Find companies:
G4S
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
949 reviews

G4S Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just plain horrible . Money hungry company.
Security officer (Former Employee), MiamiMay 27, 2014
Pros: paycheck
Cons: a lot of stress
I had this job for four months. And within that time I have five post within those four months. Companies too big and they hired too many officers for little work. I had a major in miami promise a post near me and every two weeks to a month would be a different . He eventually told me I had to do training classes and I did them and still had a doors – more... shut in my face . This company is sooo fake in (miami) I can't really explain the struggle it was . And they really don't look out for the officers . I remember we took over a post in miami and 0600 that day we took over the contract because the last company was too slack and it was horrible . Don't work for this company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cold , Heartless, Broken Promises
Security Officer (Former Employee), Omaha, NeMay 25, 2014
Cons: everything
I applied to this company and went to the job site and had an interview and was hired. Went to my drug screen and passed it. The day before I was supposed to start my training they called me into the office and told me I had to meet with the Branch manager. He told me my app was under review by the HR dept because i checked a box incorrectly. he is – more... a former policeman as am I. He was very rude, arrogant ,bully, and wasnt going to listen to anything i had to say he made me write a statement to HR detaling why I did that OMG. It had never came up on any background check before not even my one for the Sheriffs Dept. I still apply to this company but get no response. NEVER WORK FOR THEM. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
any place
Chauffeur (Current Employee), Casablanca, TNMay 24, 2014
Pros: any time for lunche
Cons: any time
hiThis company is the type of work the security guards and vehicles transporting money and maintenance Cameras banking and human resources, and many of the
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Worker, already with bad experiences.
Flex Officer (Current Employee), Cincinnati, OHMay 23, 2014
Pros: nice starting pay, easy work.
Cons: inconsistant hours, boring, unhelpful upper management.
Now, before I begin this review, I must stress that I have only been with the company for over a month, so my experiences thus far could always change for the better or worse. That being said, let's get to it.

I should of been suspicious when there was no interview for this job. Within 24 hours of filling out an application, I was called in and blatently – more... offered the job. being so close to falling into debt, I would of been stupid to pass this one up, so I took it. The Orientation...was a bit of a joke, just mindless droning on about the backstory of G4S, and pages upon pages of information no one, not even a professional, would remember, and it was boring to say the least. Sometime during this orientation, I was offered the Flex officer position instead of being a floater, and after I heard it was THREE dollars more on the paycheck, I accepted. Foolish me, I should of asked what the difference was.

After three days, I was sent to the location I would be working at, somwhere that was almost twenty miles away from my house no less. I was given the flash version of what I would be doing, for the Captain did not know quite how long I would be there (according to him, they were asking for months for a replacement of a worker about to quit). To this jobs credit, it is easy work. Stupidly easy, just typing in the truck trailer numbers, and watching the camera. The job itself isn't too bad, and the workers are all nice people as well as (most) of the drivers, so that is a plus.

The down fall is, that I have not had a week with more than one off day in a while. For some that might be the norm, but I was told that for the most part, forty hours would be the max, and that we could always be called on our off days. Which they have done twice, and on both times I was told the wrong time, showing up twelve hours early. I was not reimbursed, despite being on the clock, for either mistake. Also, these next two weeks I am working just(!) four hours over forty, yet the upper management decided to use a loophole on both days to not give me time and a half I legally deserved. It seems whenever I call, they either never pick up, or have a "reason" why something is occuring, yet do not own up to the mistakes, simply saying "they happen."

