Find companies:
GameStop
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,177 reviews

GameStop Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but depends on individual store's Management.
Game Advisor (Former Employee), Indio, CASeptember 18, 2014
I enjoyed coming into work to be able to be around the video games. While reservation numbers and membership signups are important they will come naturally with great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was just an "OK" job
Gaming Advisor (Former Employee), Meridian, MSSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: co-workers and customers
Cons: hours and management
Working at GameStop was fun but I feel like the management could have been a little bit better. My manager was almost always on break and pretty much left all of the work to the Assistant Manager and the Gaming Advisors. Also, the hours were pretty bad. They were constantly cut down. The most enjoyable part of the job were the games and being able to – more... talk to the different customers that walked in. It was really fun working with my co-workers as well. I've learned a lot about retail while I was there. I learned if you engage customers in a conversation about the merchandise, that they are more likely to buy something. So basically I learned how to make sales. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible part-time scheduling, hard work shows results
Game Advisor (Former Employee), ‘Aiea, HISeptember 16, 2014
15% off of most products plus an extra 10% with their rewards card made for a decent benefit, especially if one plays as many games as I do. Part-timers will usually get the short end of the stick in the off months of summer but come winter time when game developers start bringing out the big games for the Holiday Season, you will get all the hours – more... you could want from a part time job. I had only worked there for 9 months before their offered me a promotion opportunity. They said that they were always looking for people who showed management potential. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gamestop for the holidays
Assistant (Former Employee), Queens, NYSeptember 16, 2014
I usually put games in alphabetical order
The manages were nice and strict
My co workers worked great as a team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with video games, Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: rent out merchandise, easy-going, fun
Cons: healthcare, hours
My typical day at work would be arriving as scheduled and performing the tasks a sales associate would do. Throughout the day I would work the register and maintained a neat, and organized showroom. Stock shelves and call or find specific merchandise the a customer needed. Management was friendly, helpful, supportive, and professional. Co-workers where – more... fun, positive, helpful, and polite. The hardest part was going into the backroom and finding the merchandise. The enjoyable part was I got to rent out games and have fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place environment, and the customers
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Northvale, NJSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: discount on games, free games
Cons: the pay is low, and no overtime
The customer is the number one in this place, talking about products and games with them is the best part of working here. The environment in this place is great since, I have the best staff employees working for me. The store performance is great cause everyone is working in their potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment with nice co-workers, and gaming.
Game Advisor (Former Employee), San Benito, TXSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: nice co-workers and the gaming environment.
Cons: it was a seasonal job.
Depending on the shift I might just help in opening, closing, or just walking in to do customer service. Either we are busy helping customers and attending to them or keeping busy at having the store look presentable and in order. I learned better customer service skills.

They have good management and co-workers are both nice. The hardest part of the – more... job is having only worked for the holiday season I didn't get enough work time to get into a routine of learning more in cashier part of the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was greeting, and helping the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GameStop is a great company to work for. Fun, friendly, customer serviece focused environment.
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: flexible scheduling
Cons: no overtime.
A typical day at work would involve me doing a lot of administrative tasks in- between engaging my customers and ringing up sales through the reger. I learn different ways to interact with my customers, as well as how to mentor/ lead my team sccessfully on a daily basis.The hardest part of my job is not being able to get the overtime that I want. I – more... enjoy working my associates the most because we ry have a great team that works together for the success of our store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love It !
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CASeptember 9, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: i was only seasonal
If you a gamer you will be in heaven! Talking to other gamers and debating about games conversation last for hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There and back again
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), BrooklynSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: great work enviornment
Cons: not much upward mobility
I worked for Gamestop in my early 20's, and I have recently found myself employed with them once again. Not much has changed, as a typical day of work includes handling multiple customers, multitasking, managing the money and inventory, and making quick decisions on which tasks need to handled first.

My manager is amazing and she is the main reason – more... I work as hard as I do. In such a huge company where the upper management has no idea who we are, my manager always makes sure to thank us for our efforts.

