Freescale Semiconductor Employee Reviews

Found 156 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer exists
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 27, 2017
Great high tech firm that has been bought out by NXP and, soon, Qualcomm. Great technology and many skilled workers. The company will let longer term workers go.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spun off then merged with another company
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Lake Zurich, ILJune 21, 2017
Working on development cutting edge chips to power cellphones and other mobile devices with global development centers around the world. Division financial performance did not meet performance and division was closed down (not bought out during the 2008 "great recession").
Pros
Top tier compensation
Cons
Division shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun WorkPlace
Supply Chain Modeling Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 11, 2017
Productive environment, I learned about the semiconductor industry, the ways to forecast the demand and also the pricing analysis using SAP-APO and R tool.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job and great hours
Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 25, 2017
Loved what I did but unless you have some type of engineer degree, there was not much room for advancement. I did like the steady pace of the work and the people I worked with. The 12 hour shifts were long but it was nice have the extra days off during the week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fast paced good place to work.
Sr. Software Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZMay 12, 2017
The people I worked with were top notch good employees. I learned a lot while working in this group. Working in a fab is always stressful job. But is also one filled challenges!
Pros
periodic free lunches
Cons
fast paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sr. System Data Modeling Engineer (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 8, 2017
Great Company Culture. We involve a lot of interesting projects. People working there are great and nice. Also great benefits and relocation programs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 2, 2017
easy job very clean areas, people are so friendly,time to time they do meeting and food,here also need speed in you work, time is money method apply here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace
Design Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 6, 2017
Quick pace, real time solutions on projects and issues. Meetings are part of most work days. Dead lines are the must meet or an alterative solution must be put in place. The team works meeting schedules with quality products.
Pros
bonuses
Cons
Tight deadlines our common
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Embedded Software Lead (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMarch 10, 2017
High technology company. You can learn a lot of technical stuff in this company. However, the company is not stable in the past few years. You may need to pay attention
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Verification Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZFebruary 27, 2017
Little to nothing to say about this. Always hampered by more senior engineers trying to protect their positions from younger engineers. If you were mid level it was impossible there
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cyclical business
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 7, 2017
as expected for a semiconductor business...it is cyclical. when it's good, it's good but when the economy isn't good, expect a lot of lay offs. decent benefits and pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Process Design Intern (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 7, 2017
Definitely a wonderful company.

Pros:
Management: Six Sigma style, easy management, you know who you work for and you know who to go to for advice if you have a problem.
Projects: Freescale (then NXP now Qualcomm) has a great deal of projects going on, and there will always be something to do
People: Great people, the culture is supportive and friendly, and even the more terse people are still incredible to work with

Cons:
Much of the fabrication work is now outsourced for convenience, but what they do have is still pretty nice.
If you have something in the design stage, it can take a while due to backlogs.
Pros
Management, Projects, People
Cons
Backlogs in fabrication/waiting periods
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional & Growth Potential
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 19, 2016
Freescale was a great experience for learning, they were supportive in growth opportunities. Great place to learn. It was fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would be a great place to work at if not contracted through a temp agency
Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXDecember 16, 2016
For anyone with experience in a warehouse or semiconductor I would have to say this place would great to work at. The management, the coworkers, the facilities and the job culture where all great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place
Associate Tech/Trainer (Current Employee) –  Chandler, AZOctober 30, 2016
Been in the business over 35yrs. day to day same thing everyday over and over. Most of my coworker are cool. Nothing hard about my job,most enjoyable the pay, enjoyable part of my job that i do enjoy the laughter of some of my coworker, management i feel do not get too know us.
Pros
none
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as NXP
Wafer Fab Operator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 28, 2016
Summarized these points in review of NXP. Freescale was a spinoff of Motorola. The company was not much different as a spin off. I was able to continue to be productive and advance in the transition
Pros
Same as NXP
Cons
Same as NXP
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Auto industry is booming!!!
Sr. Hardware Lead Engineer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 29, 2016
Work culture is encouraging. good balance between work and home.
More to come as Free-scale is just got merged into NXP.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work for.
WAFER FAB OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 7, 2016
I enjoyed the day's, working to do the job well. I learned Etch and Photo department and became more knowledgeable in both departments as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss and a great team, but industry is declining and bad upper-level management
Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 2, 2016
I was lucky to get to work with some great engineers from whom I learned a lot. Unfortunately, upper management could not lead the business in the right direction. We executed on everything they put before us, but ended up losing our jobs because they picked the wrong market strategy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Standard Daily Routine
Manufacturing Technical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJune 22, 2016
The technical supervisor role allows the supervisor to control all facets of the manufacturing area (manufacturing, engineering, and maintenance). It is a very complicated and demanding job. One has to be diligent on everything from vacation requests to preventive maintenance schedules. Individual projects and Lean training must be accomplished without affecting area targets and goals.
Pros
ample time to complete tasks on night shift
Cons
stressful, demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Freescale Semiconductor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 230 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.2
Culture
3.6

Freescale Semiconductor Reviews by Location