Find companies:
Garden Ridge
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
129 reviews

Garden Ridge Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but worked like a slave.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Williamsburg, VAAugust 3, 2014
A typical work day would go clock in and grab a radio and report to either the front or receiving. If I was up front, I had to keep everything straight and clean for the customers. I had to run the cash register and help with any problems they had. If I was working in receiving or on the floor, I would straighten up the store or stock shelves. I would – more... work on any projects that needed to be done. I learned how to work a register and get experience with customer service. The management wasn't all that great. They worked everybody like slaves and made me come to work the the flu when I was contagious. Most of the co-workers were fun to work with, but a lot of them tended to talk about one another, but I never got involved. There wasn't really anything hard about this job to me. The most enjoyable was being around some of the co-workers and helping people with whatever they need help with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough place
Front End Manager (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 1, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: too many to list
Many changes and many things that seem to be getting better, but with that said it was the hardest job I ever had. The workload was insane, the expectations were astronomical, and the management inept. Coming from a very extensive background in retail I was shocked to see the way that employees were treated. People were fired with true reason, employees – more... were harassed and insulted (sometimes on a very personal level), and nothing was ever organized or made clear. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
VENDOR COMPLIANCE SPECIALIST (Former Employee), Plano, TXJuly 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: worked as a temp, offered full-time employment almost at the same rate, and expected to cover for someone going on vacation for 2 weeks in july (as a temp).
Excellent work environment and new corporate headquarters. A typical day would be working reports provided from my manager to compliance vendor's due to not following packing and shipping, or ticketing requirements. Extensive use of JDA software and PKMS - inventory management software. Worked hand-in-hand with the senior and assistant buyers to process – more... purchase orders. Did assist with chargeback disputes and worked with accounting to resolve proper payments. Helped update database information and responded directly to emails from vendors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, fun co-workers
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Houston, TXJuly 22, 2014
Pros: friendly atmosphere
Cons: low wages
Conditioning sales floor, restocking inventory, and custom service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Merchandise Manager (Former Employee), Katy, TXJuly 8, 2014
Pros: lots of management opportunity
excellent management team lots of hands on job training great co-workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Budget
Stock Associate (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 3, 2014
Only worked there a shorrt time until it went out of buisness. I did enjoy it for a while but after knowing it was closing the managers gave up and didnt care what happened.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Custodian (Former Employee), Memphis, TNJune 19, 2014
Continue to adapt to new environment and keep old policies in mind. Need little or no supervision on daily routine.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General
Receiving Supervisor (Former Employee), Norcross, GAJune 13, 2014
This company has good general management and working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unproductive workplace
Associate (Former Employee), Mesquite, TexasJune 8, 2014
Pros: option to be up at the front, or in the back away from customers.
Cons: awful management, lack of training, consistently warm environment.
A typical work day consisted of unloading trucks, moving pallets of merchandse, stocking throughout the store, operating a cash register, cleaning the store, setting up displays, pushing shopping carts and assisting customers when needed.

Learned how to operate a cash register, little else.

Management is awful, managers have the same responsibilities, – more... and deligate all work to associates because they're either incapable or lazy.

Hardest part of the job is the inconsistent schedule. Working from closing at 11:30pm, and opening at 5:30am into a 10 hour shift is fairly common. A few times Ive been scheduled 1 day of the week with a fully open schedule, and they're always short handed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paste job, with continuous walking.
ASSOCIATE (Current Employee), Pineville, NCJune 2, 2014
Pros: nice management, lunch breaks, and exercise from walking.
Cons: long shifts sometimes, and not able to keep water on you from continuous walking within a 9 to10 hour shift
A typical day consists of daily returns of products throughout the store from customers returns and unwanted purchasing items, if I am not told to operate the register that day's shift. Also it involves conditioning the store which means going through the several departments and cleaning it up and maintaining a clean and orderly environment for the – more... customers and staff as well. Though I have worked in assigned teams on college projects, I have learned the effectiveness of a good team coordination and collaboration. In a closing shift it can be quit hard to condition on one's on but when co- workers come together to work, to condition, it's a much easier and faster process to complete the normal requirements. The hardest part of the job is not within the store but being a part time employee. Part time employees only receive typically a 2- day work schedule out of the week. which makes it quit hard not to look for a another job with more hours. The most enjoyable part of the job is operating on the register, I like the hands on experience with the customers as their purchasing their items. It allows for conversation about various topics; from what their going to do with the items they purchased, vacations, etc. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily store walk
Co. Manager (Former Employee), Kennesaw, GAMay 31, 2014
A big box store with about 20 employees, very hard to keep stocked and conditioned.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an okay job
Merchandise Manager (Current Employee), willowbrookApril 25, 2014
This job isn't easy you work hard and are tired at the end of the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was easy going
Associate (Former Employee), Norcross GaApril 22, 2014
Greet customers help them and move freights around the store co workers were excellent hardest thing about working there was some of the managers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Concord, NCApril 16, 2014
Pros: discount on merchandise
Cons: working holidays and weekends
A typical day consisted of clocking and picking up my tray for my register. I would count my money to make sure there was an amount of 100 dollars in my drawer. Once that is done i would turn my light on and wait to check out customers. The customer were nice most of the time unless there were errors in the way things rung up. The management was pretty – more... nice and the co workers were as well. I learned how to handle tough situations where the customer feels they are right even when they are wrong. The hardest part of the job was having to call department and make checks on prices regularly as things wouldn't ring up, or didn't ring up with the proper sale price.
The most enjoyable part of the job was the discount that I got on purchases. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working together
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNApril 9, 2014
Pros: enjoying working and making new friends
Cons: heavy lifting
setting up store how to make the best out of a space Management was great coworkers were fun was lifting large boxes seeing an area done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first Job
Cashier (Former Employee), Norcross, GAApril 8, 2014
Job was nice until the economic downturn which caused the layoff of myself and others. Management was over demanding and did not provided equal respect for employees in some situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the Warehouse Experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Plano, TXApril 3, 2014
Maintained floor
Cashier was the easiest part of the job
Unpacking pallets was the hardest part of the job
Management and Co-workers were good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I consider this a transitional position and don't take much to heart.
Sales Floor Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), Utica, MIApril 2, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule to accomodate school schedule
Cons: very threatening and vindictive management
It honestly depends on which manager I am working with, but my day can either be good or it can be terrible.

I'd rather not elaborate to slander anyone for any reason but I just consider this position a transitional job and am more than ready to move into my desired career field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
cashier (Former Employee), Saint Charles, MOMarch 23, 2014
Pros: good lunch breaks and good discounts. and awesome employees.
Cons: one of the shift managers were snobby and always trying bto get over.
I come in get on cash register. when its slow we walk through the store making sure everything is put in the correct spot. I usually bring carts in if there's not many in the store. Then we have a lot of freight. so I unpackaged everything and put it where it suppose to go . Then after that I go on break then work and help customers with returns and – more... carryout's. Then I clock out and go home after 8 or 9 hours a day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and friendly
Cashier/Front Manager (Former Employee), sugar land , texasMarch 21, 2014
good place to work and good pay .my manager was good and very helpful. I really liked to work there.unfortunately, I have to quit because personal issue.

1 2 3 4 5

About Garden Ridge

Garden Ridge was founded in 1979 and began as Garden Ridge Pottery. The company has grown to over 65 stores in 21 states and is – Read more