Find companies:
Fresh Direct
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
83 reviews

Fresh Direct Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern Slavery
FD Freezer Associate (Picker and Packer) (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYNovember 6, 2014
Cons: everything
Ever since I started working for Fresh Direct 3+ years ago I somehow perceived it was going in the wrong direction. You are subjected to do a certain amount of work within a given time which is sometimes too much. Overtime is mandatory especially on busy days, you stay up to 13 hours. They pay the minimum plus whatever you get for working in the cold – more... which ends up being like 11 dollars for a freezer -20 everyday! There's no possibility of UNION since they're careless about employees wants and needs. For this reason they make all those meetings to remind you how bad would an union be and what will happen to you if you join it! Oh and don't forget about those horrible schedules I mean a “dayshift" at 3 in the morning come on! Find something decent cause anything is better than this! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Workplace
Runner (Current Employee), Long Island City, new YorkOctober 30, 2014
Been working here for a couple years. Fresh Direct pays the bills as a Runner, but it should pay more. The amount of work and type of conditions we work in ( weather) doesn't add up to how much we get paid. Overall it's a fun dynamic workplace. The Management team is awesome, as they try to help you the best way they can. Most of the co-workers are – more... humble people trying to make end's meat. Hardest part of the job is doing heavy amount's of deliveries in bad weather. The most enjoyable part of the job is your outside the whole time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated this job
Runner/Foot Courier (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYOctober 9, 2014
Cons: no benefits, hard work for little money
I had to work in horrible hours, doing delivers by foot, pulling and pushing a cart, had to get out of this job ASAP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runner
Runner (Former Employee), Queens, NYSeptember 23, 2014
Delivering customer groceries and getting substantial tips
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Fresh Direct
Delivery Rep-Runner/Foot Courier (Current Employee), Long Island City, NYSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: pto
A typical day is 8 hours of work and 40 hours total for the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment
Operating Engineer (Current Employee), Long Island City, NYSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: get a chance to learn from other trades
Cons: no high pressure equipment
check compressors,pumps,motors,boiler room,cooling tower.Check all temperatures and Pressures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Computer Processor (Former Employee), Long Island City, NySeptember 2, 2014
I loved working for this company. Management was always accessible and accommodating. Staff was willing to help each other, and training was excellent. Benefits after six months of permeant hire and employee discount on products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivering to buisnesses and private houses
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Queens,NYSeptember 1, 2014
Delivered to businesses and private houses. Enjoyed delivering to my customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Helper (Former Employee), 23-30 Borden Ave Long Island City, NY 11101September 1, 2014
Pros: paid lunch breaks
Cons: if we ran behind schedule we wouldn't get a lunch break
a typical day at work would be delivering packages and communicating with customers in a timely fashion.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making food deliveries
Delivery Worker (Former Employee), LIC, New YorkAugust 28, 2014
Pros: seeing the city
Cons: salary, being sent home without working a full shift
I would wake up take the train to go to work. i would arrive at the job at 5:30 am get my delivery schedule. Then I would make the deliveries in a timely fashion. I learned the city of New York including lower Manhattan and Brooklyn. Co workers and management was for the most part cool. The hardest part of the job was being sent home without working – more... a full shift the most enjoyable part was the tips that I made and the people that I interacted with – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a nice work place
food packer (Former Employee), new,yorkAugust 27, 2014
get to work in the morning and try to get threw the day. i have learn to follow rules and do what you have to do. my co-workers was ok to be around. the hardest part of my day was waking up but i got it done. the most enjoyable part about my day was making it to see other one.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unsafe work environment
Driver / Replenisher (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 21, 2014
I could not properly communicate with most of my fellow coworkers because of the language problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no respect
Food delivery agent, Customer service (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYAugust 21, 2014
Pros: will take you without experience
Cons: no respect
no experience needed to et hired because they look to use you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncaring food business in the food industry.
Shipping Assistant (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYJuly 25, 2014
Pros: tips
Cons: managers, schedules, professionalism.
Work hours begin early for the morning shift but the problems were never with the tough schedule or the aggressive driving routes, it was with poor management.
Dispatch at times never had routes for some of the runners which meant workers were sent home with only 4 hours of pay and work was condensed into tight time schedules to avoid possibility of – more... over-time.
The people I worked with were honest, hard-working people who pushed themselves everyday to provide for their families.
The most enjoyable part of the were the tips and comments from gracious customers. They were most appreciative.
. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and positive people in the area . Somewhat a family
Baker Assistant (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYJuly 18, 2014
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at Fresh Direct I would go in get my bag checked to make sure i wasnt bringing any inappropriate things in the facility . Go to my department wash my hands of course start to prepare boxes bread and danishes and whatever the head baker asked of me I would do it . The hardest part about my job was the heat standing in a not so big room – more... with alot of movement and ovens to their highest was hard. Management was not so bad like I said before we were all like family. The most enjoyable moment was everybody took me in as if I was there for a long time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No workers union and production is out balaced out.
Employee Associate (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYMay 20, 2014
I do not want to make anymore comments because it is irrelevant. I have already moved on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a easy going work place
Sortation (Current Employee), Queens, NYApril 27, 2014
Pros: you get 3 luch breaks
Cons: its sectioned off
I come in start getting my station ready cleaning up my area taping up my boxes getting my station clean. I learned how to be fast paste I learned how to work in an over crowed area with many people I learned how to deal with issues. management is somewhat cool. Coworkers are some what cool. There is really no hard part because u basically by yourself – more... maybe being in the cold 32 degree weather for 8 to 9 hours might b the hardest part. There's really nothing enjoyable about it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Runner/Deliveryman (Former Employee), L.I.C. NYApril 22, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Good Company overall but did not like working in inclement weather
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help pay the basic bills
Delivery Person (Current Employee), Long Island City, NYApril 2, 2014
Not an ideal position for anyone with a lot of responsibilties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good for managment
Pastry/Bakery Manager (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYMarch 13, 2014
Fresh Direct is a good company for hourly workers but doesn't treat management well. the company is so concerned about the hourly employees going union that they pretty let them get away with anything.

1 2 3 4 5

About Fresh Direct

We’re all about the food! At Fresh Direct, we take huge pride in being a leading national supplier to the UK foodservice – Read more