Find companies:
GE Aviation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
92 reviews

GE Aviation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welder at GE Aviation
Welder (Current Employee), Terre Haute, INDecember 31, 2013
I like the company but the pay isn't very good. I enjoy the work but I am ready for new challenges. The hardest part is driving to work and not getting the pay that my family needs to better ourselves. Management is okay but there is not much advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Office Administrator/Executive Assistant (Current Employee), Bellevue, WADecember 10, 2013
Very interesting work culture, people and focus. Different approach to management and employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little Bit Of Advise; don't believe everything you hear.
Assembly Technician (Former Employee), Vandalia, OHDecember 2, 2013
Upstairs was a wonderful group of individuals and most managers will be willing to assist you when needed.
All tools and equipment were supplied as needed.
People tend to get into your business quite a bit, but as long as a person stayed neutral, most conflicts could be avoided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not an Easy Place to Work For
Lead Enginner Heat Transfer Analysis (Former Employee), Evendale (Cincinnati) OhioNovember 10, 2013
Pros: interesting projects and assignments
Cons: hours and competitive environment
I was in heat transfer analysis for three years. Overall the work is much more demanding than other companies. You are expected to work overtime frequently, and do weekend work. The raises are not good;Less than or equal to the rate of inflation. There is opportunity to learn and advance, but if you take courses a lot of it is on your own time...not – more... company time. The worst thing about work with GE was the competitiveness fostered between employees and the yearly appraisal process. Creative thinking is not fostered....schedule is first. Especially not a good place to work if you have not been in the industry before. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard worker
Electromechanical Technician (Former Employee), Whippany, NJSeptember 18, 2013
There is a lot of things that I learn at GE Aviation. I worked with other and I love it. Every day there was something new I had to learn and I love it. There was never a hard job for me to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-Op
Industrial Security Intern (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHSeptember 18, 2013
This was a wonderful experience. I learned a great deal and hope to work again here in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No thank you.
Administrator/Developer (Current Employee), Evendale, OHSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: leaving work
Cons: going to work
Absolutely the worst experiance I've had as a contractor.

My manager is a drunk. I'm lucky if she shows up to work 3 days a week; and when she does she can't remember what's going on and fly's off the handle constantly.

Can't quite put together how someone like that was hired at GE.

