GM Employee Reviews

Found 922 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Lake Orion, MIFebruary 7, 2016
Gm is a great place to work for. The people and management are friendly and easy to work with. The work environment is generally fast passed but very manageable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place of employment
Millwright/Welder (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHFebruary 5, 2016
Every day is different. I work with some very talented people. The job is dangerous so you have to be very vigilant about safety. I learn new things all the time. I enjoy the challenges.
Pros
variety of work
Cons
dirty and dangerous
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Oracle Developer (Current Employee) –  ArizonaFebruary 1, 2016
The company really cares about creating a culture that provides you as an individual success and for the company.You get to work on great projects that allow you to make a huge impact to the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place Ever
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, TXFebruary 1, 2016
This job has opened so many doors for my family. The benefits and wage are amazing, It was very difficult to get on but if you make it you wont regret the long nights.
Pros
40 mins paid break, 30 min lunch, free healthcare
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company growing with Technology
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 30, 2016
General Motors recently in sourced it's IT development and since then their portfolio for technology needs has grown a lot. By putting more money into IT, the company has been able to save money from outsourcing most of their products. The management is great and there are a lot of smart people here. My co workers are both new college hires and seniors so the range of knowledge is nice to learn but also work with peers like in college.The hardest part of the job was getting acquainted with large enterprise tools and projects. I enjoy going in and learning and getting stuff done.
Pros
Car discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start
Regional Vehicle Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Danbury, CTJanuary 27, 2016
GM is a great company to work for,however the division in which i work there is very little opportunity for advancement in pay and position.

Recent budget cuts has caused employees with tenure to not have been adequately compensated for their dedicated effort and support

The working environment is acceptable and the people who work there are personable and easy to communicate with.

The hardest part of the job is multi tasking when high priority events unfold. Some of these are very last minute and you must scramble at times to secure vehicles plating etc.
Pros
8-5 MF
Cons
compensation, benefits, advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering environment
Sr. Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pontiac, MIJanuary 26, 2016
Working for General Motors is a full filling career. A global company with many areas of responsibility which leads to many opportunities.
Pros
A lot of opportunities.
Cons
Benefits are not what they use to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fork lift
Forklift Driver/General Assembler (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJanuary 26, 2016
Friendly team work got laid off the employee was friendly clean work environment. I enjoyed working for general motors
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Material Handling Specialist (Former Employee) –  Lordstown, OHJanuary 24, 2016
love working here have mad lots of friends. miss working there.gm is the best thing that can happen for someone looking to go far with there life.
Pros
good for haveing a family
Cons
hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus oriented for Quality
Customer Quality Engineer - Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJanuary 21, 2016
Consistent Quality Improvement. Consistent vehicle improvement in terms of supplier, engineering and manufacturing. Typical day was spent looking for rising issue in order to protect the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job with great pay
Press Operations Technician (Former Employee) –  Parma, OHJanuary 18, 2016
Day to day work is easy. Very secure company with great pay. I would go back for a permanent position if offered. The company is stable and the people that I worked with were also very good to work with,
Pros
pay
Cons
2 and 3 shift
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Motors
team leader (Former Employee) –  Flint, MIJanuary 18, 2016
Very good wages and Health Care coverage. Overtime was available.
Scheduled paid Holidays. Clean work environment. Health and Safety were stressed in the work environment.
Pros
Health Care and Wages were very good
Cons
Assembly work is very tedious.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Products, Good People
Field Marketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJanuary 15, 2016
Working for an agency whose client was GM was a blast. We got to learn the ins and outs of the vehicles, and make great connections with General Motors.

At times the work was tedious, and things would get lost in translation from time to time, but overall, it was a good group of people who worked hard to get the job done.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Disorganized at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company with long history
Global Supply Chain Risk Management Analyst (Current Employee) –  Warren, MIJanuary 13, 2016
Hesitant for change and innovation, poor talent acquisition - smart people may advance or leave the company; a lot of people who are underqualified play politics and make simple things more difficult to accomplish than necessary. Departments work in silos.
Pros
Great benefit; fame of the organization
Cons
Poor Management; Not a good place to work for in IT
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team leader
Utility Operator/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Moraine, OHJanuary 13, 2016
I enjoyed my position at General Motors. GM was a well organize place to work. I was responsible for thirty-two employee. I maintain the line to run smooth.
Pros
Good job
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large company with wide variety of professional areas of business
Director of Financial Systems (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIJanuary 13, 2016
Great company to work for. Hard to get hired. Also very hard to get promoted upwards. Negotiate the position you really want up front as it will become very difficult to advance once you start the role.
Pros
Large company. Great job securrity. Lateral movement
Cons
Good old boy environment! Too many politics and subjective reviews
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked for a different GM
Manager (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJanuary 5, 2016
I put my heart and soul into GM. My co-workers were the best. The best years of my life. Too many good years and good times shared across an extremely diverse culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great company to work for
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJanuary 4, 2016
Excellent Wages and Benefits, Good atmosphere and opportunities, Positive work atmosphere. I enjoy the team work, and learning to assemble new products. I enjoy working in a technology field.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of good people trying to do good things
Senior District Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 4, 2016
Everyone knows who GM is. What you don't realize is that it is made up of many many good people with families. Family is important at GM.
Pros
security
Cons
political
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GPStrategies/Sandy Group - management non cohesive; good starting place for entry level individuals; no career growth
In-dealership product trainer (Current Employee) –  Dallas/Fort Worth metro and surrounding areasJanuary 4, 2016
Contracted to GM through GPStrategies/Sandy Group -
Pros: self management, home office, travel daily, overnights 4 or 5 nights a month
Con: Company morphed dramatically - lack of cohesive management; job responsibilities changed day to day with no alerts; demands on time and skill sets without proper training; no recompense for addtional responsibilities
Pros
Pros: self management, home office, travel daily, overnights 4 or 5 nights a month
Cons
Con: Company morphed dramatically, lack of cohesive management, job responsibilities changed day to day with no alerts, demands on time and skill sets without proper training, no recompense for addtional responsibilities
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 1,311 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture