Freddie Mac Employee Reviews

Found 380 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as a Consultant
Independent Windows Application Developer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 17, 2017
I worked for Freddie Mac as a software consultant for several months and was not an actual employee so my ratings and answers aren't applicable in this situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company and Great Benefits
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAAugust 8, 2017
Loved working for this company, during my tenure I had the distinct pleasure of working with very smart and wise mentors/coaches. I was consistently given training and development opportunities as well as frequent promotions.

Freddie Mac is one of the best companies to work for in the Washington DC, Northern Virginia metropolitan area!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Help Desk Analyst (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAAugust 2, 2017
Freddie Mac was a 6 months internship through Year Up. When I was Freddie Mac i would resolved about 30 tickets a day. This position was a very fast pace position. I loved that. I would always stayed busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Opportunity for Advancement
Production Associate (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 31, 2017
Freddie Mac is an exceptional company to work for and gain a significant amount of experience in commercial real estate. I would recommend working at Freddie Mac to anyone who wants a career in MBS, Underwriting, or Production.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multifamily - great place to work - great leadership
Director - Negotiated Trans. / Multifamily Loans (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 31, 2017
Multifamily division is a great place to work. Very innovative senior management. Willing to consider new products. Some of the smartest people in the industry work there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior IT Project Manager, Scrum Master (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 31, 2017
good training, good work life balance, good medical dental vision benefits. too much paperwork. can get stuck in the process. some growth opportunities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Life Balance is a priority
Project Management Professional (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 30, 2017
Freddie Mac is a great environment for anyone looking for a company that values work life balance. My experience with management in recent years has been very good and still continues to improve.
Pros
Allows employees to work from home
Cons
New desk arrangements don't allow for much privacy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to learn mortgage
Quality Analyst (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 27, 2017
1)quick Team meeting
2) scrums meeting what you did yesterday and what are we doing today
3) productive work
4) meetings
5)daily status
6) a very good knowledge on mortagage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good help desk service
SAS Programmer Contractor (Former Employee) –  McClean, VAJuly 25, 2017
great work atmosphere
FTE's allowed to work from home and in certain circumstances contractors can work from home
cafeteria, dry cleaning, ATM on site.
Pros
minimal supervision - mgmt let us do our work
Cons
no parking on site for contractors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Application Support, Sr (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJuly 23, 2017
Great company to work for. Typical day starts off in my work with customers requests and yes there was a lot that I have learned working on several different versatile tools.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Freddie Mac?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Office Coordinator (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 21, 2017
Freddie Mac has taken on new information technology pursuits that have progressed the company and they are leader in the industry.

Has a high number of females in upper management.
Pros
student loan assistance benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with Great Benefits
Project Manager II (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 7, 2017
Freddie Mac has some of the best benefits of any company. Employee stock options, 401k, gym, cafeteria and regular events that the employees enjoy for free.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance
Application Administrator (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 7, 2017
Freddie Mac understands your life and provides a wonderful work life balance in order to keep employees happy while still accomplishing their overall mission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
California compensation insurance fund
Implementing partner TCS (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 2, 2017
California compensation insurance fund is very good place to work . If you work their you will enjoy and learn new thing management is also very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Middleware Engineer (Current Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 1, 2017
Good.
I like the working environment.
The office and work is good.
I am happy the job, but I am away from my home at Atlanta.
The people are good, the management is good.
I like the setup of the work and their commitment to the service.
Pros
Good
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgage Industry
Onsite Program Manager (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 1, 2017
Freddie Mac operates in the U.S. secondary mortgage market. That means we don’t lend directly to borrowers but buy loans that meet our standards from approved lenders. With the money that lenders receive in return, they can make loans to other qualified borrowers.  In securitizing pools of mortgages and selling the securities to investors, we shift a significant portion of the credit risk associated with the loans we own to private investors – away from taxpayers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Sr. Unix Systems Administrator (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJune 30, 2017
Rewarding learning opportunities and career advancement. Everyone contributed to make it a great place to work.
Kept up with trending changes and technology.
Pros
Company Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mortgge Underwriter
Mortgage Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Elmhurst, ILJune 28, 2017
Underwrote from June 2008 to April 2009 Freddie Mac Applications originated at the HFC and Beneficial Branch Offices. Followed both company and Freddie Mac guidelines and referred any non qualifying Freddie Mac Loans for sub-prime review
Pros
Good management, excellent training, fast paced but not super high pressure
Cons
Freedie Mac pulled when branches closed, no oppotunity to lean how to work PMI requirements and get licensed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional
Overallowables Representative (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAJune 24, 2017
I gain positive experience everywhere I work. Positive no negatives I would like to see other people go far and pursue there goals at the company good luck.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family, life, balance
Collateral Operations & Data Analytics (Former Employee) –  Carrollton, TXJune 21, 2017
Overall, the job culture at Freddie Mac is very relaxed, but at times stressful. The company has started to have frequent layoffs. The management staff needs more people skill training as well as knowledge about the specified products in their business areas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Freddie Mac. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 384 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.9