Fresh Direct

100 reviews

Fresh Direct Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
when you actually get to go on deliveries it was a great place
Runner (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 4, 2015
Pros: the tips were great
Cons: there was not always work to do
a typical day at fresh direct would consist of me sitting at a wearhouse until the manager would allow me to go out on a delivery
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivery worker
General Laborer (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJune 5, 2015
Pros: Fun work enviroment
Cons: Had to travel a long way
Unload Trucks and delivery merchandise to various companies, Scan incoming boxes and place them in order in their designated area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant Warehouse
Plant Worker (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYMay 19, 2015
Pros: Free Bar-be-ques every once in a while.
Cons: Half hour breaks
Started picking food, moving in a fast paste and collecting stoarge totes. Worked in the sanitation department emptying trash.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work at fresh direct
Delivery Person (Current Employee), New YorkMay 14, 2015
Pros: good tips around holidays, mcdonalds and starbucks caeds in the winter
Cons: short breaks, mimium wage
Delivery
•Delivered packages to homes on upper East Side of Manhattan
•Great Communication With Costumers
•Lift packages up to 50lbs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work you to the bone
runner/transportation (Former Employee), Queens, NYMay 8, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: everything
these people want you to work in snow storms and you have to earn your sick days managers are itching to write people up . and the union is the worst you never see any of them until contract is ending

no vacation no sick days
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job.
Route Runner (Former Employee), New York, New YorkApril 24, 2015
Pros: Tips, and meeting celebrities
Cons: No cons
I had to deliver food to people in hotels. there was never a hard part in the job, it was easy. my co-workers were great people and fun to be around. The best part of this job was i was able to see sum celebrities dropping off packages to the hotels in Manhatten,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
truck helper
Truck Helper (Former Employee), new yorkApril 17, 2015
love this job had a lot of fun learning new areas and meeting so many different people .I was a truck helper so I was always with a partner. I had many different co workers but learn and enjoy each and every one of them. hardest part of the job was the 6 flight of steps you might have to walk up but you get use to it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place
Service Associate (Former Employee), 23-30 Borden Ave, Long Island City, Ny 11101March 12, 2015
Service Associate
Load delivery trucks and drive to various locations.
Deliver goods to customers in a timely manner.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a lot of experience
Truck Driver (Current Employee), Long Island City, NYFebruary 1, 2015
My typical day at work is: get to work at 5:00 am or 6.30 depending on my start day. punch-in, interact with my co-workers and manager.

Pick up my paperwork, truck key, hand trucks, inspect the truck, test the air break then drive to the city doing deliveries to a companies and residential customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place with lots of opportunities
Commercial Driver (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 25, 2015
I learned a lot working at Fresh direct. It is a great atmosphere where everyone works well together and really helps each other out. I love the customer interaction, and being able to meet new people everyday. Fresh Direct is a Great Place with good quality food, good people and lots of opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nicework place
TRANSPORTATION YARD MANAGER (Former Employee), lic new yorkDecember 10, 2014
very good place to work as a driver, overtime, and route tips
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
packing
wharehouse worker (Former Employee), Queens, NYDecember 8, 2014
get to work on time.how to do where house work the management was a blessing in as well as my co workers in my hardest job of the day was at the end of the day ....going home i enjoy my job that much
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great learning experience
Technical Support Specialist (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 2, 2014
Freshdirect is a good company to work for when you just come out of school and need to horn and practice the theories you learn from school. It is very fast pace and intense environment due to the fact that production has to be on time and no mistake is allowed as far as information systems support
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Drivers Helper (Former Employee), New York, NYNovember 9, 2014
Being drivers helper was a great experience on and off the truck. Making sure customers came 1st was the top priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern Slavery
FD Freezer Associate (Picker and Packer) (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYNovember 6, 2014
Cons: everything
Ever since I started working for Fresh Direct 3+ years ago I somehow perceived it was going in the wrong direction. You are subjected to do a certain amount of work within a given time which is sometimes too much. Overtime is mandatory especially on busy days, you stay up to 13 hours. They pay the minimum plus whatever you get for working in the cold which ends up being like 11 dollars for a freezer -20 everyday! There's no possibility of UNION since they're careless about employees wants and needs. For this reason they make all those meetings to remind you how bad would an union be and what will happen to you if you join it! Oh and don't forget about those horrible schedules I mean a “dayshift" at 3 in the morning come on! Find something decent cause anything is better than this!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Workplace
Runner (Current Employee), Long Island City, new YorkOctober 30, 2014
Been working here for a couple years. Fresh Direct pays the bills as a Runner, but it should pay more. The amount of work and type of conditions we work in ( weather) doesn't add up to how much we get paid. Overall it's a fun dynamic workplace. The Management team is awesome, as they try to help you the best way they can. Most of the co-workers are humble people trying to make end's meat. Hardest part of the job is doing heavy amount's of deliveries in bad weather. The most enjoyable part of the job is your outside the whole time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hated this job
Runner/Foot Courier (Former Employee), Long Island City, NYOctober 9, 2014
Cons: no benefits, hard work for little money
I had to work in horrible hours, doing delivers by foot, pulling and pushing a cart, had to get out of this job ASAP
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Runner
Runner (Former Employee), Queens, NYSeptember 23, 2014
Delivering customer groceries and getting substantial tips
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Fresh Direct
Delivery Rep-Runner/Foot Courier (Current Employee), Long Island City, NYSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: pto
A typical day is 8 hours of work and 40 hours total for the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Enviroment
Operating Engineer (Current Employee), Long Island City, NYSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: get a chance to learn from other trades
Cons: no high pressure equipment
check compressors,pumps,motors,boiler room,cooling tower.Check all temperatures and Pressures.
Claimed Profile
Headquarters
Head Office:
Bicester Distribution Park,
Charbridge Way,
Bicester,
Oxon,
OX26 4SW
Employees
501 to 1,000
Industry
Links
Fresh Direct website