Find companies:
GM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
915 reviews

GM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Material Handler (Former Employee), Moraine, OHOctober 28, 2014
Pros: the money
Cons: hours
We all had a good time as long as our jobs were done. Gm Supervisors were also good to their workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall very satisfying work experience
autoworker (Former Employee), Warren, OHOctober 27, 2014
Pros: good medical benefits and wages
Cons: long work hours and very physically and emotionally challenging work
Very personal and family oriented workplace.My coworkers were like family because of the way we worked with each other.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supervision
Crane operator (Former Employee), Grand Rapids, MIOctober 25, 2014
Pros: good place to work
Cons: rush jobs can be hairly
Get the job done safe if getting a boss who knows nothing about how things work can be *********
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
machine repair, parts orgainzer (Former Employee), Lansing, MIOctober 24, 2014
enjoyed working for gm 34 years worked in many plants shifts and employees. repaired and help machines work better threw the years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
different than previous places
Security Officer (Part-Time) (Former Employee), Massena, NYOctober 24, 2014
worked security part time for 3 years. workers there were very friendly. i was glad to have the experience there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good while it lasted. Too bad plant closed.
Electrical First Line Supervisor (Former Employee), Doraville, GAOctober 24, 2014
Pros: lots ot even for supervisors, we got ot pay too!
Cons: long hours
Great folks to work with! Too bad place closed. Learning curve for GM. Honda, Toyota made better cars at that time. GM was behind the game when it came to Total Manufacturing system. It is not the technology, it's the people that make the cars! It took management time to figure that out, but it got to late when you lose sales to the other. Hey I am – more... a consumer too! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job you could recomen others to the GM team
Material Handler (Former Employee), Livonia, MI Great joy great pay easy to get toOctober 23, 2014
Pros: payed personal holidays
Cons: if you don"t get to work early you have to park far
Great place to work have great benefits work place was clean you never had to worry about getting to dirty GM was also a pretty safe place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of enployment
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee), Indianapolis IndianaOctober 23, 2014
Pros: great working inviroment with productive workers
Cons: noise
Very good clean atmosphere, Great co-workers and supv. to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BEST JOBS of my life!
GM Retiree April (Former Employee), Milford Proving Grounds & other locationsOctober 21, 2014
Pros: advancement opportunities
Cons: union workers hard to deal with
Working with PROFESSIONALS was the best part of working at General Motors. The hardest part of my job(s) was working with hourly UNION workers, many not wanting to work but make your life hard to get your job done. (5%) 95% were hard working people just like me wanting to a secure future for themselves and their families.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Little opportunity for advancement
Functional Development Lead - Finance Analytics (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MIOctober 21, 2014
Pros: emerging industry
Cons: lack of high-performing managers
GM does not provide much opportunity for advancement. The managers also have significant deficiencies with respect to effectively managing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very good benefits
Assembly line worker (Former Employee), shreveport, LaOctober 19, 2014
Very fast paced. Schedule allows for family time and work to be balanced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people good pay
Retired Millwright (Former Employee), shreveport LAOctober 15, 2014
Pros: 4 10 hour days
Cons: plant closed
excellent, worked with skilled people, good bosses, and good benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
already did this review.
Production and Engineering Supervisor (Current Employee), Toledo OHOctober 15, 2014
Have a bad boss. Don't want to work here anymore to do his behaviors. I've gone to personnel with no gains.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
already did this review.
Production and Engineering Supervisor (Current Employee), Toledo OHOctober 15, 2014
Have a bad boss. Don't want to work here anymore to do his behaviors. I've gone to personnel with no gains.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Project coordinating skills
Program Manager (Former Employee), Warren, MIOctober 14, 2014
Organizational ability
Forecasting
Budgeting
Timing
Getting jobs done on time
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 13, 2014
I have learned a lot working in the automotive industry for General Motors. Management is on top of things, a very knowledgeable group of people work at GM from different backgrounds. The work environment can be stressful due to the nature of manufacturing, but this also makes the job very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Paced Work Place
Manager and Supervisor (Former Employee), Marion, INOctober 13, 2014
Pros: interesting career
This was a great position in the Mid West. The people were the reason I enjoyed this job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive business-professional environment.
CUSTOMER SERVICE LIASION (Former Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 13, 2014
Pros: working in a business-professional environment, pushing and learning the litigation realm.
Daily I would receive litigation cases from attorneys to be condensed into PDF files to be sanctioned into court, Creating disks that make it easier for attorneys to access pertinent information to help their case. Create work order for document duplication to Xerox Corp., Assist and facilitate meetings discussing the reproduction of documents and what – more... to quality control check. I learned public speaking on a broad spectrum in a career-diverse driven area, how to work with career professionals. The team I worked with was great-we worked together and accomplished daily goals and met specifications and standards of the Security Exchange Commission (SEC). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,but at the same time having fun while working
Assembly Line Operator (Former Employee), Arlington, TXOctober 12, 2014
Pros: when there is overtime offered and sometimes double time. benefits.
Cons: lay-offs, hiring temps and keeping with no benefits
Coming in getting work supplies and PPE ready before you jump right in on the line. The line doesn't stop between shifts. You know what you have to do and you just do it. You work, talk with your colleagues, play and listen to music. Having a good night when the line runs smoothly with no break downs or out or parts or when the line is just down for – more... 2 to 3 hours. Not a good night when the line runs for a little while then stops for a little while and so forth for the better part of the night. The Lead checks on everyone for bathroom breaks when needed. Management making rounds checking on everyone and answering questions you might have for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great work place
Electrician (Former Employee), Lordstown, OHOctober 12, 2014
Pros: great lunch breaks
Cons: great health insurance
When I was call on a job I was there to fix. i was happy to work with my co-worker we work together

About GM

Growth opportunities at GM for talented people are as wide as the world. From the design and engineering of new state-of-the-art – Read more