GM Employee Reviews in United States

Found 1,360 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for some, but not for everyone
Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Warren, OH 44481March 25, 2016
You will work from 40 to 48 hours (5 to 6, 8-hour days) per week depending on the demand and what shift you are on. The management turnover rate seemed pretty high, but they responded well to issues in my experience. Your experience will depend highly on the location of your job and the people around you. For the most part co-workers are nice and helpful, but there are plenty of rotten apples at a place like that as well.
Pros
Yearly bonus for full-time employees, union, benefits
Cons
short breaks, gossiping, long work-weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes11No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive - traditional manufacturing environment
Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Wentzville, MOMarch 31, 2016
Poor Job work/life balance - average about one weekend off a month with some days that equal over 12 hours. Typical manufacturing environment, all emphasis is put on running production. You almost have sell your soul for a vacation. The most enjoyable part of this is the money. GM does compensate you very well but money only goes so far when you never see your family.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Too many hours - one weekend off a month
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good start
Regional Vehicle Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Danbury, CTJanuary 27, 2016
GM is a great company to work for,however the division in which i work there is very little opportunity for advancement in pay and position.

Recent budget cuts has caused employees with tenure to not have been adequately compensated for their dedicated effort and support

The working environment is acceptable and the people who work there are personable and easy to communicate with.

The hardest part of the job is multi tasking when high priority events unfold. Some of these are very last minute and you must scramble at times to secure vehicles plating etc.
Pros
8-5 MF
Cons
compensation, benefits, advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent 9-5, not remotely challenging
Big Data Integration Developer (Current Employee) –  Roswell, GAApril 5, 2016
Pros:
Work-life balance is generally excellent: easy 9-5.
Great benefits, plenty of time off.

Cons:
Archaic technology. Your skills will deteriorate here.
Poor buildings.
Management does not focus on individual development at all.
Rigid promotion process.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, Great place to work
Welder/Assembler/Fork Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Swartz Creek, MIMarch 31, 2016
I was fortunate enough to work at 8 GM facilities throughout a 35 year career. My co-workers were great, and would always help when you were learning a new job. Management and hourly employees had their differences, but at the end of the day, we usually worked things out.
Pros
great pay and benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes2No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest, no ethics
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Milford, MIDecember 26, 2015
Management are Monday morning quarterbacks and have no clue.
They force you to watch integrity videos and can you say "Ignition Switch". That's just the tip of the iceberg. Don't bother ever going to Powertrain HR, they are just as bad. Still a good ole boys club. Be a YES man and you'll be OK, but underpaid. Left and got 20% more in salary and better retirement immediately. Several people I worked with left and received the same deal. GM thinks they own you and are the greatest. What made GM great is gone. The new management and engineering ideas will begin to show.
Pros
Was a good company, HR is ruining it.
Cons
No accountability for Powertrain management. Mine did not show up for years and HR did not care!!
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was strictly repetitive in nature and not enjoyable.
Assemblyman (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 7, 2016
Working on the assembly line installing instrument panels was repetitive and not enjoyable. My intention when I went to GM was to get hired into skill trades but in-spite of qualifications and passing required examinations, I never got that opportunity.
Pros
Compensation and benefits were adequate.
Cons
Advancement opportunities were limited.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits and room for advancement
Industrial Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOFebruary 26, 2016
GM has a diversified work force with market leading standardized work and a brilliant management staff. The pay is top notch and there is always room for advancement, if so desired. Procedures are strict and there is some friction between the union and the management.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Short breaks albeit paid
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXApril 1, 2016
Love the company and the opportunities that are available. However, management within my team is not the best, and has made the experience not as great or effective. Wonderful benefits and perks.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with great benifits
Vehical Implementation (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEDecember 4, 2015
Working as a VIT member a typical day start with a meeting with my supervisor,The day's tasks would be different every day because of the many responsibilities I had ,but usually it would be meeting or two in the morning on equipment placement, and job set ups .Phone calls to vendors on material, design,and delivery. Part of the day was in the engineering department designing production aides for the paint department which I had access to cad and other designing tools. Time in the path teach lab of the paint department to program robots to paint cars. Sometimes a meeting a the end of a day for developing changes that occurred during the day.
Pros
great wages and benifits
Cons
noise, grime, summer heat
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited opportunity and narrow focus
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIMarch 3, 2016
Poor communication between management and staff. Not willing to entertain transfer to suitable position. Required training insufficient and not timely. Lack of direction and training. Salary/Benefits (average).
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive good company to work for
Quality Inspector / Production Assembly Worker (Former Employee) –  Doraville, GAFebruary 18, 2016
Excellent growing company with many advancements and opportunities. Enjoy working with people , it was a team concept facility, where each team rotated jobs every hour.
Pros
good wages and benifits
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes7No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Skilled Tradesman (Former Employee) –  Moraine, OHMarch 13, 2016
Love my Job but plant closed after I worked there 16 years. Would have worked there until I retired. Miss friends and coworkers.
Pros
Great pay and benefits.Good people.
Cons
Inside work no windows.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering environment
Sr. Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Pontiac, MIJanuary 26, 2016
Working for General Motors is a full filling career. A global company with many areas of responsibility which leads to many opportunities.
Pros
A lot of opportunities.
Cons
Benefits are not what they use to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too Much work and no overtime
architect (Former Employee) –  warrenSeptember 9, 2015
GM has its pros and cons. It hires as an employee and gives good benefits. The compensation is above average. The bad part is the management is corrupt and outsourced many things to ireland. IF you are in IT, you will report to Irish managers. They work only eight hours due to their countries laws, but will make you work nearly 16-20 hours a day including weekends without any overtime. The American employees are discriminated. All promotion, education and goodies are given to Irish employees. The American worker will be working and saluting the irish boss just to be replaced once the irish learn your job.
Pros
good compensation and benifits. Great technology
Cons
Irish management treats american workers as second class citizen
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked with some great people
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIJanuary 29, 2016
Working as a Production Supervisor can be quite rewarding and the compensation is good. The quality of life is not for a person who has a family and wants to see them. Off shifts are why I left.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
off shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding Work Environment
General Motors Employee (Current Employee) –  Warren, MINovember 23, 2015
The automotive environment is competitive and demanding. The hardest part of my job is balancing the information demands of my many customers. Typical day is 8-10 hours, I eat at my desk because workload is so demanding. Daily meetings, because were global you will be on the phone at night. Great co-workers.
Pros
Compensation
Cons
Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place Ever
Package Handler (Current Employee) –  Roanoke, TXFebruary 1, 2016
This job has opened so many doors for my family. The benefits and wage are amazing, It was very difficult to get on but if you make it you wont regret the long nights.
Pros
40 mins paid break, 30 min lunch, free healthcare
Cons
night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Prductivity efficient work place, diversity,
Production Supervisor retired from Fairfax Plant (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, KSDecember 9, 2015
along with keeping production goals, and finding continuous improvement, being able to work and with a variety of personalities and people issues, conflicts were challenging but somewhat enjoyable resolving people issues.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
being relocated the last few years, with less than 30 day notice
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great company to work for
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJanuary 4, 2016
Excellent Wages and Benefits, Good atmosphere and opportunities, Positive work atmosphere. I enjoy the team work, and learning to assemble new products. I enjoy working in a technology field.
Was this review helpful?Yes14No6Report

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,762 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0