GAP Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 4,127 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Holiday Fun
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Camarillo, CAJuly 3, 2017
Being a high school student and for a corporate company for the first time I enjoyed the time that I had with the Gap Company. Holiday is crazy busy but the staff made it fun to get through.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bright and fast pace work environment
Fraud Prevention Specialist (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CAJuly 2, 2017
Very low key environment, kept on task taking an making calls to various financial institutions to eliminate and prevent fraudulent online / phone orders. I like the fact that I can work independently. I can also have a perfect work life balance. Job is meant to remain and stay on task, very little to know social interactions with co-workers or immediate supervisor.
Pros
like to work independently and at my own pace
Cons
feedback is not always given in a constructive way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Senior Visual Associate (Current Employee) –  172 BroadwayJuly 2, 2017
Gap is an amazing place to work at. Everyone is treated equally. I highly recommend someone working for the company. its a great place to start work at to build your resume.
Pros
Amazing staff
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
know what to expect
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CAJuly 2, 2017
Its a call center position so dont have high hopes. Great company but an entry level call center position is what it is. There are alot of opportunities for growth so if you can stick it out listening to customers complain all day long in your ear then you will love this job
Pros
extremely flexible work hours. Good supervision and managment. ALOT of different positions
Cons
stressful, High turn over, annoying call center employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Ellenton, FLJuly 2, 2017
Easy place to work you have to know how to talk to customers but you also have to be able to multitask as you have to clean the store too. Management is fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overworked
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Gallatin, TNJune 30, 2017
The problem with this job is that it was highly physical with rarely any days off. If production is high, they will work you to death. If production is low, you'll be lucky to work a whole shift. The warehouse is hot and dirty. What I found to be the biggest slap in the face is that you could clock in 7 minutes before your shift, but if you clocked in even 1 minute late, you got time taken away as if you had missed half the shift. Unfair and impractical.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is great
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Baraboo, WIJune 30, 2017
Very laid back and understanding management team. It is difficult for anyone who is familiar with Wisconsin Dells with the huge swings in sales due to water park tourists in the summer. Many hours in summer time, not so many in winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great!
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 29, 2017
It's a good temporary job to have while you are deciding on a career. They also have a great copensation program that gives you a nice reward for hard work every month
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
large company with good benefits
Replenishment (Current Employee) –  Groveport, OHJune 29, 2017
good company overall. great benefits. plenty of opportunities to bonus. well recommended for other people. i just did not see it as a good fit for me.
Pros
bonuses, benefits
Cons
unorganized chain of command.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Location and great staff to work with.
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Jackson Heights, NYJune 29, 2017
Working at gap is a great experience the workers at the location are like family in the sense that they are there to help you and make the store a great environment .
Pros
50% discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NYJune 29, 2017
A typical day,
Managed and lead the Customer and Brand Experience Work Center including Brand Visual, Merchandise and Logistics
Facilitated and cascaded communication across the store organization and acted as liaison to leadership
Responsible for the financial management of the store including sales, shrink, and the proper use, allocation and scheduling of payroll
Pros
Discount on clothes
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed messages and inconsistency among supervisors.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Troy, MIJune 29, 2017
Mixed messages each quarter from supervisors and upper management made it hard to stay on a consistent course and maintain a culture of teamwork. Company would constantly over promise and under deliver in terms of product and expectations from associates.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for hours, terrible if your job is in jeopardy
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJune 28, 2017
A typical day has you assigned to a particular function that you remain in for the rest of your shift. You are expected and coached to open store credit cards during your shift, both on the floor and at the cash wrap. Management can be unclear about following company rules when it comes to dealing with customers (such as return policy). The one thing I enjoyed the most was the availability of hours and the use of an online app to switch and pick up shifts. The one thing I really disliked is that when my location was closing down, all current associates were told that transfers were not available. Instead we would have to fill out applications for other locations and go through and interview process for that location if we wanted to continue working for the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Fun Place to work
Visual Merchandising Specialist Old Navy (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 28, 2017
There is plenty of opportunity for advancement. Promote from within. Flexible with with scheduling around school/family commitments. Long breaks. Fun place to work.
Pros
Discount on phone bill. 50% off discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good environment
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Cherry Hill, NJJune 28, 2017
It was a good place to work and I learned a lot of things there. I enjoyed working there because I learned new things and how to work in a fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start, hard to move up
LP (Current Employee) –  TexasJune 28, 2017
It's a good place for many young people to start out with and start learning skills like customer service and salesmanship. The company has put an emphasis on these in the last few years as the retail industry becomes more competitive. If you want to advance up within the company, it really depends on your workplace relationships. Even if you are a good worker and do everything right on paper, if you don't have a good relationship with management then it can be hard to move up.
Pros
Discount, flexible schedules
Cons
Difficult to advance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really pretty great for retail
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FloridaJune 27, 2017
The work is retail, so you get what you expect. Generally the culture at GAP is positive and light. The managers expect good work out of you, but never in a way that feels unreasonable for the money. Occasionally salaried employees (ie. managers) forget that GAP is not life for everyone who works there, but they’re pretty good about it if you remind them. Because of this, scheduling is very flexible for students and those with other jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
Picker/Packer fork lift operator (Former Employee) –  Fishkill, NYJune 27, 2017
i picked items to pack and ship i also trained on a cherry picker fork lift we used hand held devices to scan items through out the warehouse that were on order
Pros
ability to train in many positions
Cons
lots of walking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Stock Room Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Greenwich, CTJune 27, 2017
Fun place to work, nice discounts.
Fast paced must be able to work well under pressure at times.
Must be able to "grin and bear it" when dealing with difficult customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, MAJune 27, 2017
Supervised a team of 15 employees. Coordinated weekly payroll. Responsible for the opening and closing of the store. Planned and implemented weekly promotional displays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GAP Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 4,867 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8