The hardest and most enjoyable part of the day is the customers. Sometimes you get people that nothing in the world could ensure that they have a good experience in our store, but that is very far and few. I have great conversations with lots of our customers, and love seeing the regulars come in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance of customer service and many tasks
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, ColoradoSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: helping people, decent discount, good in-store managers.
Cons: no hours for tasks, unreliable employees.
My time at GameStop was overall okay. The best part of the job was the customer service. Being able to help people out by finding what they need and having them leave happy was always the most enjoyable part of the job. Co-workers were unreliable, except for the store manager. It was difficult to find someone to cover a shift, or if we were given extra – more... hours, it was hard to find someone to take them. Upper management would hound us for tasks that had strict deadlines, but didn't give us sufficient time or hours to complete them in a manageable time frame, while still focusing on customer experience . I learned a lot from my time at GameStop, all from the great store managers I had; From cash management to making a schedule. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Job
Game Advisor (Former Employee), Wilmington, NCSeptember 6, 2014
Fast paced
Lots of customer interaction
A large amount of information to learn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you love games
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Arlington,TxSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: dicounts on games.
Cons: dont pay much.
Gamestop is a very nice place to work at but my only problem is the pay and the hours. You don't get paid that much and nor do you get too many hours as well, but as far as the company overall, its fun to work there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
watching and playing video games
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Fullerton, CASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: working with video games
work regular 8 hr shifts
learned about different game consoles
management was fun
co-workers were hilarious
the hardest part was keeping up sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, quick paced and demanding.
Game Advisor (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PASeptember 4, 2014
Pros: discounts!
Cons: awful hours.
Personally my favorite job. It had a lot of customers coming and going, I got to meet a lot of different people.

Organized shelves, and drawers, alphabetically.
Worked Register.
Swept, and vacuumed floor.

Co workers where fun, and light hearted. Easy to be around.
Hardest part was quickly and efficiently organizing shelves

The most enjoyable was – more... the Cashiering. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty useless
Advisor (Current Employee), Los AngelesSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: can borrow free games, discounts
Cons: everything else
Typical minimum wage retail except with flimsier hours, nothing special
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GAming consultant
Game Consultant (Former Employee), Goodlettsville, TNSeptember 3, 2014
its usually expected to work less than 20 hours maybe 4 a week if you are lucky
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Door to Door Sales
Cashier (Former Employee), Westminster, CASeptember 2, 2014
Went door to door explaining the benefits of alarms and would give presentations in peoples home
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun great place to work
Game Advisor (Former Employee), Watertown, WISeptember 1, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, flexible scheduling.
Cons: not a lot of hours
Great place to work. Fun fast-paced environment. Great co-workers, very helpful when being trained. Very good management, very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment, but lacks in it's reputation to people
Game Advisor (Current Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: good discount, rent merchandise, flexible schelude
Cons: lack of hours, get fired for almost anything, up selling, bad manaement
Greeting customers and assisting them with information and or prices for store merchandise, filing games and assist with replacing marketing advertisements. I learned a lot of things here, dealing with customers and co-workers to multitask, detail oriented, produce a better sales culture to influence people on the perks and benefits of current offers – more... and promotions. The hardest part of my job is trying to convince people to buy or reserve store items, as a company they believe in sale sale sale and setting a sales quota as a daily goal, but they forget about the one thing that matters the most, the customer. I feel as though I harass my customers no matter how good my customer service and this is to be expected. Everyone is not into video games as the next person and do not want what we try to promote, that is exactly why we are promoting it. My co-workers was efficient in what tasks they did on a daily basis due to the fact that have the time for it, they are also willing to help you on anything needed, well most were but there is some backlash with certain managers because they go strictly by the rules, but there are flaws in everyone and they tend to forget that, even when they make a mistake or they are unaware of the situation.I had two people that made certain mistakes, one influenced another and made himself to look like the victim in the workplace for not handling his workload. Another person left traded merchandise on the end of the counter, my manager stressed this to me a lot but not only did the person fail to follow protocol but the merchandise was stolen as well, usually a person should get written up for this or at least get a warning but this person was a store manager so there only option is getting written up but that goes to show how people are in the workplace but in regards I had my flaws too but I didn't let that get me down. I love greeting and interacting with customers, it gives me a chance to interact with people to talk about what people love to do. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About GameStop

GameStop holds the top score in video game retailing. Operating under the GameStop, EB Games, and Micromania banners, it's the – Read more