GE Energy Management Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Engineer/Technologist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 11, 2017
GE is a good place to work. One is treated well, and respected. A healthy work environment is also a positive. I would love to go back to GE if I ever get a chance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love this job just time for a change to better my family financially.
Assembler/welder (Current Employee) –  Houston txDecember 8, 2017
I worked for almost 10 years at ge. Its a great place to work most everyone got along. They treated everyone with respect and was.on top of there saftey.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All about GE Executive Compensation
Principal Wastewater Engineer (Former Employee) –  Oakville, CANovember 20, 2017
Horrible Workplace. GE stand for good for Executives. Beat on employees so they can make preposterously large bonuses for fictional quarterly results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Management Backing
Site Manager, Desert Sky Wind Farm (Current Employee) –  Iraan, TXNovember 9, 2017
I was hired without ever meeting my manager. In 6 months of working there, I still never met my manager. He never had time for my site or me. In short my manager, never backed his people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was cool
Bridge Crane Operator (Former Employee) –  Tehachapi, CANovember 9, 2017
Started as a temp, moved up. They did a lot of trying, became a crane operator and over the job was really fun even though it could be a stressful day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company, Big Red Tape
Technical Sales - Drilling and Production Systems (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 1, 2017
Very difficult to make any meaningful change in your process. Managers are often in "developmental" rotations so it becomes difficult to develop relationships.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Engineer / Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Galion , ohOctober 25, 2017
Gave up work in Ohio. Had the PIP contract for work. Had a lot of good people in the Ohio group. Most found other jobs some just retired. Closed Galion Ohio site.
Pros
more money
Cons
lost good employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced and competitive
Industrial Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHOctober 23, 2017
Ge Energy Management was a very fast paced company that thrived on competition, hard work and long hours. The work was challenging but rewarding and my co-workers were wonderful to work with. This business was sold.
Pros
Competitive
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last mgr was poorly suited for the position and remained in place regardless
Wireline Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 22, 2017
GE O&G is stockholder-centric and not customer-centric, at least in the wireline segment. Always had an excuse, never fought for the customer and had absolutely no sense of oil fields 24/7 mentality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Commercial Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 18, 2017
Job is OK, but its super busy and the sales team I support is annoyingly demanding. I don't particularly enjoy the job, but the pay is great and I'm good at what I do.
Pros
Unlimited time off
Cons
People expect you to check emails on vacation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Staff Accountant/Invoice Analyst (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 10, 2017
It was always a fun place even during the crunch time at month end. we all managed to smile within the storms but created a family. GE also gave back to the community through volunteering.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Integration Leader (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 8, 2017
Working at GE is great. Career opportunities are there if you are flexible to move and fit culture... Need to be ready for constant innovation. High caliber.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive exciting work place. Culture is always changing and evolving.
Sales Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 8, 2017
Innovative and creative place to work. The culture is always evolving to encourage new and efficient changes in the workplace procedures and policies.
Pros
Ample training and learning.
Cons
Uncertainty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved everything about this job!
Electrician & Instrumentation (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 8, 2017
The only reason I had to leave this job was because the whole plant was relocating over seas and they were cutting jobs right and left. I wish I could have traveled along with the job, but everyone even management were being laid off. I was very sad to leave.
Pros
Great work environment, lots of education and opportunity to move up.
Cons
the job was sent out of the country and everyone lost their jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Technician
Project Technician 7 (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 5, 2017
Great fast pace facility to work. Worked well with all co-workers.
Learned quickly and was able to advance and move on to next project. Management was well informative.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities with hit and miss leadership
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  FloridaOctober 3, 2017
Experience varies greatly based on manager. GE has the potential to be a special place with good pay, benefits, and work. It can be turned upside down however with a poor manager. Unfortunately there are plenty of poor managers and leaders to spread around, hopefully that will change.
Pros
Salary, benefits, interesting work
Cons
leadership, cut-throat environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Competitive culure
Quality Control Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 2, 2017
Competitive culture was great for the team. The work got done and we were happy to see the results of our labor. Loved working at GE and having an impact on such a large business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was Very Misleading ,Company Saying we would Retiree there.
Electrical Assembler (Former Employee) –  New Braunfels, TXSeptember 26, 2017
Changing of Management almost Ever six months. Saw many unethical things take place at work, more like cut throat .People lining on reports ,management liing about things being done ,when there not.Management tell people about if they dont like it the street runs North and South.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Misleading of longevity of job, Co worker at the end become Hostile
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Metalskills Temp (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 25, 2017
Great job, one of my favorite. The job itself wasn't bad at all, it was very stressful at times. I learned a lot on the job not just about welding but how what I'm welding works.
Pros
Lunches
Cons
Meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quickly Evolving
Global Compliance Leader and Counsel (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GASeptember 19, 2017
Multiple business restructuring made my time here challenging. But focusing on critical tasks and deliverables to customers made it possible to stay the course.
Pros
Grid Management is important
Cons
GE's Continuous Restructuring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GE Energy Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 589 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7