Other than that mess, the people for the most part are very knowledgeable, – more... greats minds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Assembly and Test (Former Employee), Duarte, CASeptember 10, 2013
Pros: great pay, and benefits, 4/10 work week with a lot of overtime. everyone is treated as equal
Cons: union. it gets in the way of more qualified employees advancing over the under qualified, more seniority ones.
Typical day begins with a general meeting where the supervisors give everyone their job assignments. Everyone is willing to teach the new employee.
Management actually knows the trade and are considerate of the experience level of the employee.
The technical aspects of the job would be the hardest to learn.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operations
Black Belt - Project Management Process Leader (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIJuly 31, 2013
Operations - Six Sigma /Project Management
Internal Consulting
Executive Coaching
Quality Assurance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Group oriented
Level II Machinist (Former Employee), West Jefferson, NCJuly 3, 2013
At GE Aviation management changes every two years. I go into work everyday with a positive attitude and ready to work. While working at GE Aviation I have learned an enormous amount about different types of machines, and how to become more group oriented with my co-workers. The most difficult part about working at GE Aviation is there was no room for – more... mistakes because we made rotating parts for jet aircraft engines. I found the most enjoyable times at work was working with my team members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent place to work at
Aero-thermal Lead Engineer (Current Employee), Baltimore, MDJune 19, 2013
Management is decent.
Good inputs from senior leaders.
Hardest part is to manage multiple projects at one time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New Project A320neo needs more direction from Customer
Senior Test Liaison Engineer (Former Employee), Duarte, CAJune 15, 2013
Pros: good peoples
Cons: under staffed for the efforts at the site
The A320 new engine option (neo) is a very diversified project with several organizations involved in the design. planning. implementation and certification processes. As the Liaison Engineer, I was tasked to co-ordinate all the functions to meet FAA and EASA compliance. Prepare Qualification Test Procedures (QTP). As part of the certification process – more... a new Test Fixture to perform Qualification and Design Assurance Testing, which needed to be specified and documented to procure/fabricate the test rig. The most difficult task was to have the deign groups specify testing objectives for each component. The test community was very helpful with their legacy knowledge of previous Thrust Reverse Actuation Systems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company For Full Timers/Dead End For Temps
Fabrication Associate (Former Employee), Hooksett NHMay 1, 2013
Pros: great place to work for full time employees
Cons: temps don't get hired unless you are related to employees
I left a permanent job after 17 years to work at GE on a temp to hire contract. I was told before I put my notice in to leave my long term position that I would be evaluated for full time employment after three months.I was confident in myself and assumed I would have no problem getting hired as I am a very hard worker.Boy was I wrong,I busted my hump – more... as Temp for an entire year, did my best to learn every job to show them I was a value to their company,I was moved to different departments, cross trained and excelled at every job they put me in.I was told constantly I was an excellent worker,all of my co workers wanted to see me get hired.I was given an interview for a full time position after 10 months of employment giving me a false sense of security that I may be given a chance at a full time position.Instead after successfully passing their selection process I was told I would be placed in a "hiring pool" where there is a very long line of people waiting.I was then after all my hard work and waiting to seek other employment. After my 12 months was up they cut me loose, I found myself standing in the unemployment line,ended up in financial ruin for a few months and have since accepted a full time job with benefits elsewhere.After I began my new full time position at my new company,I was propositioned by same the Temp agency to return again to GE and start the process all over again,in which I refused.I was under the impression that I was in a hiring pool,which must also not be accurate.I honestly loved the work environment at GE,the people were all fantastic,the perks and bennies are great for those who are full time.In general I think they treat their own employees great,but as a Temp I felt as though I never existed,nor mattered.I was cheap labor,and pretty much a casualty.The only seem to call family members of employees back to full time employment.I have given up all hope that I will ever get a call from them with an offer of a full time position,even though I would have been one of their hardest,dedicated workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GE Aviation Systems
Sub-Section Manager (Current Employee), Grand Rapids, MIApril 26, 2013
Pros: diverse opportunities
Cons: work/life balance
GE is a demanding and challenging environment. It requires a lot of dedication and commitment to make a difference and advance. I gained tremendous experience is helping to create a commercial aviation joint venture company between GE and AVIC (a Chinese aviation company), called AVIAGE SYSTEMS. Although process and IP was transferred into the JV by – more... GE, everything needed to be built from the ground up including tools and licenses, basic infrastructure such as an ERP system, supply chain and shipping capability, resources, facilities space, etc. I was involved in nearly every aspect.

I found the workforce to be very hardworking, and talented. My direct managers were always very supportive of my career and worked to recognize my efforts and advance my career.

The work/life balance is a bit of a struggle. There were hardly any 40 hour work weeks during my time there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Environment Health & Safety Manager (Former Employee), Yakima, WAApril 17, 2013
Pros: fun
Cons: in the middle of the state. the closest major city was 1.5 hours awa.
Fun place to work. The people you work with are great. My collegues were great to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ideal Workplace
CNC/Laser/EDM Operator (Current Employee), Muskegon, MIApril 12, 2013
Friendly caring environment with cooperative HR and a ton of resources! Benefits are off the chain!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Experience
Engineering Co-op (Former Employee), Evendale, OHApril 10, 2013
As a co-op, I worked a variety of different projects for Ti-Al Low Pressure Turbine Blades program. This involved making pitches for different presentations. This required a lot of work in Microsoft Office, Excel and Powerpoint in particular. My co workers were very nice and helpful when I needed to get understanding of something. The hardest part was – more... learning all the new material, but with a little time and effort I was able to get a good grasp of everything. The most enjoyable part was when working with manufacturing to see all the engines and actually get a feel for what I was working towards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get exposure to engineering
Lynn Assembly Test & Overhaul Intern (Former Employee), Lynn, MAApril 10, 2013
Pros: good atmosphere, meaningful work
Cons: not much space for an electrical engineer
GE Aviation was a great place to work. Every day was left up to me, as long as I was working towards my project goals. They gave me opportunities to learn new skills, and to try my hand at real engineering problems.

My managers were all supportive and great people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Quality Inspector (Current Employee), Manchester, CTApril 6, 2013
Layout and Cmm inspection basic to advanced measurement tools.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work force
Lead Sourcing Specialist (Former Employee), Cincinnati OhioApril 3, 2013
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: layoffs
I was responsible for a $42million spend for gears and transmissions. I was responsible for military proposals and deflation projects. I was also responsble for administrating contracts and delivery pf products as well as program management.

About GE Aviation

At GE Aviation, we are imagination at work. Whether we’re manufacturing components for our GEnx engines or driving innovation – Read more

GE Aviation Photos