Find companies:
G4S
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
752 reviews

G4S Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Security Officer (Current Employee), Calvert City, KYApril 17, 2014
Pros: having an excellent working staff
Cons: not having better working equipment to better do our jobs with
A typical day as a security officer at Ashland Chemical is to provide security to the facility and to the employees inside the plant. I have learned many Homeland Security and OSHA regulations while working for this company and facility. I work with an excellent staff and site manager. The very much enjoy working close with the employees of Ashland – more... Chemical and with the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Slow
Security Officer/Supervisor (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAApril 15, 2014
Pros: i still had a paycheck to take care of my family.
Cons: i had to go through a lot of trials.
A typical day anything could happen, co- workers could easily become enemies. I learned to keep my mouth closed when dealing with a group of people that doesn't get along. Just do my work and leave. The management was poor. I never received any stability, no justice. It was really every man for themselves. My co- workers were all troublesome. Every – more... day was something different. I tried to maintain my silence as much as possible and mind my own business, and I was tried every day. The hardest part of the job was showing up and being peaceful. the most enjoyable part of the job was when I was working alone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work if you have the right connections
ERP (Current Employee), Burlington, MAApril 15, 2014
Day today is standard. Direct management is great, Offers guidance and insight. Upper management seems aloof. Giant lack of communication with the company. No one is on the same page. Many different answers for the same question from different people. Co-works are great. Not very diverse but all very hard working and friendly individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TIME CONSUMING
FIELD INVESTIGATOR (Current Employee), Rochester, NYApril 15, 2014
THIS JOB IS IS WORKED ALONE MOST OF THE TIME AND IS VERY TIME CONSUMING.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with at risk kids
Support Staff (Former Employee), Polk City, FLApril 11, 2014
Pros: pay not to good
Cons: working with behavior kids with attiude
• Monitored at risk kids in the facility
• Make sure all youth safe and following the guideline and rule
• Protect the youth and staff from harming each other
• Communicate with Staff and understand different color code alert
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not what i expected as g4s being a big security company
Custom Protection Officer /Gatehouse/Bike Patrol (Former Employee), miamiaApril 9, 2014
Pros: free course class
Cons: no breaks no overtime no vacation
great start after college but i want more as a job. they wasn't what i expected and just a fake big company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HAVING FUN WITH THE GIRLS
Youth Care Worker (Current Employee), Stuart, FLApril 8, 2014
5MIN CHECKS,CORRECTIONAL OFFICER,DEALING WITH MENTAL HEALTH KIDS,AND JUVENILES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Site Security Supervisor (Former Employee), Caguas, PRApril 4, 2014
It was a hard job in which it seen hard to obtain a better position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be great, depending on location. Stressful.
Security officer (Former Employee), OHApril 4, 2014
Pros: nice clients, good pay
Cons: strict locations, bad shifts/long hours, not willing to negotiate
I had two different locations with this job. One in Groveport, and one in Hilliard. The Groveport location, I would never recommend to anyone. The hours are long (60+ hours a week; I averaged 70), the work is tedious, you are watched like a hawk by the loss prevention guy, and they are so unbelievably strict on absolutely EVERYTHING. You will get yelled – more... at, no matter your position, and no matter how well you think you're doing your job. The Hilliard location, I loved. However, the supervisor can and will at least try to take advantage of your work availability. All the workers are nice though, and the job is easy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work
HR Background Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNApril 3, 2014
Pros: family oriented, cared about their employees.
Security clearing employees and contractors for employment, learning the policies and procedures for utility companies. Great co-workers. The hardest part of my job was not being able to grant an individual a security clearance. Most enjoyable: knowing I have done all I can to help an individual get a job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and tedious and monotonous
Security Officer (Current Employee), Parma, OHApril 1, 2014
A typical day at the contract I work consist of driving around checking building that are closed and making sure entrances and exits are locked and secured. I have learned basic security programs and how to properly type up reports for incidents. Management here is not very loyal to their own contract. Considering there is in house security and contract – more... security our project manager for this contract would rather throw us under the bus to save the contract then stick up for his own officers that didn't do anything wrong. My co-workers are generally nice but there are always a bad few in such a big group.

