Freeport McMoRan Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company, very professional people. Company over extended their selves got out of the deep water drilling business. The management were open
Sr. Offshore Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 14, 2017
Very good company, very professional people. Company over extended their selves got out of the deep water drilling business. The management were open to new ideals and suggestions. Typical day at work, was supervising all drilling operations and logistics. On average it was a 16 hour day offshore.
The culture was to run a safe and efficient operation.
the most enjoyable part of the job was planning the job and seeing it come through successfully.
Pros
good relationships with all personnel, open to your ideals and suggestions
Cons
overextended their selves and got out of the deep water drilling business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company too work for
TECHNICAL TRAINER (Former Employee) –  San Carlos Reservation, AZOctober 13, 2017
Excellent company to work for. Typical day was very challenging. I learned to be the best employee I can be and advancement was great. I enjoyed my time with Freeport. I like expanding my knowledge and passing it on to others.
Pros
good benefit and PTO hours
Cons
no any
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Drill and Blasting Engineer for Technical Services (Former Employee) –  Morenci, AZOctober 12, 2017
It was a good place to work . A very large copper mine was fun and exciting with many different challenges. The people were good to work with i really enjoyed working for them
Pros
short drive to work
Cons
no cell phones allowed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee) –  Morenci, AZOctober 9, 2017
long hours, dangerous, great benefits, continuous education provided by company, good pay with lots of overtime health insurance the day you start. have to be on time no exceptions
Pros
great benifits
Cons
long hours, small small town with nothing around for miles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good house keeping useful.
Diesil maint tec (Current Employee) –  Morenci, AZOctober 4, 2017
Good helpful atmosphere, employees help each other. thing are adressing issues.accordingly.safety is the ultimate goal to any task Vacations are Good at the start. encouragement from top officials. Bps is alway there. Good housekeeping practices encouraged
Pros
safetuy first
Cons
alot of employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freeport McMoRan Intern
Metallurgical Engineering Intern (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 4, 2017
-very laid back
-friendly company culture
-Hardest part is location is often undesirable and remote
-lots of Leadership/advancement opportunities within company
Pros
free lunches
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice to work there
Mine Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Morenci, AZSeptember 29, 2017
the work life is nice at times
But unless you have the personality that gets upset when things go as plan management will perceive that you dont care
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, very impersonal
Mine Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Morenci, AZSeptember 28, 2017
Good pay, Very impersonal. This company is an absolute mess. Supervision has less authority than hourly employees do. The philosophy and attempted culture is excellent but the backing behid it is cutthroat
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Sr Division Order Analyst (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 28, 2017
The work environment is nice.
The workplace culture is very good.
The workplace is not too stressful, and the employees are very professional and do their jobs well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and awesome work environment
Temporary water truck driver (Former Employee) –  Morenci, AZSeptember 23, 2017
It's a very good place to work a friendly environment big trucks every where and just a pretty good place to live with your family. I would definitely recommend this job for you especially in morenci arizona
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Heavy Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Green Valley, AZSeptember 20, 2017
Good pay and benefits, but at times safety will take a back seat to production. Very hard work schedule 4 / 12 shifts high pace...but room for advancement to safe workers without attendance problems.
Pros
Benefits, pay
Cons
Safety
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving water trucks and hanging tail bleeders is fun
tailing dam operator (Current Employee) –  Green Valley, AZSeptember 13, 2017
i really enjoy working with my group the reason that i choose to leave is due to poor management wages are ok depending on what you are looking for insurance benefits are good the company is very enviromentally concious they support the surrounding community schools parks and recreational events
Pros
work really well with my group
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exelent
Diagnostic Electrical Technician (Current Employee) –  Paso, 79915, GRSeptember 13, 2017
Safety is the main tool provided.
Best company ever.
No negative memories.
Full satisfaction.
Great benefits.
Great health, dental and vision.
Compensation benefits
Job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on the job training
Health and Safety Technician (Former Employee) –  Douglas, AZSeptember 10, 2017
There are almost endless opportunities with this company if you prove to be a hard worker. The benefits with the company are outstanding. If they had more work in my current location I would still be with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for everyone. But, a great company.
Diagnostic Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Morenci, AZSeptember 7, 2017
Long shifts that rotate once a week between day shifts and night shifts. There are two overlapping shifts for positive turnover. 4 crews. The benifits are great. Especially once you get off the waiting list for company housing. Very cheap. Average work of about 15 days a month. Long shifts make for having more days off.
Pros
Pay, days off, benifits, company housing, bonuses.
Cons
Long shifts, rotating schedule, location
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Shovel Operator (P&H Electric Mining Shovel) (Current Employee) –  Bagdad, AZSeptember 6, 2017
Freeport-McMoRan is a great place to work. Freeport McMoRan offers good pay, good benefits and opportunity for advancement. I would recommend this job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the inexperience mine can have some pluses
Truck driver 01 (Former Employee) –  Morenci, AZSeptember 4, 2017
For experience miner not good to many new hires keeps the company in bare minamul on province not safe always starting over with each unexperianced miner. Never a profectional job
Pros
Metal to metal training program not long enough to be safe
Cons
Race around dropping rocks no professionalizem
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Mine Tech (Former Employee) –  Hanover, NMSeptember 2, 2017
Focus on safety and production, some chance to advance, depending on how hard you want to work for it. Need to have a safety and production mind set, not just one or the other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment!
Haul Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Morenci, AZAugust 30, 2017
Good staff, good work and good pay! I started working there late this last summer and they have been very good to me so far, lots of good job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great copmany for new graduates!
Civil Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bagdad, AZAugust 26, 2017
I interned with Freeport prior to hire and enjoyed it. I hired on full-time directly after graduation and I have not regretted it ever since. I highly recommend to new graduates.
Pros
Upward advancement
Cons
Relocation is almost mandatory
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Freeport McMoRan. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 372 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.4
Culture
3.7