GAP Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 4,118 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bronx, NYJuly 21, 2017
A typical day at work involes me folding clothes, helping customers , and pretty much doing what ever my supervisor needed me to do. I learned how to deal with all kinds of people working here. I learned how to cheer people up when they having a bad day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gap Inc
Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Westfield, NJJuly 21, 2017
I was working part time here after I went back into the work force. It gave me the opportunity to get back into the groove after being away for so long.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of employment
Merchandiser/Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 21, 2017
Gap Inc. is a great place to work if you're willing to grow in retail. There's numerous of opportunities for you to move up with the company and establish a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Sales/Clerk (Former Employee) –  Boca Raton, FLJuly 20, 2017
The managers seem to care and are flexible with the schedules. Everyone seems friendly and help new staff get acquainted with the floor and sales tactics.
Pros
good job for people going to school that need a flex schedule
Cons
lack of benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No security
Supervisor/Lead (Current Employee) –  Buffalo, NYJuly 20, 2017
Recently left another career to join Gap with promises of longevity and retention.. Months later told of management restructure and loss of positions.
Pros
discount, work life balance
Cons
no job security, short payroll and employee help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent College Job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Grandville, MIJuly 20, 2017
Great atmosphere that promoted teamwork and individual creativity. Friendly management for the most part. Hours were not predictable and were often awarded on convincing a customer that they should sign up for the store credit card.
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
hours based on opening store cards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn organisational and customer service skills
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJuly 20, 2017
I enjoyed working at Gap. My coworkers were awesome. Working in fashion taught me so much. I learned how to engage with customers using different sales strategies.
Pros
The ability to be on trend with the latest fasions was a joy.
Cons
If you were not full time the company rarely gave hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the gap
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Cedarhurst, NYJuly 20, 2017
help customer find clothes and shoes. Fold, stock and shipments
co- workers are great
hardest thing is when close had to clean huge mess.
best part is dicounts
Pros
dicounts for clothes
Cons
big mess when store closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Retail Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 20, 2017
Working for Gap was decent. You get a generous employee discount at the sister companies banana republic and old navy which is great and the pay is typical.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Managment
Gap Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 19, 2017
Not a great work environment. The management was horrible. Workers were taken advantage of. Often forgotten about on the floor which resulted in no breaks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My amazing work place
Gap Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Manchester, VTJuly 19, 2017
I would recommend Gap to a lot of people. A typical day at work would be usually a 8 hour day. You do whatever they need you to do. The management is awesome. Would not ask for better managers. There is really no hard part to this job. You just wanna make sure you are customer servicing every customer that walks into the door, Telling them about our sales and offering them a tote to shop around with. Also offering them a fitting room. The most enjoyable part about this job is getting to know other people and i love talking to them about what they are getting the clothing for.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place
Visual Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Little Rock, ARJuly 19, 2017
great benefits, great people, poor hours, but it is a retail store. Company takes care of their employees well with great benefit package. High turnover.
Pros
people
Cons
hours and pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working with my colleagues
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHJuly 19, 2017
Working with my colleagues was nice we would work as a team and if one was falling behind we would help with the work until my colleague was up to date with there work.
Pros
The caferetia
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They have no sense of leadership
Stock Supervisor (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJuly 19, 2017
Good on healthcare if you are a full time employee. If u are part time which most of their employees are they don't offer you much as an employee just the fact that you start off making 10 dollars and can get a 35 cents raise after a year if they actually do your review
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Customer Service Representative/Call Center (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CAJuly 19, 2017
Working at GAP was okay...just okay. There isn't much to enjoy about the job at all besides a few co-workers and that's if you ever get the chance to talk to any of them. They hire seasonal employees often but don't keep many on and the people that aren't seasonal don't see much of a pay raise.
Pros
co-workers are fun
Cons
High turn over rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but Unorganized
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Miami Beach, FLJuly 19, 2017
Employees lighten up the place , managers where all over the place with rules . Always very busy fun place they where just bad on time managent . Overall it was a nice work experience .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and hone your management skills
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  South Windsor, CTJuly 18, 2017
Gap is a great place to learn and hone your skills as a manager. There is a lot of tenure so continuing to grow can be a bit challenging. But it is a great starting platform
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Stock supervisor (Current Employee) –  Mercedes, TXJuly 18, 2017
I enjoy working there. It's a friendly fast paced environment. Great co workers and mangers. Customers are 95% of the time nice and polite and respectful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding and no recognition
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  City of Sunrise, FLJuly 18, 2017
Work schedule varies depending on your task. Morning crew is loaded with a lot of work and are schedule to work the worst hours and no employee recognition for their hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very supportive of employees
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Grove City, OHJuly 18, 2017
Although the employment was seasonal the management staff was very misleading on work performance and status of permanent job offer. I was very let down with this employer. Would not recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GAP Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 4,856 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8