Find companies:
Fulton County Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Fulton County Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun,exciting job
School Bus Driver (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 3, 2014
I loved to see the children faces every morning. Great boss. Independent work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun environment, collaborated with other teachers
Pre-K Teacher (Former Employee), College Park, GADecember 13, 2013
Pros: healthcare, retirement plan, making a difference in a child's life
Cons: often skip lunches because there was not enough staff to cover the time out of the room
I enjoyed working for Fulton County Schools but I was getting tired of teaching in the public sector. My day consisted of breakfast for students, circle time, center time rotation, table activity observation and data collection for each student, potty training, sensory breaks, lunch, nap time, story time and group reading, snack time and computer time. – more... Over time, I have learned far more from my students than they have learned from me. My immediate co-worker was very creative and skilled in special needs special needs students. We learned from each other, shared curriculum and theme ideas and was a great sounding board for me. The hardest part of my job is creating and maintaining individualized educational plans on each student culminating with a meeting with parents, specialized personnel and administrative support. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the smile upon a child's face after they have finally made an accomplishment in an area of learning that was difficult for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work
School Bus Driver (Current Employee), Alpharetta, GeorgiaNovember 6, 2013
Pros: smiling faces from the kids and staff
Cons: short hours part time work
a typical day at work is enjoyable
what I learned is kids are a joy to work with
management is good
my co-workers understand the importance of their jobs
the hardest part of the job not working a full 40 hour week
the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing that kids arrive at school safely and back home safely.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lengthy Job security
Facilities HVAC & Refrigeration Technician III (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 15, 2013
Attentively listen to customers complaints, and provide solutions to technical dilemmas on various school properties. Performed skilled work in the installation, maintenance, and repairs of freezers, refrigerators, air-conditioners, water & air source heat pumps, heaters, boilers and associated DC controls; electrical and HVAC plumbing related work – more... required to operate the mechanical systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much
5th Grade Teacher (Current Employee), Elementary schoolsOctober 2, 2013
Work not enough support or resources.There is not much more to say. It is the environment. The students and parents do not want much for themselves and that carries over into the classroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable experience working with my TAG students
Teacher of the Gifted (TAG) (Former Employee), Sandy Springs, GAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: good working conditions, excellent 8th grade tag students
Cons: not enough autonomy and independence.
I enjoyed working with my students, especially when we were involved in deep discussions and overcoming significant learning challenges. The management was not what I hoped for at first, but with new leadership things got much better. I felt appreciated for the work I did, but I did seek that kind of autonomy that I had enjoyed earlier in my teaching – more... career. I like to do things the way I wish although I realize that my way may not always coincide with the wishes of the management. In those moments, of course, I found my work distasteful, but overall my experience was smooth with few problems. Without question, my students were the most enjoyable part of my job in the Fulton County Schools. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Principal - Hopewell Middle School (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 25, 2013
I received my start in educational leadership from the Fulton County School System. I learned and grew immensely as a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love my job
Heath and Physical Education Educator (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GAMay 24, 2013
Pros: working with kids
Cons: short plannig time
My day as a Physical Education teacher was the best. It tells you a lot when the kids stop you in the hallway and give you hugs and tell you they cant wait for class, or ask you what we are doing next class.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The school was great but the HR department is a bureaucracy
Physical Education Teacher (Former Employee), roswell GAMay 13, 2013
I loved working for the schools I was at. I did not like the way the HR department runs the county.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recent changes in administration required a reassessment of job
Teacher (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 29, 2013
Pros: good training, good attendance system, grading system, iipad, computer pc, activeboard
Cons: salary decline, administration not supporting staff regarding various issues
I was excited to greet my students each day. I had a great relationship with the students. They wanted to be in my classes. I became more accomplished with the Activboard and Internet training. A behavior management plan was initiated. Management was not always supportive of the staff - it varied - several people were unhappy with that. Co-workers were – more... mostly professional although there was quite a bit of favoritism among the staff which was very obvious. The hardest part of the job was balancing the poor behavior exhibited by some students with no support from the administration. They were aware of the issues and chose not to deal with them with tough love. I enjoyed mostly having the students in class each day - teaching the lessons - using teachable moments - finding new ways to enlighten them using humor and fun techniques.
I always found new ways to engage them in interesting discussions and group centered work. In this way, they were often teaching themselves and each other. We were bonding and some even wanted nicknames for themselves. They had grown quite a bit by the end of the year in academics and getting to know each other.
We had class meetings and a president in our class who conducted them. This worked out very well for minor issues - in how to get along, no bullying, and working with each other to see the other person's point of view. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience with the students
K-12 Music Teacher (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 4, 2013
Pros: summer breaks
Cons: student behavior and discipline actions.
A typical day consists of teaching the fundamental of playing musical instruments and reading notation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Structured environment. Well organized.
Elementary Teacher (Current Employee), College ParkOctober 29, 2012
Pros: no surprises
Employees are well informed and there is an established culture of data driven continuous improvement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FCS is a great employer as long as your position is permanent
Ready Reserve Security Officer (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 14, 2012
Pros: management is flexiable and is very understanding, you can go off campus for lunch, acomplishments are commended
Cons: short lunch break, starting pay is very low, you have to pay for insurance
At the particular school I worked at, the staff was very nice and helpful mostly. The students were sometimes cooperative as long as you stay on them. The office administration were all helpful and nice to work with along with their professional assistants. I worked in the guidance office where we dealt with the students a lot. On a typical day I did – more... enrollments, withdrawals, and transcripts. I did filing at least twice a week. In our office the assistant principal for curriculum, counselors, data manager, clinic assistant, social worker, director of special ed., school pshycologist, and secretary worked together to assist all of the parents and students on a day to day basis. The hardest part of the job though is dealing with students that weren't passing their Georgia High School Graduation Test. The tears, the irate parents, just the dissappointment in general was hard to watch. The most enjoyable part is the children. Just this year alone I have enjoyed watching the seniors grow into these young adults that they have become over a course of a year. Even watching the underclassman grow has been a pleasure as well. – less

LaTasha – June 16, 2012

I also work for FCS as a substitute teacher. I am hoping this year I will be hired as a School Counselor. I have passed my S5 in the field and I seeking employment in this area. I do agree that FCS is a great employer to work for in Atlanta, GA.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good school district
Elementary Teacher (Current Employee), Fulton County, GAApril 29, 2012
The district has children's best interest at heart. I have fantastic coworkers in my school. However, parents leave much to be desired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work.
Special Education Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 18, 2012
Pros: leading the class of maybe more that 10 students.
Cons: temporary position.
I enjoy working with students alot. I love the fact that I am a leader and I have students who look up to me as a good example. I have developed alot of patience working with students. I am a great listener. The most challlenging part of my job is ensuring that each student retains any given information in which I am required to distribute. I work in – more... a friendly building where each of my co-workers deliver on going respect for one another and they are very kind and helpful. I love working in a school setting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional place
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 10, 2012
Wide range of schools
Great locations
Administrators always answer questions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful elementary school
Clinic Assistant (Current Employee), Roswell, GAMarch 15, 2012
Highly professional faculty and staff, with emphasis on students' achievements
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Teacher (Former Employee), Paul D West MiddleDecember 5, 2011
Responsible for providing math instruction to middle school students who were in a very urban setting and economically disadvantaged; wonderful colleagues