Find companies:
G4S
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
754 reviews

G4S Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay
Justice Protective Service Officer (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 1, 2013
I enjoyed working with this agency. The people are nice and the benefits are great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad
Security Officer (Former Employee), Independence, OHOctober 31, 2013
Pros: get breaks
ok place to workthats all.went to work,came home,went to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Security Guard (Former Employee), Kalamazoo,MIOctober 25, 2013
Pros: not hard
Cons: no room to move up
Good for the money but no room to move up need more accounts
and more flexibility on scheduling.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned alot but ready for a new challenge
HR. Assistant/ Recruiter (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 22, 2013
Pros: able to work from any place and traveled alot
Cons: insurance was exremely high for one person
A typical week
Four days out of the week is specifically for interviewing and hiring.
One day is to review all drug tests and back ground results. Also schedule orientation and provide detail information to those coming back in for the full hiring process. Be attentive to any situations that arise such as termination, transferring and discrepancy issues.

Learned
Had – more... to support different managers and provide accurate information weekly.Gained the experience to learn and grow with in the HR department.Developed job fairs and began an outreach program
Organization skills which assist with different audits

The hardest part would be being able to be available at any time.

The most enjoyable part of G4S is being able to work with a diverse team. In addition support different projects in different states. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun workplace
Security Officer Supervisor (Current Employee), Tamuning, GUOctober 18, 2013
A typical day at work is patrolling the interior and exterior of the Hotel premises. Ensure the safety of hotel guests and employees. To inform the proper management of any incident happening in the area. I don't believe there is a hard part of this job. I have been in this job for a while now and I guess I am used to it. The most enjoyable part of – more... the job is when you end the day without any problems because that means that we have done a good job through out the day keeping the hotel safe and secure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for job security
Security Guard (Current Employee), Williamsville, NYOctober 16, 2013
Pros: weekly pay.
Cons: poor management
This place is very unorganized and unprofessional. I find it to be very easy work but there are issues with chain of command and who is in charge. There contracts are not guaranteed so neither is your employment with the company not a place if you are looking for a career with advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work with room to grow
Armed Security Officer (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 14, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: dont like weekends expecially sundays
its one of the finest security work-force in the world. They have excellent management team and wonderful people all around. I am very proud to have work for them. I will gladly accept the offer to work for them again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional standards
Security Supervisor (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 14, 2013
Professional company with strict standards, job preference expectations high for employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place of employment, World wide co.
Security officer (Current Employee), U S CellularOctober 12, 2013
Pros: job security, a good place
Cons: if their had to be a con i guess, the scheduling, but its not that big of a deal to me.
There is no typical day at G4S, but i usually come in and fill out papperwork. then make my rounds to make myself visable to the customers that the security officer has changed and there is one on site if any emergencies. My management is great they are laid back they speak to you with respect and they dont have the inferrior complex towards you.