Now, unlike a lot of reviewers, I cannot comment on benefits, or promotions, or anything like that, as I have not been around long enough to discover them. However, my review can give warning to the ones looking at this company for a job, as a warning. It might not be the same where they are, but it was most certainly that way here. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Youth Care Worker 1 (Current Employee), Tampa, FLMay 21, 2014
Pros: convenient with my other job
Cons: low income
My co-workers were great. Management could be better. Learned to be very observant. Hardest part of the job was dealing with youth trying to get under your skin.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company where you are always challenged!
General Manager (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMay 19, 2014
Pros: competative salary and benefits
Cons: 65+ hours / week
G4S is a company where you will be constantly challenged. You will have ample opportunity to grow as an individual and within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Armed Security Officer (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 19, 2014
A nice place to work.
Good source for experience in the Security world.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Youth Care Work at G4S
Youth Care Worker (Current Employee), Bartow, FLMay 14, 2014
• Supervise and participate in various recreation programs and activities with juvenile residents
• Teach daily living activities to the juvenile residents to stimulate interest and skills needed for independent living
• Patrol various locations within the facility for the purpose of checking safety and security hazards to protect the security and safety – more... of the inmates and the facility – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Security Guard (Former Employee), Richmond, VAMay 12, 2014
hardest part is staying awake on overnight/ graveyard shifts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for G4S security
TRADITIONAL SECURITY OFFICER (Current Employee), SyracuseMay 11, 2014
Pros: comfy chair, good lighting, easy money
Cons: no breaks or lunch, boring alone, little interaction
I come in at 12am and get briefed from the person who did the shift before mine, they fill me in with any issues that may had happen and so on.
I then take my post and begin shift I stay at my post till around 130am and then make my foot patrols of the building.
Once back at my post I monitor the systems until around 430am for my next foot patrol. Once – more... 720am hits I do my last foot patrol and end my shift at 800am in the morning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxed place to work.
Security officer (Current Employee), Chicago, ILMay 6, 2014
Its a relaxed setting with little to none major problems to handle. Every so often I might have to respond to an alarm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
none existing management
Custom Protection Officer (Current Employee), Jupiter, FLMay 6, 2014
Management does care about what goes on with their employees. coworkers are not the cream of the crop. my most enjoyable part of my day is when I get to go home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place
Security Officer (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSMay 5, 2014
Cons: healthcare, benifits, vacations
I am not one to speak bad about anyone. I hate to write this even as I am. There is no hope for advancement in this company unless you have military experience. You also have to deal with other employees not showing up for work. Disciplinary action is never taken on them. If they find you are willing to work they will work you to death.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace
Apprentice Security Officer (Former Employee), Fargo, NDMay 5, 2014
Pros: good hours for a college student
Cons: no breaks, little advancement
Sit at a gate and watch activity.
Management was okay for the 2nd year i worked there, very limited opportunities about advancing in the company. Pay was alright could be a little more but that depends on the client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor maangement, lousy work hours, poor scheduling by operations manager
Custom Protection Officer (Former Employee), Reno, NevadaMay 3, 2014
Pros: good co workers
Cons: lousy management, poor scheduling, long work hours in exces of 60 hours a week
This is not a good company to work for as the management treats you poorly, does not answer their phone or return calls, no job security, heaven help you if you dare to cross management and actually speak up for yourself in regards to the way you are treated, scheduling is a joke better plan on working 12 hour shifts most of the time due to the operations – more... manager lack of responsible scheduling since she has to have her hands in everything so she can pull officers to work other accounts such as the bank because she is short staffed and the management is a joke you cannot speak up to your immediate supervisor because they are afraid of the operations manager and what she will do in retaliation. Co workers do not pull their fair share . I had high hopes and expected more from this company and when I dared to cross the operations manager I was retaliated against . I worked with some great individuals and some not so great individuals and the culture surrounding G4S is one of do not make waves because you will get retaliated against by not only the local management but corporate management as well. Everything I have said is true and I would not recommend this company to anyone especially if you are female. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You learn to love your life and forgive
Youth Care Worker (Former Employee), Tampa, FLMay 3, 2014
ethics is not something that they push on you have employees sleeping with employees in the building. Then you have management being disrespectful and trying to get you to sleep with them. they beat and hit on the kids and when you say something you become the enemy. The best thing about the job are the kids not only do they learn from you but you learn – more... from them as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay. Bad location.
Security Officer (Current Employee), Eunice, NMMay 2, 2014
Pros: salary and benefits.
Cons: location
The work isn't hard and most of the people are easy to get along with. The hardest part of the job is the drive to get there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serve and Protect
Security Officer (Current Employee), Calhoun, GAMay 2, 2014
We are the first faces people see before entering the facility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Barely been working there
Security Officer (Current Employee), Louisville, KYApril 30, 2014
Pros: paid on breaks
Cons: idk yet
It's telling me that I have to write a review, but honestly I have only worked here for three days so I don't have much to say yet. You make an alright pay to walk around and just be security.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dante
Operation Specialist (Former Employee), Tukwila, WAApril 30, 2014
just sit around and secure buildings all day
the cow workers were alright
the hardest part was standing all day

About G4S

G4S is the world’s leading international security solutions group, which specialises in secure outsourcing in countries – Read more