Find companies:
Friendly's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
201 reviews

Friendly's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active and enjoyed working with co-workers
Server (Former Employee), 1700 Burrstone RoadJuly 12, 2014
Love fast paced environments, very good at being organized, enjoy talking to people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work
Hostess (Former Employee), Allentown, PAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: 50% off food on job
A typical day at work depended on the amount of people that came. I learned good people skills and how to work in a fast paced work environment. Management was good all in all, everyone has bad days, and that's 100% ok. Co-workers, same as management, are people too and have bad days. Everyone was generally kind to each other. The hardest part of the – more... job was grumpy, rude, or unmanageable customers. Most enjoyable part of the job was the kids, and how happy they were on kids night. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management and unreliable staffing
Waitress/Hostess (Current Employee), Midlothian, VAJuly 7, 2014
The managers constantly hire employees that are unreliable and then keep them after they continuously prove this unreliability. This results in poor store management and customer dissatisfaction due to slow service and long wait times. The people there are nice but things do not get done in an effective and orderly fashion. Although I do enjoy working – more... with and around people, the atmosphere suffers because of poor facility management. Working there has taught me great customer service skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Internship
Food Prep Associate-Internship (Former Employee), North Haven, CTJuly 1, 2014
I had went to and did an internship at a restaurant (Friendly's). It was only for seasonal work though. I was looking for something more permanent in any employment. But I had to do the internship first, because I never had any type of experience in any employment.

The things that I performed whilst working at Friendly's was followed food safety procedures – more... (washing hands thoroughly and wearing plastic gloves) once I come into work and before food preparing and handling.

Prepped, weighed, and measured portions (6-11oz) of foods onto a scale.

Wrapped foods (after preparing and handling) and stored them in a refrigeration at temperatures below 41 degrees Fahrenheit.

Sanitized dishware and maintenance the prep area. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Waitress (Former Employee), Milford, CTJune 19, 2014
Excellent management. Co-workers work amazing as a team. Always have something to do to ensure customer satisfaction. Most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with customers. Most difficult part I would have to say was learning the menu but once you get it things run great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment
Server/Fountain Worker (Former Employee), Doylestown, PAJune 18, 2014
A typical work day was serving food to customers and making sure they had a good experience at Friendly's
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and friendly place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Aberdeen NJJune 17, 2014
Pros: friends, family, and people
Cons: closed
Watching the kids come in and get excited about being there. Meeting people and growing relationships was a great part. Everyone was also family there. We had contests and incentives to have fun at work. Knowing that the restaurant was closing was real hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family restaurant with ice cream
Server (Current Employee), Worcester, MAJune 3, 2014
Pros: co-workers and customers
Cons: not enough hours
A typical day at work consists of taking food and drink orders, entering them into the point of sale system, collecting food and drinks and delivering it to the customers. Also cleaning the restaurant and restocking our products. I learned how to work in a fast paced environment, food prep and use a point of sale system very well. My management is not – more... the best, she is more of a co-worker than a boss. My co-workers are awesome, and I have become friends with many of them. The hardest part of my job would be making specialty ice creams. The customers are my favorite part of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It got me what I needed
❸ Ice cream scooper/cashier (Former Employee), Amesbury, MAJune 2, 2014
I needed a job for that summer to buy myself a car. It got the job done!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendlys
sserver (Former Employee), kingston ny 12401May 27, 2014
loved working here, loved the co-workers , long hours , management was great
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but my hours get cut daily
Hostess (Current Employee), Muncy, PAMay 19, 2014
Pros: discount on food, coworkers and managers are great to get along with
Cons: hours are cut, not enough hours given, i am not notified when part of my job changes
A typical day at work includes seating customers then bussing and cleaning tables after they have left. I sometimes even have different jobs assigned to me like cleaning the break room or cleaning baby seats. I learned how to properly clean tables, that the customer is always right, always have a smile on your face when greeting a customer. My general – more... manager was always very nice and understood when I needed off (which was few and far between) my coworkers are usually nice as well and easy to get along with. One coworker even said that I was the best hostess they ever had at Friendly's. Whenever I needed a hand with something they would offer one. The hardest part of the job is pleasing the customer making sure there seating arrangements are comfortable. We do not have a lot of seating for big parties so when I run out of big tables I have to seat people back to back. The most enjoyable part of the job is seating the customers I love to please people. When I have pleased a customer that makes my day because I know I have made their day better whether that was by just seating them or doing something extra like getting them an extra saucer of ranch. I love to see them happy because then it makes me enjoy my work even more. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job to start off working at, hours are really flexible and there are plenty of them
Fountain Worker/Cashier/Host (Current Employee), Newton, NJMay 17, 2014
Pros: good hours, flexible schedule, fun and awesome co workers
Cons: no benefits, minimum wage job
I learned the restaurant life and how fast paced it is and how to adapt to it, i learned how to handle a rush when it gets busy, i learned how to properly interact with customers and improved on my relationship with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was in need of a job!
Deli Worker/ cashier (Former Employee), Corsicana, TXMay 15, 2014
The manager was a good person because he hired me on the spot. I got hired because I knew a employee that was already working there but soon she quiet so that made it harder for me because at the time I didn't know how to work the front desk, but latter on she returned and tough me how to do the stuff that I needed to know. I do still have my license – more... to sell alcohol and tobacco until 2015. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of hours for little money
Asst. Manager/Regional Trainer (Former Employee), Glassboro, NJMay 12, 2014
friendlys was ok. staff was fun management was fair. but the hours are insane
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Dishwasher (Former Employee), Brookhaven, PAApril 28, 2014
Duties given to me were ones i was not properly trained for. Management diddn't care for employees at all.,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly's is a great place to START your management career.
General Manager (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 23, 2014
Pros: good systems and great training
Cons: less than average pay and little to no advancement opportunities.
Friendly's is a great place for a young management candidate to get started. the systems and procedures are great. They will give you the building blocks to become a good manager. However the lack of advancement opportunities and less than average pay will make it hard to have a long term career there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An inappropriate work environment
Short Order Cook (Former Employee), troy, nyApril 21, 2014
Pros: the pay was good
Cons: a general lack of respect for subordinates and coworkers.
Constant distraction caused by management. Also an overall childish environment.

A typical day at work was coming in prepping for dinner while either grilling, frying, or plating food. After the rush I'd close down the kitchen after the precloser left usually 2 hours before me. I learned how to work more independently at this job than in any other – more... foodservice position. My co-workers constantly talked about each other spitefully. Everyone one knew everyone talked poorly about everyone when they weren't there so that was the culture at friendly's. The hardest part of the job was dealing with coworkers' personal problems while working. The most enjoyable part of the job was cooking. I love to cook. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
WAITRESS/FOUNTAIN (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 15, 2014
I met a lot of great people working here. I started on the fountain, where I just served the ice cream and then I waitressed for a little. It was my second summer job so I was not there for a long period of time, but overall it was a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Server (Former Employee), Mount Holly, NJApril 8, 2014
Cons: everything
I hate this place with a passion. The management was poor and would constantly change. I had a friend who was working with me at the time who was almost sexually assaulted and I would not recommend anyone eat there let alone work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work for a first job
Server (Former Employee), Westminster, MDApril 6, 2014
I loved working here, management was wonderful, the employees were great and the pay was very good.

1 2 3 4 5

About Friendly's

Friendly's Ice Cream, LLC is a vertically integrated restaurant, retail marketing and manufacturing/distribution company, with – Read more