the constant support from their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad work/life balance
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAFebruary 8, 2017
My superior asked me to work at least 80h/week, and he said it's all for science. Actually, it's all for him since he needs top publications to survive and get more grants but he never cares about his employee and their life. That's a really bad situation for a postdoc to work and plan for the next step.
Pros
Good collaborations
Cons
PI totally sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fred Hutch
Help Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WADecember 7, 2016
I love the Fred Hutch Environment! Great location and cause for the world. I was a help desk support analyst supporting 2,000+ users, its a little slow on the holiday seasons but your day to day has plenty to do and offer.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Science
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 23, 2016
My role was in a lab performing translational research in an academic science environment. Personally, the environment was too slow for my liking. In my lab, most management was more focused on creating a spinoff company than our current work in the lab.
Pros
Nice people to work with
Cons
Slow paced work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good working place with a lot of core labs. FHCRC located at a very beautiful water front setting.
Staff Scientist (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 6, 2015
A very nice working place with a lot of core labs. FHCRC located at a very beautiful water front setting. The HR division need to improve their work.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report

Want to know more about Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Great place to work - pay low
Research Technician III (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 5, 2015
Pay is pretty low compared to most other similar companies. They make up for it with great health and retirement benefits though.
Pros
Awesome benefits, very cheap ORCA bus card
Cons
Pay is on the low end of industry standards
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World renowned cancer research center
Certified Physician Assistant (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WANovember 3, 2015
Cutting edge cancer treatment center with world leaders in clinical trial research and novel therapeutic agents. Fully engaged in providing the best options for patient outcomes.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Research Tech II (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 16, 2015
I love working here. In addition to the friendly people and atmosphere, this is a place where excellent research is done. There's even an advisory board that acts as liaison between employees and administration, and the administration actually listens! The only downside is funding; this is a non-profit that relies heavily on government funding, so when grants don't get funded, then neither do positions. Thankfully, Fred Hutch is also one of the top recipients for NIH and NCI grants in addition to other sources (i.e. Gates Foundation), and there's effort to move people within rather than layoff, so it's also fairly stable.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people doing excellent work helping others
Project Administrator (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 27, 2015
Strong academic culture.
Extremely dedicated and brilliant faculty with vision and passion.
No day is "typical".
Great opportunity to participate in programs that serve the healing of others.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job at the Hutch but hated the management structure. Putting it bluntly, it was a painful place to work. I would not work there again.
I served as Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 5, 2015
I loved my job at the Hutch but hated the management structure. Putting it bluntly, it was a painful place to work. I would not work there again.
Pros
None that I can think of.
Cons
Poor managment stucture, 6 manager changes in less than 4 years while suppporting the same person does not lead to success.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJune 11, 2015
Not a typical day. I do different things each day, so it is never routine.
Co-workers are great.
I enjoy the independent work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a review
VOLUNTEER AND INTERNSHIPS (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WaMay 21, 2015
This is not a review. I only participated in a philanthropic effort with FHCRC. We raised a lot of money for the cause which I am extremely proud of.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top of the line lab environment with new age technology
Lab Intern (Current Employee) –  seattle, washingtonApril 22, 2015
Being an intern, I dont get to delve to deeply into the life of a researcher, but all the researchers within the/ each lab are friendly and get along well with each other. I get to work with top of the line technology to extract DNA and analyze it. Its great when the whole lab takes a break and just chats with each other for a few moments when things get overly repetitive. It is a great work environment.
Pros
work environment, flexible schedule
Cons
no pay for intern, little chance for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, little advancement
Statistical Research Associate I (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 23, 2015
The place in general is nice, but whether you will like it there or not depends on who you work with. It varies a lot based on your boss and your team. There is very little advancement/growth in this company, I'd say expect 3 years or more for it..
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Little advancement, poor pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a good paying job
Facilities Operator Engineer (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAMarch 20, 2015
Does IMPORTANT work for cancer research. A large and growing campus research facility with complex systems and opportunity for a wide range of work.
Pros
benefits
Cons
lots of walking, procurement system
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 48 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center Reviews by Location