Freight Handlers Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Frozen/Dairy Associate (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYJune 30, 2017
To much work ,less money.operation manager suck.allways helping the slow employed.can not take your 30 minute lunch.you don't get sick day or personal day off.
Pros
lot of break
Cons
To much work .less money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Based Pay Works For Me
Back up lead (Current Employee) –  Lakeland, FLJune 4, 2017
I go into work at 4 in the morning and grind all week for my money. It shows on my pay check. The pay is Bi-weekly but that works for me. I get about an hour on break a day and still make enough to support my family. I myself unload trucks all day, some are easy and some are absolutely terrible. You don't get to pick your trucks you are put onto a list. When a truck comes in and you're next you get the truck either by yourself or with someone to help you.
Pros
Production based pay, Good Pay, Exersice, long breaks
Cons
working schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just bad
Handler (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYApril 26, 2017
Stay away. It's a set up just so the company could have numbers in staff. They don't care about you or your family. Management treats you like a possession that could be thrown away .
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Management, culture, everything is bad
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, new challenges
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  FloridaApril 4, 2017
Great place to work. Seeing new places and new faces everyday. Everyday was a new challenge on the retocking and resetting of shelves and merchandise or grocery stores.
Pros
New challenges
Cons
To much travel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had fun working there. We were all friends an I liked the work and the pay.
Lead (Former Employee) –  Abingdon, VAJanuary 23, 2017
It' an excellent place to work. They were all good people and honest. They took care of their employees and the benefits were good.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
I don't have anything bad to say about them
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Job
Freight Handler (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYJanuary 12, 2017
This is a good place to work if you are willing to do just that, work! It's not an easy job but it's worth it. The company works hard to do right by their team members, the benefits could be better but they are still pretty good, the managers expect you to do your job which makes sense.

This is not the place for you if you are not willing to do the labor, get through a "bad" truck to get to the good ones, and show up every day.

Overall, happy with the company and the work.
Pros
The money, the people, room for advancement
Cons
could be better benefits, can be long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting but descent pay if you're young.
Freight Handler (Former Employee) –  Lansing, MINovember 22, 2016
You either go into work at 6 or 8 then from there you'll have no idea how long you'll be there for and the convey lines break down a lot and it holds you up on making money.
Pros
Good exercise and decent pay
Cons
X ammount of hours a day and you get paid per box
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from this company
Freight Handler (Former Employee) –  Rochester, NYMay 31, 2016
If you have a pulse and can pass a drug test you can get a job with them. Facilities are typically overstaffed which means low pay and lots of waiting for work, bring a book. there is no thought in promoting managers most of them are jerks, some are down right unethical. They have little respect for employees from either their own company or the host. Depending on the facility shifts can run up to 14 hours. Some places will clock you out for a 30 min lunch whether you take it or not, and breaks are not encouraged.
This company is all talk, they will tell you what you want to hear to get you in the door but after that things will go down hill.
Pros
you meet some interesting coworkers.
Cons
Managers, Pay, Benefits, Long hours, Lousy communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Freight Handlers, Inc.
Unloader (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIAugust 17, 2015
A typical day at F.H.I. begins/ends with unloading trailers. The job can be physically taxing at times, but not complicated once you learn how to read the paperwork. Pay is determined by the number of cases unloaded. The work environment is very fun and my co-workers are a very big part of that. Management does the best job that it can within the capacity it is given. Overall, you can excel if you're willing to put in the work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked 10 years fired for absolute no reason, blamed for sumthing I didn't do and even after 10 years did not side with me
manager/unloaded/lead (Former Employee) –  dc 85 Lansing no persishablesJuly 29, 2015
absolute horrible place only stayed cuz money was so good for first 4-5 years. New management came in. Nobody ever takes your side, managers never have your back.
Pros
money can b decent if hard worker
Cons
work every holiday long hours terrible associates
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Freight Handler (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLAugust 25, 2014
I enjoyed my time there. Made tons of money and got to travel for free .
Pros
production based
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sry
Lumper (Former Employee) –  JacksonvilleJune 24, 2014
Dont Waste Your Time they are unorganized and unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Freight Handler (Former Employee) –  Sarasota, FLMay 6, 2014
i had a good experience working here. The employees and management were all friendly and willing to help.
Pros
good positive environment.
Cons
not a set schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun
Freight Handler (Former Employee) –  Walker, MIApril 16, 2014
Overall good company, pay was decent, good management, only negative was the warehouse not being ready to pull pallets off of the dock when they needed to (not freight handlers fault) and running out of space to store their products once it was unloaded. Enjoyable place to work.
Pros
management
Cons
warehouse abilities to hold product
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this place sucks
manager (Former Employee) –  lakelandDecember 7, 2013
They work you like a dog and pay less than minimum at times.. people above management have no idea about the job being done and basiquly want the employees to work for hardly any pay. Not worth it.
Pros
none
Cons
sitting down waiting on trucks and not getting payed and they make you clean extra for no pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Freight Handler (Former Employee) –  Abingdon, VAJuly 17, 2013
nobody cares about what you do anyone who sucks up get treated like a king
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lumper Service
Job Applicant (Former Employee) –  Grand RapidsApril 24, 2013
If you are looking for a consistant pay this is NOT the job to apply for, they only guarantee minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 18, 2013
I have learned that what u put in u get out.
co workers are ok ..hardest part was going in and out of different departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3rd Shift, Distribution warehouse with lots of potential.
Freight Handling Coordinator/ Trainer. (Current Employee) –  Lansing, MIJanuary 2, 2013
A typical day at work:

When arriving to work the first thing you do is sign your name on a list. This list is how they start the day off on a "fist come first served basest" system which tells them who gets the first truck to unload and so-forth.
This employer pays their employees by a production-performance based pay system.
My Job as a trainer is to teach the new hire's on how to appropriately and successfully complete their job in a safely and timely manner. That upholds to F.H.I's safety values.
"We commit to a standard of excellence in safety that protects the health of our associates and customers."

What I have learned is:

With hard work and high ambitions its relatively easy to move forward
with F.H.I with it's endless potential. But in regards to there "compensation / benefits" it can be a little disheartening (when at times) there's not enough trucks to unload with too many employees.

Management:

F.H.I is a relatively young company. They have a few bugs in the their management system that could use some help but, What company doesn't.

Co-Workers:

Hard working, devoted individuals.

The hardest part of the job:

The hours can be a little unforgiving at times. Since the work day isn't completed until all the work (trucks) have been finished.

The most enjoyable part of the day:

Would be, The one on one time with the new hires.
Training / Teaching is part of a business developing passion of mine.
Pros
it's performance based pay. you get what you give.
Cons
(when at times) there's not enough trucks to unload with too many employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A smooth running day with real person assistance.
Unloader (Former Employee) –  Lansing,MIAugust 23, 2012
A typical day at work involves knowing and being consistent with who I am dealing with a the more intelligent, knowledgable staff, and first hand workers.
I've learned that everyone has the same concerns or more as far as their everyday work ethic or responsibility.
Management is always an ironclad individaul who's performance is recognized for reasonable resource.
It's always nice to work side by side with a co-worker. It helps both of us to get along and also helps us gain experience with each other as a comrade.
The hardest part of the job would be the everyday trials of adjustment and knowing, while working my goals that I actually want to fufill. Its hard enough dealing with co-workers and people who already know their way around.
Being that we're in Michigan just to be part of good conversation in a days work.
Pros
tell people what to do exactly.
Cons
tell people what to do exactly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 22Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Freight Handlers Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.7
Based on 21 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.5
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.6
Culture
2.6