Gainey Transportation Services, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 24 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to Travel.
Truck Driver Class A permit. (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIFebruary 16, 2017
hard worker give 100% people person. Like to travel.

love my d.m love driving an seeing the country. made lot of money. very good company..
Pros
Money.
Cons
weather.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bankrupt
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 5, 2016
The company culture was appalling. No wonder they went bankrupt. I expect the same of their venture with Super Service.
Pros
driving trucks
Cons
pencil pusher bosses
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Miles
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 1, 2016
Would go back to this place if it was the last place on Earth.. It dont get you home on time, and keep you sitting all week ends.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not really
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 5, 2015
Out of business. But it was a grate place to work till they file bankruptcy, DM was very good a lot of miles. Grate home time over all good DM.
Pros
None
Cons
Good
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gainey Trans. a good place to get started in trucking.
Contract Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSOctober 26, 2015
Gainey Trans. is a good place to get started in trucking,and get some experience.Management is professional,and capable.
This is a good job for a single person who has no kids. Not so much for a person who has a family. I was only at home for 2 &1/2 days once every 1 and 1/2 months. I worked a full 70 hours every week.
And after taxes i only brought home about $500 a week.
Pros
Easy way to get a class a license
Cons
long hours, low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Safety Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 29, 2015
ok place to work, nice co workers, nice mechanics. equipment alright as well old technology.this place is no longer in business.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over the road was very tough
Over the road truck driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 9, 2014
The days are all the same. Pick up trailers and dropped off shipment. I learned how to drive tractor/trailer. They were going out of business so no one cared about anybody. Co-workers were terrible everyone looking out for themselves. Never being home as promised. I did like touching ground in 38 states.
Pros
learned how to drive tractor/trailer and getting my cdl-a license
Cons
Never being home for my family
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the most helpfull/pleasent work environment
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 11, 2014
Working for gainey was probably the toughest job ive had. Not enough work, always pressuring drivers to perform beyond their legal ability to do so
Pros
cant really think of any
Cons
all the above reasons
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No miles
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 20, 2014
I worked for them for a month and sat more than drove. Made $1000.00 for one months work
Pros
No pros
Cons
All cons
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being on the road
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 16, 2013
You got see different place and meet different people it great place work for the hardest part is keeping all your books up to date
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job and company in my life
OTR driver (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cucamonga, CAOctober 2, 2013
Pressured to violate DOT hours of service, underpaid, had to quit to get home on a bus!
Pros
none
Cons
Lies, Lies, Lies
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company i ever worked for.
Owner/Operator-OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids,MiAugust 24, 2013
I would have still been working there, If it wasn't for the owner opps getting laid off. I was planning on being there for a very long time.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in a manufactoer warehouse
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 15, 2013
Warehouse environment. Hot in the summer cold in the winter
Pros
Meet people daily
Cons
No control of keeping the truck drivers
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
over the road truck driver
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 5, 2013
drive over the road folling all state and federal laws and make deliverives on time
Pros
lot of driving time
Cons
no home time
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A company for a single entry level driver.
Solo Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 20, 2013
The company was going through a change of ownership, and the drivers suffered due the lack of miles driven. The inconsistencies in pay took a toll on me and my financial responsibilities. I found myself stuck in place in place for sometimes three days waiting for a load. I most enjoyed making friends along the way, some I am still in contact with today.
Pros
I was job closer to home.
Cons
Pay varied from week to week due to lack of mile given by dispatchers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They Take Advantage Of Their Employees
Trainee OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 12, 2013
Attended Gainey Transportation Truck Driving School. Received Training for and received a Class A CDL. Completed 80 hours of class and driving time. Drove 10,000 OTR miles with company trainer before deciding to change to regional driving.
Pros
None
Cons
only paid .22 per mile, Spent A great Deal Of Time Away From Home
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 22, 2013
enjoyed out over the road and local runs, it was a good job to work for. It was good experience to get from this company.
Pros
job
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 26, 2012
Always on the go.
A lot about people.
Very good.
Hard workers
Always on the go.
Payday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gainey was tough to work for cause you had difficulty getting home.
over the road truck driver (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJuly 20, 2012
The pay at .385 cpm was above average but other pay like layover, drop, load and unload pay was little or none
Pros
they have a terminal in atlanta area
Cons
trailer maintenance was so bad you did not know what you were picking up
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average place to work
Various Manager Positions (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 8, 2012
busy work day. Learned many things about transportation. Management was to be desired, lied to employess constantly. Same with co-workers, back stabbers.
Cons
health care, work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Gainey Transportation Services, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.7
Culture
2.8

Gainey Transportation Services, Inc. Reviews by Location