My – more... co-workers are very nice a respectible people, no drama, no fighting its all a preety good atmosphere to work in. Their are no hard parts about the job if you know what your doing. I like the job all of the job. I love doing security work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experince
Security Guard Officer (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCOctober 6, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: working outside in all tipes of weather
making sure the bank associate make it to and from their car with out being bother by panhandler. also making sure that the building have not be breecd and that they are secure I also worked at the airoirt making sure that only people that were properly badged had acess to the gate
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont take the hipe
cpo/bpo (Current Employee), JacksonvilleOctober 4, 2013
Pros: its money
Cons: too many to list
Upper management are the worst back stabbing and conniving it feel you for the height and don't put you in the right place for you think you should fit they don't care about you nor anybody else except themselves your a number.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If it's in Fort Dodge, don't waste your time.
Security Officer (Former Employee), Fort Dodge, IAOctober 4, 2013
Pros: cargill people were awesome
Cons: horrid benefits, miss communication on a daily basis, a boy scout team could run a better security
I worked here for a while and it was a complete disaster. The only reason they are even looking for a supervisor is because they didn't give the old supervisor the ability and power to do his job right.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity in advancement
Traditional Security Officer (Current Employee), Knoxville, TNOctober 2, 2013
Pros: bathroom, microwave and fridge in guard shack
Cons: scheduling and solitude
I man a guard shack majority of my shift, when im not in the guard shack I patrol the client site. Checking all the doors making sure they are secure, also making sure work conditions for the employees are safe. Manangement could be better here on site, schedule making is mostly around him and another employee. Thats what makes the hardest part about – more... my job. Staying awake on multiple consecutive twelve hour night shifts is extremely hard for me, and majorly cuts into my family time. The most enjoyable part of the job is just being security, I feel like I have a sort of importance in ways. It makes me feel good knowing some things about this job and its functions rely on me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good/Bad
CSO Security Officer (Current Employee), Blacksburg, VASeptember 30, 2013
Pros: good for moving up to law enforment
Cons: not a perminet job
I like my job but there are loseing there contrace so ill be out off a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working around my coworkers
Security Guard - Duval County Courthouse (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 29, 2013
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: no benefits
Most enjoyable part of the job are the people I work with it's not a hard job the supervisors on my post are great I've learn to to be patient
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst company I've ever worked for!!
Custom Protection Officer (Former Employee), BROKEN SOUNDSeptember 28, 2013
Cons: uniforms are a throw back from the old fhp inventory!
I'm an ex cop both in NY and in the military, and this company doesn't have the first clue on how to treat experienced employees. Their supervisors are for the most part second rate, and they don't care how much you know, they have the belief that they are always right, which they are sadly mistaken, and it's a shame considering all the drama you have – more... to go through to get the job in the FIRST PLACE!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
INVESTIGATE WORKERS COMPENSATION CLAIMS
G4S-Private Investigator (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCSeptember 25, 2013
Pros: catching fraud
Cons: not very safe places to investigate
WOULD FILM AND WRITE REPORTS ON WORKERS COMPENSATION CLAIMS ALL OVER OKLAHOMA, ARKANSAS AND TEXAS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I can't believe so many people have given G4S a good review
Security (Current Employee), OhioSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: plenty of overtime
Cons: everything. everything.
The Corporate office is stretched too thin.

The uniforms are poor quality, never fit correctly, and usually end up falling apart in a very short while.

The expectations of an every-day officer start out small but builds into something that can not be achieved. The company is wanting work horses, not humans with lives. They do not care if you have – more... a personal life, family, plans, school, etc. They do not care that you want to work in order to have a life, they want you to live to work.

It is not abnormal to only receive 2-3-4 days off in a month, multiple months in a row. To request time off and get it denied. To work 60-70 hour work weeks for multiple weeks in a row.

Beyond the actual G4S corporation side of things, G4S is contracted out by each site it is at. The lack of quality in employees, consistent turn over with the staff, and overworked and underpaid people who actually stay make the client sites incredibly unhappy. The client I work for is constantly bidding out for different security companies, making no job-security at all. If the client gets a different security company I would have an opportunity to stay with G4S but would probably get stuck at some drug store working a grave yard shift for minimum wage.

Somebody on here wrote "don't walk, run..." and I couldn't agree more. Trust me, you would be happier at a department store or fast food until you find something else. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company
Nuclear Security Officer (Former Employee), Homestead, FLSeptember 20, 2013
Good stable company to work for. Good Benefits. Enough room for growth if you choose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workshop
To assist customers through inquiries (Former Employee), uganda,kampalaSeptember 18, 2013
it was a good job
enjoyed it
the management was really good
i learned how to cooperate and handle customers
we usually had a team work with my co workers
my hardest part of wok was wen i was really in need of money and i delayed
i enjoyed having fun with my co workers

About G4S

G4S Secure Solutions (G4S) counters the perils of modern life by providing a full slate of security services to corporate, industrial, – Read more