Friendly's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun faced-paced experience
Server (Former Employee) –  Rotterdam, NYDecember 13, 2017
working at friendly's was intense for me, being a senior in highschool. there was a lot of server drama and bad management. i will take it as a learning experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review summary
Server (Current Employee) –  Milford, MADecember 13, 2017
I love working here, unfortunately they employ too many servers i have worked here for 2 years and one of the top servers and i have complete availability but still only given 17 hours a week.
Pros
Work Enviroment
Cons
No sales and never given any hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Phillipsburg, NJDecember 12, 2017
Business is slow and it is very hard to make money at the restaurant located in a very poor township with scum people who only care about themselves and how much money is left on their fits stamps card.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a pretty good place to work
Manager in Training (Former Employee) –  selisgrove paDecember 11, 2017
A typical day would involve getting the restaurant ready for business, and provide customers with best possible experience. At the end of the day we would scrub the place from top to bottom to make it look new.
Pros
good food and worked with good friends
Cons
was hard to get new equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mangers are horrible
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Westfield, MADecember 10, 2017
I learned that the mangers are very heartless there. A typical day is very boring while working. Mangers dont do anything besides stand around and yell at workers.
Pros
discounts
Cons
mangers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Server and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Lake Ronkonkoma, NYDecember 9, 2017
Worked at Friendly’s for years. It is a good first job of starting college or in high school. Taught me a lot of responsibility. Face paced and sometimes stressful.
Pros
Good money, fair management
Cons
Stressful, need to be able to work under pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting server job
Manager (Former Employee) –  Nottingham, MD 21236December 8, 2017
This is an amazing place to start your serving career. The managers are understanding and flexible. The hours are great and the pay good. The menu is easy to learn and the food is always good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dead atmosphere
Server and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Mount Laurel, NJDecember 6, 2017
Slow, dead atmosphere, dreadful, awful management, unprofessional, fake food, not sanitary, drama, jusgmetal environment, lack of respect and inappropriate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast good food
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dedham, MADecember 5, 2017
Great for the entire family. Good prices and good service. Great breakfast at any time of day. Good lunch and great ice cream. Family friendly, great for kids
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Server, Fountain, Hostess (Former Employee) –  Enfield, CTDecember 3, 2017
I worked for this company a long time ago so things could have changed. However, when I worked for this company the manager would change ever few months and the job management was very unconsistent. You never know what rules to follow what days. This company gave me a lot of growth in my field but as the years go on Friendly's is closing more and more stores. It doesn't make you feel secure in a job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team great managers
Friendly ice cream prep (Former Employee) –  Schenectady, NYDecember 3, 2017
I enjoyed making ice cream and prepping it for the customers also the customers were very nice and I was very good at the register can't wait to find a job with similar atmosphere and teamwork
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
relaxed place
Server (Former Employee) –  Bloomfield, NJDecember 1, 2017
i wouldnt mind working there again if the bussiness speed was moe fater. but this was a good job also great people skills builder. also lovely guests.
Pros
great people
Cons
more business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly ha no pun intended
New Restaurant Opener (NRO) lead (Former Employee) –  Waterbury, CTDecember 1, 2017
this place is great to work at... money as far as tips are great you dont need to share them with anyone. the only thing is you will be over worked ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Middle Island, NYNovember 29, 2017
Failing company, stay away, nothing good to say about them j&b is a joke run by greedy people who care nothing about there employees run down restaurants and equipment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Wareham, MANovember 28, 2017
Loved working for Friendly's Corp before bankruptcy. Very competitive with compensation and everyone was willing to do what it takes to get the job done.

CEO is passionate and is great!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for part time
Waitress (Current Employee) –  PennsylvaniaNovember 27, 2017
Flexible with college students, parents, etc. Fast paced environment, must bring your best attitude to work. Works around your schedule, servers make good money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Restaurant General Manager (Former Employee) –  Amesbury, MANovember 26, 2017
Great Company to work for. All operations that running a restaurant requires. This Company takes excellent care of their managers and Employees. Excellent resources and training. Guidelines and targets are fair and realistic
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with helpful co-workers
Waitress (Current Employee) –  North Haven, CTNovember 22, 2017
Friendlys is a fun environment to work at. especially if you have patience for children and elderly people. Being a waitress can be fun however it can be stressful as well. typically you'd make a decent amount of money per shift. However, unlike usual restaurants friendly's does not have a "bus boy" to clean tables. servers are responsible to take orders, bring drinks to the tables, and serve the food. after the guest leaves, we would also be in charge of picking up all of the dishes from the table. it is a bit inconvenient because if it is a busy day and you cannot bus your tables quickly you cannot be sat another guest and it makes it harder to make money.
Pros
discounted food
Cons
very unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment to work in
Server (Former Employee) –  Indialantic, FLNovember 21, 2017
The environment was fun to work in and the employees were great. The food presentation was amazing and always tasted good. The customer were super friendly and always held great conversations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Waitress/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Ronkonkoma, NYNovember 21, 2017
Good place to work, learn and experience fast pace work. Learned to multiply task, work well with people and great with costumers. Overall job had many tasks but I was able to accomplish them and learn from my experiences.
Pros
50% off food
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Friendly's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 995 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2