Fresno Unified School District Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable when meeting incoming students
Teachers Assitant (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CADecember 13, 2017
learning there names, setting up group sites, how wonderful it is to meet each and every student. showing them to work together. The hardest is seeing them move on.
Pros
wishing longer time with students
Cons
meeting new ones
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I teach ELA to 7th grade students both in General Education and Special Education
Special Education/PLUS 7th English Language Arts (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CANovember 20, 2017
The school site that I am at is an amazing school site to be at. It is not your average, everyday school environment, but that is also, makes the day go by so fast. The scholoars that we have at the school have many different battles to face daily such as, gangs in the neighborhood, high crime rates, broken homes, and the list goes on and on.
Pros
An amazing staff and never a dull moment
Cons
short lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment lack of advancement development.
Intern (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CANovember 16, 2017
Fresno Unified is the prime educator to my community. I love and support our staff and community in hopes of helping our students achieve to the highest of their abilities.
I did find Fresno Unified to be a bit hard to develop advancement situations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not what you know, its who
Multiple Positions (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CANovember 12, 2017
Read above. It is the truth! The only way to advance is either be the kisser of **** or be related to an employee that has the choice of who gets hired.
Pros
Time off
Cons
Alot of bad supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good job to work at
wearhouse (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CANovember 1, 2017
I really like this company... I just need more hours. I only work 3 or 4 hours a day. I would like to find a good job that i can work 8 hohrs a day. I love meeting new people at this job there all friendly there.
Pros
No
Cons
Breaks were only 10 mins
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok district
Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAOctober 19, 2017
I feel undersupported by administrators, Constant labor renegotions. Poor physical work environment in several schools. Evaluations seem to be based on arbitrary standards.
Pros
pay and benefits
Cons
poor administrative support
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People to work with
Librarian Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAOctober 19, 2017
Stayed as busy as I could weekly to try to get a 40 hour work week when I could. Nice to have holidays off because of school being out for the holiday
Pros
Great place to work for
Cons
hard to get on full time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive no advancment
Food Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAOctober 12, 2017
very fast paced environment were you prepare lunches on site or at the school site. it was sub work and calling in everyday to get a assignment is very tricky sometimes
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Substitute Teacher, On-Call (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 28, 2017
good place to work at as a temporary job. Some schools are better than others. However I feel that teachers don't have much of a break only a 30 min lunch in some schools
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poductive and fun work environment
After School Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 28, 2017
3. Engages and builds alignment and relationships with parents, youth, and others in the normal course of working with the families.
4. Utilizes strengths of youth, families, and others to assist in the implementation and achievement of goals and outcomes.
5. Works with youth and family teams to support family driven, strength based planning and interventions.
6. Understands and takes advantage of therapeutic opportunities in crisis situations.
specific to an identified need) and monitor outcomes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 27, 2017
Love my work place and enviroment kind staff very understaing company willing to work with you. Alot of job opportunities career wise excellent if I had the chance I would return..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 25, 2017
The workplace at FUSD has wonderful colleagues who care about the children and want to make FUSD a safe, educational place for children. FUSD provides inservices and materials needed.
Pros
.Kids from all cultures and backgrounds
Cons
Stressful to meet so many needs on a daily basis
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but not accommodating pay for experience
School Nurse (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 20, 2017
Enjoyed working with staff and kids. Politics with unions sometimes stressful but needed to get fair representation and financial advances. Nurses needed but the role was not fully understood or appreciated. Great supervisor, staff, nurses. BSN RN with 20 years of experience starting pay was at basic 1-2nd year school teacher.
For what nurses do and what is expected of them the pay didn't match
Pros
Working with kids and staff, time off, benifits
Cons
Pay, short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working here...
Noon Time Aide (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 12, 2017
I loved working here the Teachers, Staff and the Students are all worth while. It was good to be able to bond with the kids and spend time teaching them to write their names.
Pros
Lasting Relationships, Friends, Fun
Cons
Nothing at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plenty of room for growth
School Bus Driver (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 8, 2017
awesome place to work great environment where you can stand out and show your skills. they have awesome trainers and a great staff who is willing to help at any given time. very flexible hours is definitely a plus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Environment
Basketball Coach (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 8, 2017
Worked with children to help teach the game of basketball.
-Clean facilities
-Up to date equipment
- great communication
- Positive work environment
-Good staff
Pros
Relaxed Work environment
Cons
lacked advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot
Elementary Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CASeptember 1, 2017
My time in Fresno Unified was difficult. I learned so much from my mistakes however I had so many students with behavior issues. I didn't get much administrative help as the Principal who hired me was out and eventually resigned due to health issues. The positives is I learned a lot on my own and from my other fellow teachers but the school I was in was just not the right fit for me. Although its one year, I did learn a lot and I think what I learned can be brought to other jobs.
Pros
learned a lot
Cons
difficult students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great educators
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAAugust 28, 2017
Surrounded by great educators. A lot of professional development opportunities for incoming teachers. Diverse schools and staff that are focused on student success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Library Stock
Library Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fresno, CAAugust 25, 2017
Pay was very well because minimum wage was less back then, very nice place to work because of being indoors. The same as any library job and very smooth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love my job
LVN (Current Employee) –  Fresno, CAAugust 22, 2017
I love what I do here for the Kids at the school. The school that I'm at is a great team and work very well together to help all the kids. Enjoy going to work everyday.
Pros
off weekends and holidays with my kids
Cons
Less hours and has to divide pay through out the year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Fresno Unified School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 114 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

Fresno Unified School District Reviews by Location