Fresno County Employee Reviews

Showing all 39 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only if you are desperate
Child Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 29, 2017
I work for the Department of Child Support Services. I am going to be honest. This job is extremely unpleasant and stressful. This position does require you to do things that will likely conflict with your moral principles. Management and supervisors are profoundly inconsistent in direction, and implementation of policy. This creates frequent confusion and frustration. Employees are not treated with appreciation or respect by either customers or supervisors. Compared to other civil service positions, the pay and benefits package are quite sub par. Save yourself a major headache and apply to something else.
Pros
Paid vacation.
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County Job
Office Assistant II - (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 20, 2017
no room for advancement, always hire from outside. people that are always here and do good work don't get recognized for what they accomplish. xxxxx
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Work Environment
Eligibility Worker I (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CA 93702May 21, 2017
Great place tp work for and gain experience in a lot of different areas. Always room for promotions or lateral positions. They always encourage to improve yourself. It is a lot of work to do but manageable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with
Social Worker (Current Employee) –  FresnoMay 16, 2017
I work in a team to provide assistance in getting families back together. While the job can be grueling at times its worth it. There is no better satisfaction knowing what you did is making a difference in someone's life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non profit organization
Lead Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAMay 6, 2017
Very rewarding job I got to help out my community. I got to experience what is really like out in the community. This job was only temporary but I very much enjoyed it.
Pros
Satisfaction of helping the community
Cons
Extreme heat while surveying in the summer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very great place
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fresno County, CAApril 23, 2017
very great place to work. the employees are so helpful and kind. they worked with whatever problem i had which was very good for me because at that time i was dealing with medical issues but they still stuck with me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment at CPS poor environment across from fresno Fairgrounds.
Job Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAApril 18, 2017
Poor environment when transferred to my new position as a job specialist. People are burned out they are overworked and underpaid and also the County pulled me from a position that I was doing well in and loved.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great company
Eligibility Worker (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAMarch 9, 2017
It is a safe working environment. The benefits are competitive. It is a self rewarding job as the objective is to help others. The pay rate is competitive.
Pros
Stability
Cons
The groin opportunities are slow paste.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dept Of Child Support
Child Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJanuary 19, 2017
Having a county job is great. The people are nice but the particular job i do is not necessarily enjoyable at times. deductions from check are ridiculous
Pros
okay pay, paid holidays
Cons
deductions from paychecks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, challenges
Judicial Assistant (Current Employee) –  1109 Van Ness Fresno CaJanuary 17, 2017
27 years of service looking for a change.data entry, customer service, handled cash.room to grow lunch /breaks.fun challenging.. great place to work.great location.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Fresno County?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work at
STUDENT POC (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJanuary 10, 2017
The people there are very friendly. On some occasions (such as the presidential election) it can get very hectic, so be prepared for busy days at the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful, hostile environment
Extra Help (Former Employee) –  Election WarehouseOctober 30, 2016
A lot of gossiping and backstabbing goes on at that place, people there are ruthless and will go to any length to get ahead at the expense of the few people that are doing their jobs.
The busier and longer the work hours get, breaks get shorter and less frequent.
Cons
toxic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Library Assistant II (Work Study) (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAAugust 2, 2016
Assisted the main LA II with general office duties and house keeping. Help with computer sign ups and use of the library computers and programs.
Pros
Flexible to school schedule
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Underpaid & Stressful
Admitting Interviewer (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAJuly 19, 2016
The pay is ridiculously low and not worth the stress you endure. My position is very complex and not for everyone. Only minimal mistakes are accepted. This can be a bit stressful for anyone.
Pros
Great benefits, helpful people, great work environment
Cons
Expensive benefits, horrible pay, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work with youth
Co-Internship for Boys & Girls Club/Coaching Corps (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 26, 2016
Commissioner for Junior Giant Baseball League for The Boys & Girls Club of Fresno County.
Responsible for finding mentors to coach underprivileged youth, equipment through sporting vendors, updating weekly rosters and providing assistance to coaches, kids, and parents participating in league.
Assisted in running other sporting leagues for youth such as soccer, basketball, and football.
Supervised sports program at East Boys & Girls Club for over 75 children weekly.
Explained and demonstrated activities to all who participated in events.
Cultivated positive relationships with participants by interacting with them during activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Childcare Provider (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAApril 12, 2016
This is my house I do childcare for. My work environment is safe and protected by any type of things that can harm a baby or toddler.
Pros
free play time
Cons
the payment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying and Harrassment type of management: Top management knows and does nothing.
HES (Current Employee) –  DPHOctober 3, 2015
You do not want to work here, EVER! Management uses harassment tactics, even when you are fulfilling your job duties and succeeding. You are not talked to unless they need something from you. There is no teamwork in this TEAM. The management treats everyone horrible and is an intensely toxic environment to work in. If you can do it, you will pull your hair out just to get yourself to go to work. It is the worst management I have ever experienced. They treat you like they own you and do not let you advance and hold you prisoner in their program because they pull every string and lie so that no one will hire you in other departments. Their reach even extends to other counties so be assured, if you come here, you will only be asking for trouble to follow you to your next job, if you can get one after this.
Pros
The Pro's are: you actually can..make a difference in the communities you work in.
Cons
Toxic environment, Harrasment management
Was this review helpful?Yes 37No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like my co-workers
Road Maintenance Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Sanger, CAAugust 7, 2015
never had a job that was enjoyable and worked with such great guys. looked forward to going to work every morning because there was always something new diffrent to do..
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full time , easy , enjoyable
Childcare Provider (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAJune 30, 2015
a typical day at work was dealing with children enjoying the time spent with them and taking care of them. I learned lots and lots of responsibility, I wouldn't really say that there was anything hared about the job
Pros
everything about the job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Office Assistant/ File Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAApril 7, 2015
I learned how to input data into a computer using word, excel and power point also learned how to use a copy and fax machine.. I learned how to properly file papers and documents in computers and how to scan and paste..
my co workers and management were excellent they were all very nice and really understanding when I needed help with something
the hardest part of the job was learning everything from scratch but most I enjoyed working there because it was really good experience in office and receptionist
Pros
excellent enviroment
Cons
small office space
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fresno County. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 39 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6

CEO Approval

72%
11 ratings
Add your rating

Fresno County Reviews by Location