Find companies:
GM
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
737 reviews

GM Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very productive place, fun and I learned how the bodies of cars are made
Team Operator I (Former Employee), Flint, MIMarch 8, 2014
Pros: the co-wokers, pay rate, fitness center in the plant, my supervisor and learing how it felt to work in a shop.
Cons: when the seniorties use there years in the shop as a scape goat.
I was assigned to the East Pool of the plant. The supervisor picked what line we would be working on by seniority. The lines that I worked on rotated. I would inspect the part as it come out the press, scuff the part to make sure there was no damage, tag the part and rack them. My co-workers where very helpful. The hardest part was lifting the body – more... size trucks with the hoist. The enjoyable part was going into work and not having my hand held. Once I got the hang of things they left me on my own. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
auto maker
Manufacturing laborer (Former Employee), Norwood, OHMarch 6, 2014
forklift, cnc, assembly, crane operator.Built cars on a large scale assembly line about 60 cars an hour
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start a career
Quality & Compliance Logistics Manager (Former Employee), Grand Blanc, MIMarch 4, 2014
Wonderful company and amazing ability to train employees. Good place to start a career and have potential for advancement. Will work with you to try to meet your career advancement needs. Can be very Old Boy's network at times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Convergys/-Subscriber & Welcome Call Advisor (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCMarch 4, 2014
Pros: gift card for working overtime
Cons: no room for advancement
work not hard but it was hard to get time off. lots of overtime available
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun!!
Configuation Management (Former Employee), Torrance, CAMarch 4, 2014
Pros: was a great company
Cons: making the move to michigan
Was a very good company to work for, unfortunitly they decided to move our Torrance office to Michigan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to Work
Temporary employee (Former Employee), Ypsilanti, MIMarch 4, 2014
Great training and skill set building provided.
Basic line worker installing transmission parts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production
Mech-tech (Former Employee), Spring hill, TNMarch 4, 2014
Assembly of doors and installation of gas tank. Assembly line production 10 hour shifts. Overtime was available and very fast paced.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Spring Hill, TNMarch 3, 2014
Pros: networking, acess to cars, training classes
Cons: age gap between employees, long hours
I loved working for GM! My time there was spent focusing on learning and developing new skills. My typical day was spend partially at my desk learning new software and the second half was spent on the shop floor observing and learning about how the work done in the office directly effects the production floor. My co-workers were amazing and promoted – more... learning they did not just brush me off because i was an intern. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work environment
Machine Operator (Former Employee), Roanoke, InMarch 2, 2014
I always entered the building in a positive, upbeat fashion. Most of everyone that I came into contact with embraced and shared the same enjoyment. I learned how to build a truck, I have a greater understanding of team work. The hardest part of my job was ensuring the everything I put my name on was quality. when trucks are moving down the line, sometimes – more... its hard to view the entire truck for defects, and that's what I liked to do, view it as a whole not just the part that I worked on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Team environment
Powertrain Engineer (Former Employee), Pontiac, MIMarch 2, 2014
Pros: work environment
Cons: too many politics
GM was a good place to work. Friendly co-workers and reasonable management. Unfortunately advancement is done only through political connections.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You don't know how good Corporate benefits are until you don't have them
Area, Training, Facilitator, Sales/Service Mgr (Former Employee), Detroit, MIMarch 1, 2014
Pros: pay and benefits
For a major corporate employer, GM was one of the best. Although I worked for them prior to GM bankruptcy, and I cannot say I agreed with most of their decisions, it was a good bureaucratic corporation to be employed with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Hard work, Nice income, retirement
Retired (Former Employee), Orion, MIFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: close to home, secure, secure company.
Cons: very hard work, but worth it.
Friendly, hard working employees. Clean working areas. Friendly Managers. Technical, fast paced, electrical checking on moving assembly line. I enjoyed the security, and fair pay for a fair days work,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Any job is like a ping pong table you will have good or bad jobs
Machine Operator/jobsetter/fork truck (Former Employee), Detroit, MIFebruary 21, 2014
Every day was the same at times,there was times I learned new things in running other machines. There was always things to learn like operating truck, overhead cranes. Everyone I work with like any place you have friendly and unfriendly but most were always willing to help out. Most of my bosses were nice to work with and if I needed help they would – more... help or get me someone to help me. The only hard part of any job is the starting to learn a new job. I guess having a job and learning new and different things is enjoyable about any job, no matter what you do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place good money
Parts picker (Former Employee), Roanoke, TXFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: great money, benefits great people
I worked manily in the overpack area which is the small parts of the plant such as keys, bulbs, starters, flywheels etc... the day started with a group meeting letting us know how heavy or light the day would be, then we would get to it with scanning our tickets and picking the correct parts, we had a parts per hour we had to keep i would ususally be – more... well above the number. I also was in bulk the heavy parts such as hoods, side paneling, wheel rims etc... Also was on the dock where when parts or the truck was done and all parts were id load it up – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I loved most about GM
Manager, Development Factory, GMAC, MIC Division (Former Employee), Southfield, MIFebruary 18, 2014
General Motors is at it's core an automotive company and I LOVE cars! But what I loved even more was the diversity in everything. The global experiences were some of the very best in my career, changing my perspective of the world, my place in it and causing me to want to travel internationally with my kids to introduce them to the various cultures! – more... Such a wonderful opportunity! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always learning
G.M.B (Former Employee), Sao caetano do SulFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: always learning different processes
Cons: too far from my home
Very good organization to grow and develop your engineering skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever!!
Automotive Paint Department Technician (Former Employee), Lake Orion, MIFebruary 12, 2014
All I can say about GM is it was the best job I ever had. The people, the benefits, the pay was great!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company, always busy
Senior Supervisor (Former Employee), Warren MichiganFebruary 12, 2014
Loved my jobs there nice people always willing to help. Liked learning new things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best automobile company in big 3
Internship (Former Employee), Pontiac, MIFebruary 11, 2014
nice culture and long history
difficult to get promotion for entry-level engineers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Validation Engineer (Current Employee), Warren, MIFebruary 10, 2014
As a contractor however, it is hard to move into a full time direct position.

About GM

Growth opportunities at GM for talented people are as wide as the world. From the design and engineering of new state-of-the-art – Read more