Friendlys Employee Reviews

Showing all 45 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and supportive place to work
Kitchen Trainer/ Lead Cook (Current Employee) –  Troy, NYJuly 15, 2015
Very supportive management who push individuals to strive for excellence. Individuals are able to work and grow while learning different skill sets. Fast paced. Great customer base. Sometimes job duties for employees are not divided equally. Outside/ personal information of others may take priority for some employees and they should be focusing on the guest experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
breakfast cook (Former Employee) –  4476 w.henrietta rdMay 28, 2015
it was a job..an a ok place to work.i would definetly go back if they were ill in business I learned a lot.the hardest part of the job was staying staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad for a first job
Lead server and fountain worker (Former Employee) –  Portland, maineMay 21, 2015
They do provide a good environment for work life balance and depending on where you work the managment people are great and I would suggest it for a first time.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not much advancement takes a while
Greeter (Former Employee) –  York, PAMay 14, 2015
Did not enjoy too much and not many advancement opportunities. Very small break room. Not very organized. Just not for me.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not well structured.
Scooplogist (Current Employee) –  Enfield, CTApril 5, 2015
A typical day at work is painful both emotionally and physically. I learned communication skills, working under pressure, multitasking, cleanliness, and how to handle tough situations. The management was awful, there were a new set of managers every few months. All managers are rude, demanding, bias, and some verbally abusive and controlling. Co-workers are rude and demanding but that is how some restaurants have to be to get things done. Hardest part was co-workers and dealing with the rude managers. The most enjoyable part was being able to accomplish everything and connecting with customers especially regular customers!
Pros
discount, customers
Cons
managers, barely any breaks, careless workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job is a Job
Cook/Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Pennsdale, PAMarch 7, 2015
It's a restaurant job. You have the typical customers that you have to deal with. I worked every position at the restaurant but spent most of the time as a cook. It is a very demanding position. Starting pay isn't that great unless you have experience. You work long hours and you have to essentially give up your weekends for the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great second Part time job
Waitress (Former Employee) –  bel air, mdFebruary 18, 2015
come in wipe off and set up tables
get apron ready

Table setting, customer service, serving food, food preparation – making salads and drinks, dish washing, cleaning tables and booths, making and serving ice cream dishes, cups, and cones, cleaning ice cream freezers, making soups, vacuuming the floors, cleaning the bathrooms, sweeping and moping the floors, refilling salad station – dressings, salad mix, cheeses, croutons, tomato’s, avocados, etc.

i learned how to work in a small restaurant with a high demand of picky eaters

Hardest part of the job was working with limited amount of staff and high demand of people. there were a lot of regulars who were very picky eaters and elderly.

the most enjoyable part of my job was singing the birthday song, making customers happy young or elderly, always doing my job to the best of my ability
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was ok
Server (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MDFebruary 5, 2015
working here at friendlys at the particular one i worked at was not fun and not very productive it was not the type of experince i expeceted some of the co-workers were friendly others were rude and disrespectful the managers were rude aswell
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Greeter/Welcomer (Current Employee) –  East Greenbush, NYJanuary 6, 2015
It Can be very stressful but once you get going the time will fly
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Windham, MENovember 10, 2014
The staff made working together fun and were very nice. The hardest part of the job is that you don't get a lot of hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive work experience
ice cream scooper (Former Employee) –  trevose paOctober 27, 2014
this job i was hard working and dependable came to work on time. Always came in when other people couldnt come in
Pros
free food
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible, fast leaning, hard working
Line Cook/Prep Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDOctober 16, 2014
i like working with good and hard working people like my self
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Favorite job
Line Cook/Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  New Hartford, NYSeptember 27, 2014
Great place to work got along with everyone and it was a great Experience alot of team work . Some days were busier then others and but thats what I had liked the most was a constant busy atmosphere
Pros
50% off meals
Cons
normal lunch breaks and 15 mins breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un-Friendly
Cashier (Former Employee) –  North Babylon, NYAugust 13, 2014
Not too nice of people. Bossed around too much. Nice clientele however.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job place ever
Server (Former Employee) –  Tewksbury, MAJune 30, 2014
there was no structure and management when i worked there. there was no general manager for at least 3 months either
Pros
there are no pros
Cons
no management or structure
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work.
Server (Former Employee) –  Port Saint Lucie, FLMay 20, 2014
Not enough servers on the floor to provide great customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job
ASSISTING CUSTOMERS (Former Employee) –  vineland,njApril 18, 2014
uncleanliness, bugs flying around food, they kept running out of food, managers was not professional.
Pros
free soda
Cons
managers, hours, food, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes No 1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick paced but poorly managed.
Hostess/Dish (Former Employee) –  Manchester, NHMarch 20, 2014
A Typical day as a hostess would be when i walk in the door i am greeted with a smile till i clock in. Once clocked in the waitresses would slack off in the back to talk or play on cellphones and leave their tables dirty forcing me to clean them so i can greet and seat the customers. The waitresses would yell at me if i don't clean off their tables or if i skip over them cause i didn't have the time to clear them off cause the door is packed with people. The manager sits in his office doing nothing or has me seat his girl friend at the back so he can chat away with her rather than helping when needed. A typical day as a Dish washer would start of the same but then the waitress wouldn't clear off their dishes like they are suppose to making my job harder. They would get mad cause they have no silverware but i'm behind on dishes because they aren't doing their jobs correctly. The manager sees these things happening and does nothing not to mention I've mentioned it to him and he deny's it or tells me to ignore it. Honestly the only part i enjoyed about my job was doing dishes because its fast paced and kept me busy. I did learn how seating charts work and different ways of seating.
Pros
50% off when working and 20% off when not working
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN
Floater (Former Employee) –  Clifton Park, NYFebruary 13, 2014
Everyone that workers there is just amazing. Fun and fast past place to work for. Always staying on your toes and never sittng around
Pros
everything is just great!
Cons
not a bad thing to say about the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment, although can be very stressful.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Needham, MAJanuary 20, 2014
Depending on your team this can be a great and fun place to work for when you're young. However, many of the stores that were open are now closed due to lack of business. There are also many staffing issues in a lot of locations, leaving management and servers stressed and not able to achieve their full potential. They also do not offer any great perks or benefits to their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes No 

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 45 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture