G4S Employee Reviews

Found 2,921 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Higher ups
Flex Officer/ Site Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAFebruary 1, 2017
I loved my job, and how I was allowed to work as many days as I wanted to. Hated the lack of communication between myself and my superiors. Would never go back, but i do appreciate the learning experience.
Pros
decent pay. long hours.
Cons
Lack of communication
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay is okay but very disorganized NYC based companny
Customs Protection Officer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 1, 2017
The pay is pretty good but the management team is very unprofessional. It seems like they have no idea what is going on when it comes to the job site.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Too many chiefs and no true guidance.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Security Officer (Full-time) (Current Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNJanuary 31, 2017
Great Company. Typical call day at work I am responsible for keeping the building safe. Reporting any thing that is broken. The learned a lot of things through my training. Work place is very welcoming. Nothing is hard on the job. Welcoming customers is the best part.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Entry-Level positions.
Case Manager, Okeechobee Intensive Halfway House (Former Employee) –  Okeechobee, FLJanuary 30, 2017
G4S is a great company for any student graduating with an Criminal Justice Degree and would like to receive experience. The pay is usually the minimal but again you will gain experience in various fields.
Pros
Entry-Level, and experience
Cons
overworked, and salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its like selling your soul to the devil
Youth Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Florida City, FLJanuary 30, 2017
the children isn't the problem its administration. The youth care workers are required to do too much for little pay. I wouldn't recommend this job to anyone unless you are DESPERATE
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy my position that I am currently at
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 29, 2017
I have been with this company for 16 years and I am looking to make a change to another industry. I have learned that team work is what makes the day.. Working with people that enjoy their jobs is a plus. I have had different management in my time , its just a matter of making an adjustment, overall I enjoy working with the public.
Pros
flexablity
Cons
benefits should be better
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
G4s
Sales Executive (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 28, 2017
Company was in disarray. This was largely due to restructuring efforts. During this transition management failed at facilitating changes in personal and communicating process changes.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management sucks
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Anderson, OHJanuary 28, 2017
They will give you zero training and expect the most and will most likely toss you to the curb if the contract ends. Good people to work with but overall worst company I've worked for.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had its Ups and Downs
Bank Protection Officer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJanuary 27, 2017
Worked in different positions, they all had there up and downs, benefits were not the greatest. Contract was sold out to another company. some of the managers i had were not the greatest
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible / unorganized
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 27, 2017
This company lie about your hours and get you to leave you past job for hours they don't give you as they promise. Communication sucks and also management .they pull you from sites for no reason.. I wouldn't recommend them at all. Bad company!!!!!!!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work summary
Security Supervisor (Sergeant) (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAJanuary 27, 2017
My job is working in a gated community. The Director is well knowledgeable in his job and has taught us all quite a bit. The G4S staff are good at what they do and are very supportive.
Pros
Great company to work for
Cons
too long to get promotions
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Differant
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Cleveland OhioJanuary 27, 2017
This job would be a good job for a retired person wanting to work part-time, benefits are there if over 40 hours not good benefits. Not a job for high school or young adults trying to make a living to support a home
Pros
There are benefits with 40 hours
Cons
Hours are cut frequently
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees...great company!
Confidential (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKJanuary 27, 2017
Good benefits for full-time employees. Great employees...great company! Flexible shifts and hours at various locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a terrible job
Critical Facility Officer (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJanuary 26, 2017
This company does not want you to use your brain. Most of the positions are for old people with nothing to do. As a younger person, I find myself getting super bored and finding ways to entertain myself. Its an okay gig and the higher pay is a plus among the other security companies in the West Florida area.
Pros
40 hours a week, OT sometimes, issued uniforms, management is decent
Cons
Terrible benefits, boring work, wouldn't recomend
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company To Work For!
TSO Officer (Former Employee) –  Lynchburg, VA | Bedford, VA | Roanoke, VAJanuary 26, 2017
Best Company Hands Down That I Have Worked For & With I haven't had any issues nor any problems as of time I worked with them!
Pros
Great Leadership, Ranks, And Great Pay, also Great Benefits
Cons
??? NONE Except No Matter What Don't Miss Work Unless You Have REAL REASON TO!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of different duties. Multitasking.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Waltham, MAJanuary 26, 2017
Front Desk duties. Driving shuttle van. Walking and driving patrols.
Check and creating badges. Checking deliveries and mail. Checking trucks and cars.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be productive
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYJanuary 26, 2017
Not enough room for growth at some locations. I like the fact that g4s is global and that it has many branches but this is not the case in sub-cites.
Pros
global
Cons
not enough room for advancement in smaller cities
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cluster
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 26, 2017
G4S was a cluster of a mess to work for. Always back and forth on their word. Continually understaffed and over worked. Never received proper uniforms.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good career
Bank Protection Officer (Former Employee) –  Soledad, CAJanuary 26, 2017
You stand on your feet all day and your feet hurt, you never get employee evaluations, there is no career development program, no chance for promotions, no raises, no medical benefits.
What it really is is ' Nepotism' , It's who you know working at G4S.
Pros
PAYCHECK EVERY FRIDAY
Cons
Sometimes no breaks, constantly mistakes on paychecks
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing at all
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 25, 2017
I Have always believed you should never badmouth a former employee so, I will just mention a lesson from childhood if you can't say anything nice then say nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at G4S. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 5,510 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2