Find companies:
GAP Inc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,774 reviews

GAP Inc Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Brand
(Multi-Store) Manager/Training Ambassador (Current Employee), HoustonSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: high turnover
I enjoy working for this brand. The work life balance is fair for the industry and the opportunity for advancement is high.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The worst retail I've worked for
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: good team work
Cons: this job doesn't pay.
The managers don't give you enough hours. It's the worst. They will let you know 2 hours before whether they need your shift for not. I waste my gas just because of that. They pay me below the minimum. The managers are not professional and make you work like a dog. They expect you to do 10 things at a time and pay you little. No matter how hard I work, – more... I still don't get paid enough. The managers look like they care about you, but they don't. So, just fake it at work. If the store doesn't make money, the store manager will cut your hours. Plus, the bosses only care about gap cards and goal of the sales so that they get bonuses in the end of the day. Even though you're on the schedule, he/she will not use your shift. I am just being honest, not rude. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly overall atmosphere.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Folsom, CASeptember 6, 2014
Pros: discounted clothes.
Cons: small break room.
A typical day would consist of wearing a microphone headset at the start of clocking in. Learned the sales associate position. Management was very patient and experienced. Co-workers were the best. The hardest part of the job was during Black Friday. The most enjoyable part was becoming friends with co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to be as well as work at
Manager (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVSeptember 6, 2014
My experience at work was amazing, just to be able to help out the customers, get what they need, and keep them always coming back. To see the same faces come back and continuously is very rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gap, Inc Review
customer service consultant (Current Employee), Grove City, OHSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: prevto and vto, great benefits
Cons: customers can be very rude over the phone
Management and staff are all very friendly and welcoming of new hires. Very helpful staff. Always someone there to answer questions and help out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reality Check
Staff Accountant (Current Employee), Albuquerque, NMSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: healthcare, pto
Cons: management, training, social clicks
Take note that I can only attest to one Department and I have heard from other people throughout the organization that they love their work. However, I had a different experience.

What to expect...
Not a friendly environment- keep quiet and speak when spoken to
Very little to no training, expect to learn by repeated failure- keep composure as this – more... is the norm
If you are not born and bred New Mexican, it will be held against you
There are obvious social clicks- respect their influence with management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun retail job working with great people
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PASeptember 2, 2014
Throughout my time at Gap, I was fortunate to have worked with so many great people whom I consider life long friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An ok job with numerous opportunities for advancement
Merchandiser/stock associate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 2, 2014
Cons: too little hours
I started at Old Navy in June. I was drawn to the energy and positivity of a few members of the management. They tend to reward seniority with generous pay raises, as I have discovered through talking with co-workers that have worked for them longer than myself. The standard for execution and completion of tasks are extremely high so if you are a lazy – more... worker this is not the place for you. My biggest discrepancy is the shortage of hours or the overstaffing of workers. It is most likely the reason I will not stay with the company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of best company to work for
Account Assistant (Former Employee), San Bruno, CASeptember 2, 2014
Pros: holiday party, year end bonus
Cons: good benifits, employee discount
Gap Inc is a company manufacturing in selling clothes and it's merge with Banana Republic and Old Navy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Woodbridge ,njSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
i would be on the sales floor helping people or at the register or in the back stocking or in the fitting rooms
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Gap
Sales associate (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 31, 2014
Pros: discounted clothes, friendly guests
Cons: late nights of cleaning
A typical day at work consisted of being rallied in by a leader on duty or manager whom talked to me and the other employees about to start our shift. They discussed sales goals and promotions we needed to remember and then we were sent to a certain section of the Gap. I would then assist customers with clothing styles and sizes, and maintained the – more... stores cleanliness by folding and hanging up clothes. I also worked on the cash register and would greet and dismiss customers with a welcome and thank you for coming in salutation. The hardest part of the job was being alone in a store to handle customers and keeping the store clean whereas the most enjoyable part of the job was helping customers with clothing options and fitting rooms and maintaining the section you were in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice working environment which offers a work life balance
Technology Lead (Current Employee), pleasanton, CAAugust 31, 2014
Nice working environment which offers a work life balance. Gave an opportunity to learn and work on new technologies. Though not fast paced, there were occasional challenges which involved supporting the critical systems. Overall it has been joyous fun ride
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice working place
Merchandise Processor (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 28, 2014
safe and clean environment. very friendly coworkers. People are so nice everybody is just like family. management is kind with employees
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No so great
Sales lead (Former Employee), Millbury, MAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: benefits and break room are great and discount.
Cons: sales management, compensation, hours weekly, on call.
No the best work place. There are good benefits but the management is very pushy and expect life to revolve around work. They have terrible on call scheduling and very inconsistent with hours per week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer-centric, fun, energetic sales environment
Sales & Service/Visual Coordiantor (Current Employee), Evanston, ILAugust 27, 2014
I take pride in working for Gap, Inc. as a company. It's never a dull moment at work. From my General Manager to every sales associate in my team, everyone brings in their A game everyday. I provide my clients with a genuine, professional and exceptional customer experience which makes their time at Gap valuable and they become a loyal customer for – more... years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is a good company to work for
CO-MANAGER (Former Employee), Paramus, NJAugust 27, 2014
Regular opening and closing
I learn to keep my self motivating going to better excel
Poor team recognition
Everyone works for them self
Loss prevention team where more focus on socializing with store associates than their job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Sales (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 27, 2014
Learn new things everyday and interact with costumers on a daily basis
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a fun place to wook at, very fun.
Cashier (Former Employee), Baybrook Mall, Webster, TxAugust 26, 2014
gap was a very fun location especially at the mall many different people of all age and size go, and its nice to help them all out with what you are looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great first job and ability to grow into the leader I'm today
managerment (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 23, 2014
great first job and ability to grow into the leader I'm today
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in!
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee), Greendale WIAugust 23, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: hours
I worked for the Old Navy division of Gap Inc.

I loved working in the kid/baby dept. My faviote part of the job was the merchandising aspect.

A typical day was training and customer servicing.

The hardest part of the job was not being the General Manager. I sometimes did not agree with how my manager led the store.

The most enjoyable part of the – more... job was the training, hiring aspect of my position. I also enjoyed having a customer come back and tell me that they enjoyed thier purchase and wanted my help again. – less

About GAP Inc

The ubiquitous clothing retailer Gap has been filling closets with jeans and khakis, T-shirts, and poplin since the Woodstock – Read more

GAP Inc Photos