Find companies:
GM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,046 reviews

GM United States Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Software Engineer (Former Employee), Detroit, MIApril 17, 2015
Pros: fun
Cons: none
Great workplace environment. Good work life balance. A great IT shop, always evolving when it comes to technology. I enjoy my colleauges. Team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GM factory
Skilled Tradesman-company closed (Former Employee), willow spring il.April 17, 2015
Pros: working in a great company
Cons: plant closed
Day started with suppling stock for jobs of the day,assisting on greating product to shipping dept.Learned how the automotive production is done,made great friend and co-worker,the hardest part of this job is when GM closed the facility.enjoyed every aspect of the business
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is no time to play around is about the businesss
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Arlington, TXApril 16, 2015
keep up with the line, the job is hard to do. co-worker are nice. you leave early. the managers are nice with the employees. the hardest part of the job is that your body hurt at the end of the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place of opportunity
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Flint, MIApril 16, 2015
Pros: Career advancement
Cons: Job Security
Lacked Job Security but excellent room for advancement.. And excellent benefit package. Education opportunities were great because it affords you a chance to reinvent yourself when you are laid off. Only setback is being laid off. otherwise great company to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Java Developer (Former Employee), MIApril 16, 2015
Good place to learn
friendly management,
challenging job,
good perks,helping to co-workers,
The most enjoyble part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for.
Stationary Engineer (Former Employee), West Mifflin, PAApril 14, 2015
Pros: Very good hours and work place.
Cons: location
The work place was managed very well.
There was room for improvement.
Employees were treated fairly.
Very good benefits.
Knowledgeably management, and fellow workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience
Scheduling Coordinator (Former Employee), Rochester, NYApril 13, 2015
Pros: The caferia served good fod
Cons: Rude supervisors
A typical day was busy.

I learned how corporate America operated.

Management was generally isolated from the workers

Co workers were friendly

The most enjoyable part of my job was meeting new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but you need to deal with a ton of politics
GM - Engineering Group Manager (Current Employee), WarrenApril 13, 2015
The days of life long careers at GM are over. They look at each employee as a number not as a true member of the family like many other companies. GM still provides unique experiences and opportunities, just don't plan to work there over your entire career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Productive Place to work
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee), Norcross, GAApril 13, 2015
Pros: Great insurance, great pay
Cons: weekend work
General Motors was a great place to work because I was able to experience what all is involved in making cars. The company provided health care insurance, safe place to work and the people were great to work with. Always helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many oppourtunities
Line Technician (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAApril 10, 2015
I worked for this company for 30 years. I was allowed to receive as much overtime as I wanted. I transferred to many different facilities during my time here. The work was not that challenging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee), Warren, MIApril 9, 2015
Pros: lunch brks, staying clean
Cons: temporary worker, union non factor
I loved worked at GM met some good Co workers and some not being a temp i hated cuz u could be let go anytime like I am now It's hurtful like getting drafted by a pro team an cut for NO reason....good luck temp Temps we only worth our union dues!!!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive great experience fast pace working enviroment
PRODUCTION/MANUFACTURING SUPERVISOR (Former Employee), Warren, MIApril 7, 2015
Pros: LONG HOURS AND OVER TIME
Cons: BUSINESS CLOSED
Review invoice and inventory data sheets.
Supervised employees ensuring staff were in registered areas.
ensuring parts were not defective.
forklift driver
shrinkwrap/load and unload trucks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast past, good pay
MACHINE OPERATOR (Former Employee), Saginaw, MIApril 6, 2015
Working on the machine line which machines are constantly running, a typical day you jump right in for who you are releasing for the work day. Loud fast pace, putting out high numbers in machine parts completed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND SAFE PLACE TO WORK AND IT IS A TEACHING CORPORATION - ON-THE-JOB-TRAINING
MATERIALS BUILD FLOOR STATISTICIAN ANALYST/LIAISON (Former Employee), WARREN, MICHIGANApril 1, 2015
Pros: GREAT COMPENSATION JOURNAL, HOURS, BENEFITS, AND WORK ENVIRONMENT
Cons: SOME OF THE EMPLOYEES CONSTANTLY COMPLAINING
I GIVE GM A 5 STAR RATING BECAUSE WORKING THERE PROVIDE ME WITH A GREAT LIVING FOR MY FAMILY AND AFFORED US THINGS THAT MOST PEOPLE STRUGGLED TO ACQUIRE. I WAS VERY BLESSED WORKING THERE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Team Lead Paul Cooper (Former Employee), Lansing, MIApril 1, 2015
Great job, great pay & for the most part, greatest co-workers. If you like team work & being physically challenged, awesome job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Retired (Former Employee), Massena, NYMarch 30, 2015
Pros: This was just the last part of 30 yr career with GM
Cons: plant closed.
Plant had financial problems. Expanded, hired, laid off closed.
i transfered from another GM facility. Transfers were not particularly welcome.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its been a while
Communications Manager (Former Employee), lansing, niMarch 29, 2015
Its been a few years since I have been there. I was there before the fall from grace. experience depends on where you are in the organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Process Area Lead (Current Employee), Davie, FLMarch 26, 2015
The General Motors LLC corporation is a good place to work. The management is continuing to grow and understand the importance of what the end customer want.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to start your career
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Detroit, MIMarch 24, 2015
Pros: Benefits, work/life balance
Cons: Month-end reporting; office politics
Working at a large global company like GM means you are given plenty of responsibility right off the bat and get put into high-impact, high-visibility roles with the potential to save the company large amounts of money.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, consistent working
Assembly Line Production Worker (Former Employee), Arlington, TXMarch 24, 2015
Installing seat belts in the 3rd row of certain vehicles. i would take breaks every 2.5/hrs until it was time to clock out at 6am.

1 2 3 4 5

About GM

Growth opportunities at GM for talented people are as wide as the world. From the design and engineering of new state-of-the-art – Read more

GM Salaries

Assembler
$45,000 per year
$16.60 per hour
Forklift Operator
$16.79 per hour
Group Leader
$70,000 per year
Sales Manager
$75,000 per year