The hardest part of the job is the repitition of driving to the same buildings and checking the same doors all week with no change in pace. I enjoyed the pay for this type of job it is considerably high for the job that I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company but poor management!
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), New Orleans, LAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: company has several methods for employees, ie online job postings, electronic reporting of problems
Cons: poor management - no development, poor training skills and customer service to employees
Management was poor! Employees often threaten with job!
The work was all about safety and following all site rules and regulations.The company has methods in place for employees but local managers do not always follow the rules.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisted officers in monitoring participants in a call center
Customer Service Operator (Former Employee), Rancho Cucamonga, CAMarch 31, 2014
Assisted officers in monitoring participants making sure equipment is tracking correctly. Ran unexpected alcohol test over the phone for participants on house arrest also made schedules for officers to show up at participants house for trouble shooting equipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
CPO (Current Employee), FloridaMarch 30, 2014
Pros: it's a job, it pays some of the bills
Cons: no raises, no chance for advancement, long hours, substandard pay, no home life, basically work and sleep.
Bad pay, horrible uniforms... coworkers that have been with the company for 5+ years have not seen any pay increase. I can't understand how some people actually live and have this as they're only job. This is not a career, let me say that again this is not a career! this is a job if you cannot find any other job.

Some posts are extremely boring. Hours – more... are long. Home life is sleeping until your next shift.

if you see an ad and they say they pay $12 an hour they don't pay $12 an hour not even armed so be careful – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4S Review
Communication Operator (Current Employee), Melrose Park, ILMarch 27, 2014
Overall a very productive company who taught great values & responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed this company,a pleasant place to work
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee), Morrisville, NCMarch 26, 2014
Pros: teaching me to be a good security officer
Cons: the company took away our sick days
My job was enjoyable.My hours were from 0600-1400 Monday-Friday. This was a great job for me,got to use my interpersonal skills.My Duties were to make sure employees an visitors had access to in the the building.My supervisors made sure I had all the tools I needed to to do my job effectively.The most enjoyable part about my job were the teachings I – more... received from my learning and getting to meet the customers.The hardest part of my job was driving the the 1 hr 15 mins to get there – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, G4S is a very fair and inclusive corporation to work for.
Field Supervisor/armed Custom Protection Officer (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHMarch 22, 2014
G4S is a great place to work, full of opportunity for growth. I am thankful that they included me in their operations. I am better because of it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All right
Custom Protection Officer (Current Employee), orlando, FLMarch 18, 2014
This company is one of the largest private security firm in the world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very challenging job.
Security Officer (Former Employee), New HampshireMarch 18, 2014
Not the most exciting job, The environment was terrible, my hours of work was not so great as well. There was really no growth of advancement with this company. The job was not that interesting. My job was to monitor GE90 a plant that operated various things. I sat in a booth as a look out security guard checking in and checking out employees and contractors. – more... The job was not challenging at all. This position was more suitable for a retired elderly person looking for part time work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay, for the meantime. It may help open doors for law enforcement and other fields requiring similar objectives.
Traditional security officer (Former Employee), New HampshireMarch 15, 2014
Pros: it's really not a difficult job
Cons: you're treated like garbage.
The uniforms are awful. The upper management is awful. The pay is awful. I've ultimately had the worst experience with this company.

My direct deposit was screwed up and I wasn't being paid for weeks, because my checks were being deposited into some other checking account I hadnt signed up for. On top of that, I was given the wrong uniform size and – more... it took weeks and weeks for it to be corrected. No pay raises at all! Upper management is extremely unprofessional. I've heard nothing but negative stories and experiences from other guards. I swear they're playing games at their little office of theirs. Ridiculous. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About G4S

G4S Secure Solutions (G4S) counters the perils of modern life by providing a full slate of security services to corporate, industrial, – Read more