Gannett Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 269 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple and Diverse work area
Mailroom Newspaper Handler (Former Employee) –  Springfield, VAAugust 9, 2016
Employee diversity and fast-paced work environment for simple hands-on approaches to work; there were an abundance of unhealthy Supervisor-to-Employee relationships however.
Pros
Flexible hours, fairly simple work tasks
Cons
Bare minimum work conditions, low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outbound Sales Representative
Outbound Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYApril 30, 2016
I honestly cannot say anything bad about my job at Gannett. I've been there for almost 7 years and this job has basically given me my life in Louisville. I've made a lot of friends there and I love so many things about it, but I've just reached a point where I need to see what else is out there.
Pros
The benefits
Cons
People are not very nice to telemarketers
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always challenging, never a dull moment
Director/Technical Director (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 15, 2016
Broadcast industry is a shrinking market so cuts have been made along the way but overall the job itself is fun and busy. Everyday you meet someone new that are guest on the show.
Pros
Meeting zoo animals and celebrities.
Cons
Shrinking industry
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of benefits and job security
Shipping Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Fond du Lac, WIAugust 13, 2015
I enjoyed the people I worked with but the benefits were too expensive and raises were nonexistent. Lost money every year I worked there.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gannett
Business Development (Current Employee) –  New York, NYMay 26, 2016
Gannett consists of 107 media companies across the United States. The opportunities to flex your skills and take leadership of issues that will have impact across the organization is significant with those who seek them out.
Pros
Collaborative Work Environment
Cons
Industry pressure on media companies
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed Atmosphere
Account Executive Outside Sales (Current Employee) –  Green Bay, WIAugust 16, 2016
A typical day at work is come in to office then go out on cold calls or appointments then end the day back at the office. Management will micromanage you if you're not at goal but relaxed if you're doing what you're suppose to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, downtown Indy location, good people, challenging. Pay could be better.
Recruitment Consultant (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 5, 2016
The DESC at Gannett is a fun and challenging work environment. Pay is not what it needs to be though. There are opportunities for advancement. Goal setting for commission seems to need a little fine tuning.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was out of touch
Outside Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, MDFebruary 11, 2016
The job was exciting and fulfilling, however, management was not open to new ideas and cultivating a quality work environment where employees could work in a fashion that felt as if management trusted in the competence of the empoyees.
Pros
Freedom to pursue accounts and clientele of choice
Cons
Oout of touch management
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company continually reorganizes and lays-off
Director Of Insights & Analytics (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 12, 2015
Company offers below average compensation and benefits are average. Work culture is negative. The industry is decline.
Pros
able to work at home
Cons
no job stability
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low wages and excessive overtime, combined with corporate shakeups created a poisonous work environment
Graphic Artist (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 13, 2015
This is where creativity goes to die. You're expected to work on 30 ads a day, or more so, you are working ridiculous amounts of OT with no raises, we are paid ridiculously less than the average pay for a job like this. Its a poor environment. No wonder we lost 20+ people in the past 3 months
Pros
great insurance
Cons
short breaks, 10 months straight of mandatory 5-10 hours of OT
Was this review helpful?Yes11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but compensation in relation to goals lack
Key Accounts Executive (Current Employee) –  Monroe, LAJune 7, 2016
Fun place to work but compensation in relation to goals lack. Goal expectation is unrealistic in comparison to the total amount you have to sell
Pros
innovative products
Cons
goal expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only work here if you can not get any thing else
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  VirginiaMay 12, 2016
As a contractor, I did a very good job, beyond what was expected, but management needed training, the company and most of the co-workers need three things:
1. Integrity
2. Humanity
3. Respect
Pros
You have a job
Cons
No: Respect for each other including management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gannett
REGIONAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  York, PANovember 20, 2015
I worked for the newspaper for nine years. However, when Gannett purchased it from Digital First Media, they reduced staff massively across the board. Many people have lost their jobs and there is little that is handled locally. The managers that are remaining have done little to improve working conditions or profits.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
NO job security, management is very incompetent
Was this review helpful?Yes12No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and People
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJune 2, 2016
Great people and benefits, always receptive to new ideas, always provided training or resources to improve position and skills. Always looked forward to work.
Pros
Benefits and people
Cons
Occasionally stressful deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Environment
Account Executive/Inside Sales (Current Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLMay 1, 2016
Great team atmosphere, excellent leadership and management, supportive co-workers, competitive sales environment, goal oriented sales process, advanced and continuing training program. The company really invests in it's employees from day one.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough management support and training.
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAMay 16, 2016
It was not an easy place to make a living. Employee turn over made it difficult to build lasting relationships with clients. In the beginnning we should have ben given more one on one training with our manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place i guess
Retention specialist (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYAugust 6, 2016
typical call center job they harass you abt call times and only pay you pennies on the dollar for the work you do but the hourly is decent enough I guess
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Account Executive
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MIJuly 7, 2016
Great place to work.... Great management style. Wonderful employee attitudes. They take care of their employees. Employees have had a positive experience
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Project Manager Intern (Former Employee) –  McLean, VAJuly 18, 2016
Chilled out. Great people to work with. Relaxed environment. good management. Laid back - sometimes a little too much for their own good
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I ever worked for!
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Des Moines, IAJune 28, 2016
This company offers no pay increases. There not LGBT friendly and treat their employees like cattle.
Pros
Parking
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 269 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.5
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9