G4S

1.5K reviews

G4S Employee Reviews

Found 662 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 25, 2015
G4s work is a decent place to work. people are friendly. my only complaint not consistant. Also, they are slow to getting you the right matieral needed to preform your job.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive shift
NOC OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 25, 2015
- During my shift, I answer phone calls and make outbound phone calls, send emails and respond to emails, keep an eye on the whole campus on CCTV cameras. Keep an eye on my 5 officers.

- Iv learned how to problem solve in any given situation

- My officers are on top of there job and very respectful, as I am towards them

- It can be a little stressful at times, but rarely

- I enjoy all aspects of my job because I am having the opportunity to show my skills in ever way
Pros
Very easy crew
Cons
if someone calls off, having to find someone to cover on my graveyard shift
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great help with long distance walking
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJuly 22, 2015
Great place to learn and keep you on your toes about how people try to get away with crime.Help learn how to deal with different kind of sickness with person and their misunderstanding
Pros
Love the job
Cons
Hate when alarms don't set and got to stay overnight and plus work your shift
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work that provides saftey for the youth.
Shift supervisor (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLJuly 22, 2015
A typical day at work is fun and exciting because I am working with different personalities. Each youth is different in their own way. With this job, I learned that even though the youth are in this program, they are not bad children.
Pros
seeing the youth grow and progress out of the program.
Cons
knowing that some of the youth are dealing with major issues mentally and emotionally.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is one of the better security companies to work for.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Blue Springs, Mo. North Kansas City, Mo.July 19, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job is the customers. For the most part they are respectable, but there are some who want to start up. Sometimes hard to talk with management because they have not served in the military. They do not understand a lot of us.
Pros
Can get overtime.
Cons
I am working nights.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for me
Security Officer/ Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCJuly 18, 2015
this company is not reliable when it comes to the associate's needs. They rarely answer questions and the communication sucks.
Pros
pay is ok
Cons
communication is terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes11No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Norco, LAJuly 17, 2015
It was a decent atmosphere. Some of the employees were the hardest working men. There was lots of overtime and anyone could get it, but the work was very physical.
Pros
Overtime pay
Cons
physical work, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Carleton, MIJuly 13, 2015
I think im messing these all up but very happy working with new people learning from others always ready for new challenges
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work, no room for advancement
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FlJuly 13, 2015
Productive workplace with major responsibility. Unsupportive management. Pay and benefits were good but no room for advancement unless someone quits or gets fired.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work and very straight forward
Flex Officer (Current Employee) –  Carrollton, TXJuly 12, 2015
Decent company very basic tasks and simple for anyone to do. Co-workers are all very friendly and easy to talk with. Typical days are either walking around patrolling or sitting down watching personnel. Management within the company isn't the best I have seen and needs improvement. Hardest part about the job is the pure boredom on every shift you go to. The most enjoyable is that I am use to it from the military and it is very easy money.
Pros
Easy work
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5No

Want to know more about G4S?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy with schduling and payroll
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Geismar, LaJuly 12, 2015
It was meetings and committee attendance and a lot of public speaking. Must be aware of the post and how they operate hiring and training on going to keep staff up to date on all UCCG regulations and Homeland security updates
Pros
The freedom to select work hours
Cons
The distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A STRONG WORK ENVIROMENT
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJuly 11, 2015
HOURS WERE VERY LIMITED. MANAGEMENT WAS POORLY TRAINED AND DIDNT KNOW HOW TO WORK AS A TEAM. WE ALMOST NEVER HAD THE SUPPLIES TO PERFORM ADEQUATELY
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Managment
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Jackson,MsJuly 8, 2015
From the management to the hours and pay is sad. I wouldn't prefer anyone to work for this branch in the Jackson MS area. When I got hired the training was slow and unprofessional. And also they require you to have to much experience and less pay.
Pros
Free uniforms.
Cons
Less Hours, minimum wage pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay, Poor Management
Critical facility officer (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJuly 6, 2015
You start your day being watched and tracked on everything you do and say.

You end your day thanking god that you are leaving.


The main office has no clue what goes on and does not care as long as they are getting their bonus.

You might get a pay raise after 2 years if you are lucky.
Pros
Leaving at the end of your shift.
Cons
Micro-Management, Low Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes14No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Upscale Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Albany, NYJuly 6, 2015
IT'S A JOB THAT YOU GET PAID FOR. DECENT PAY BUT A EASY JOB. NOTHING BAD ABOUT ANYTHING WHEN I WORKED THERE. COULD BE BETTER OR COULD OF BEEN WORST
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working for G4S
Control Room Operator (Current Employee) –  Tobaccoville, NCJuly 3, 2015
A typical work day at G4S is coming in and answering phones, acknowledging alarms. You learn a lot working with cameras and the lenel system. Some co-workers are good to work with, others not so much.
Pros
Good Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job you could ever work
Communications Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXJuly 2, 2015
Best Job you could ever work!
I learned how to prompt and on time
The hardest part of the job is dealing with schdules
The most enjoyable is the people, and the work
Pros
Emploees, Management, stability
Cons
Relief is often late
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great training
Special Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Washington dcJune 30, 2015
It was a great experience for me. Great training and benefits. I have learned a lot while working at the Holocaust museum. great supervisors and great employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really was not happy with this company
Shift Supervisor Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 28, 2015
I worked fo G4S for over 2 years. I really thought that the company needed different people in management. The communication was horrible. No one seem to have your our back as guards. The benefits were pitful. Most of the time it was unsure what are roles were as guards. I would not work fo this company again.
Pros
lots of overtime
Cons
lots of overtime, poor management and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very punctual or dependable when needed
Rover (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 26, 2015
My typical day would be to patrol around warehouse environments making sure people or animals were not on property. I didn't learn a whole lot other than to not trust people when they say you can do something. Management was a joke they had a receptionist who was rude most of the time when calling, never showed up to sites like they stated. Co-workers were friendly never met one who was not nice.

Hardest part of the job was the work schedule, it differed so much was like shift work.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 1,549 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture