Friends University Employee Reviews

Showing all 26 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generally a good organization
Adjunct Faculty Member, Leadership Department (Former Employee) –  Mission, KSJune 11, 2017
Friends was great about sharing resources to assist the instructors. The only issue was the online software that they selected to invest in. In was a mess - and the University was too small to have the 24/7 support needed. I have taught at a number of Universities/Colleges - and Friends was the only one that micro - managed the classroom experience. We were given a script and required to follow the "times". But there was not flexibility for class size. The "times" might work for a class of 12 students - but not work for 4 students or 24 students. I enjoyed the flexibility to use my instructor skills in my other academic positions.
Pros
Great support stuff.
Cons
Too much micro-management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable place to work
Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wichita KansasMay 17, 2017
Very job secure and a nice place to work management was very helpful. Learned some good skills whilst working there especially in computers and working with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friends
Assistant Coach (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 20, 2017
A great company with great people. Treating everyone the same it felt like working with family, except you don't go home with them at night. different ownership now
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome employer
CJP - OML Programs Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSFebruary 21, 2017
Great employer as a private university. Employees and families can go to school free of charge, except for books. very flexible and comfortable environment
Pros
Flexible, free tuition, advancement ops
Cons
pay could be better
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rolig arbetsmiljö
Student assistant worker (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KansasFebruary 15, 2017
jag jobbar mycket med just arkivering av räkningar och olika fakturor vilket ar en vanlig arbetsdag

Jag har lärt mig att att hantera siffror bättre och hantera olika budgets som jag har ansvar över och se till och kollar att organisationerna har den budgeten dem behöver för deras organisation på skolan.

kollegorna är fantastiska och alltid trevliga och glada, och gör det lättare för en att vilja komma till jobbet, vilket jag skulle säga är den bästa delen utav jobbet, eftersom jag har en sån bra relation med min chef och kollegor.

svåraste delen med mitt jobb är nog, att arkivera alla fakturor i rätt ordning eftersom dem måste vara i rätt datum ordning och även kolla och räkna ut pengar som blivit spenderade och hur mycket dem spenderat etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
xxxx xxxx xxxxxxx xxxxx
Adjunct Instructor (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 28, 2016
There is no structure as far as the adjunct staff is concerned. There is no prerequisite training or tasks that help improve your teaching skills. There is also no pathway for a more substantive position.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone
Graduate and Professional Studies Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 25, 2016
Great place to earn an upper level degree using tuition remission. There is a lack of professional development and upward movement. I've worked here for 5 years and haven't received a raise due to budget cuts. Great benefits and vacation.
Pros
Vacation and holidays
Cons
no growth opportunities, management is not innovative.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
STUDENT WORKER (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSMay 15, 2016
Wonderful staff, and laid back management.
It was fairly easy work and low pressure.
The supervisors just want to provide work for students while going to school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student positions are always a good start
AA/ Science & Math Department (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSFebruary 11, 2016
Student positions are always a good start to learn and network.
It was very low income position, but it was good experience to start.
Pros
Good Bosses.
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding University!
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Off-CampusFebruary 2, 2016
The best education and customer service in the Midwest! Outstanding teachers and administration. Wall-to-wall customer service.
Pros
Positive environment.
Cons
None.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful environment to learn and grow!
Administrative Assistant for the Division (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSJanuary 13, 2016
My experience at Friends University was both spiritual and uplifting. I looked forward to coming to work every.single.day, knowing I had the support of amazing co-workers and now friends to not only work together as a team, but to provide emotional and spiritual support on a daily basis.

During my time at Friends, not one day did I wake up and NOT look forward to going to work. I knew I always had a support system both professionally and personally. I could always count on my co-workers for assistance and guidance on any level.

We became a team, and worked together to uplift and support each other, we weren't in competition with each other, we were there to become better as a whole and as individuals.

I am blessed to have the experiences I had at Friends and cherish the forever friendships I made and that, is priceless.
Pros
Paid Holidays and 1/2 day Fridays during the summer months
Cons
Grossly underpaid for the amount of duties and responsibilities, no annual reviews or raises.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Received a very good education - professors well informed
Student Union Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 3, 2015
Supervised all activities and employees at the Student Union.

Had good backing from the Director of Finance at the University.

Enjoyed working with most of the college students - both as
employees and customers.

Worked well with the Student Council and kept their records fairly
( financially ) accurate.

Still have many fond memories of my university years.
Pros
Had good well informed professors
Cons
working with some college students could be a headache at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus on Faculty needs and IT use in classroom
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSJuly 19, 2015
I enjoy working in this collegiate culture. My supervisor is attentive to my needs as an Adjunct Instructor and provides very timely feedback.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friends is a reputable university with academic rigor.
ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSMarch 31, 2015
Being an adjunct Professor at Friends provides the opportunty to build young minds and prepare individuals for "the real world". Friends has dynamic programs for a variety of degree paths and leadership that cares about student success.
Pros
Excellent student assets and instructor resources.
Cons
The number of credit hours allowed for Adjuncts could be increased.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paciência
Recepcionista e balconista de Café (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSFebruary 9, 2015
O Intercambio sempre traz aprendizados recompensadores. Na busca do aprender o Inglês o modo de me manter financeiramente fora do País e estudante da instituição era sendo funcionaria do campus. No inicio enfrentando grandes dificuldades com a comunicação, mas sempre bem disposta. Grande superação na adaptação com o idioma, a cultura e sobretudo no atendimento com o público.Conquistei amizades verdadeiras neste meio que me ajudaram muito a realizar minhas tarefas. A parte mais difícil era a comunicação e a paciência que é necessária nos servições que vão da limpeza ao atendimento de balcão. A parte mais agradável era ver o nítido crescimento pessoal e profissional.
Pros
Refeição no Local
Cons
trabalhar aos finais de semana sem folgas
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Production Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSNovember 19, 2014
Awesome management and experiences within my field of study.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Program Representative (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSApril 28, 2014
The benefits are amazing. Tuition remission for employee and family members. Great 401K matching and awesome vacation time.
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as previous review submitted
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Topeka, KSMarch 17, 2014
Same as previous review submitted. A typical day at work would be managing the ever-changing management decisions. Co-workers were great!
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peaceful, Convenient Job
Evening Graduate Office Attendant (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 15, 2013
This was an end-of-the-day job. I could go to classes during the day, and when I got out, I'd just walk to work at the graduate school building. They allowed me to do my homework at my desk after I got done with whatever tasks were assigned to me when I got there every night. I did copy jobs, set up documents and sent them for professors on the computer, I delivered jobs around campus that needed delivering, I answered the phone and redirected the other lines where they needed to go, and I provided information to those who needed it about the graduate school offices and the services they provided. It was a pretty calm job, because mostly everyone in the graduate school were in classes in the evening. I also every once in a while was in charge of locking things up and getting everyone out of the building or to a safe location during a fire or tornado drill, so that was probably the most difficult part of the job, but I work pretty well under pressure, so it was alright.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Teaching Environment
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 7, 2013
Friends University like the name has really friendly people. When I was interviewed, it was really fun.
Pros
Working Hrs
Cons
Working Hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Friends University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 26 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.1

Friends University Reviews by Location