Find companies:
GateGourmet
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
234 reviews

GateGourmet Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with preparing first call meals
Foodhandler (Current Employee), Atlanta,GaApril 9, 2014
Pros: the chance to work for the largest catering kitchen in the company.
Cons: long hours, small pay, no advancement in the company.
I have grown a lot working for Gate Gourmet. I learned how to prepare fresh and tasteful meals daily. The training i received will help me in a major way
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIApril 8, 2014
Pros: wonderful supervisor.
Cons: being laid off.
There is not much I can really say because I was laid off after five (5) months on the job when the company lost the Hawaiian Airlines account it had. I must say though that the company had a very generous separation policy and was really great in offering references.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable work place
Dish Washer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 1, 2014
A typical day for me at gate gourmet was me coming in for work everyday on time as usual greeting all of my coworkers with a smile. I learned to develop patience with this job becaue my managers there were so rude to me. The hardest part of this job was standing in a 85 degree dish room with no air washing dished all day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Administrative Assistant /HR Assistant (Former Employee), Seattle, WAMarch 27, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: hostile and unprofessional
Stress in the workplace can be great if its a healthy amount. But this place became a hostile work environment under the management of CJ Platte.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Billing Analyst (Former Employee), Sterling, VAMarch 26, 2014
generate invoice
account set up
poor team work
didn't learn anything additional skill
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work hard aswell
Driver /stock (Former Employee), Queens, NYMarch 26, 2014
Pros: good luche
Cons: 30minute break
is a excellent jobs they went out businness day sold the company and i was be able too use hand jacks all tape of maching
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working in food production packing meals for first class and buiness class flights.
Cook (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 18, 2014
Everyday working in food production for me was very productive day for me. I was always busy and worked as a team member. One of the hardest things to do was to get three hundred meals on flights within two hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gate Gourmet Culture
Transporter (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMarch 18, 2014
the company is Okay as a whole but I Believe with us being a part of the Labor Union we should be compensated for alot more than what we are.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Director of Food (Current Employee), Schiller ParkMarch 14, 2014
Good company to work for, looking for 2nd career. Lots of opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Las Vegas , NV Gate Gourmet Cook
Cook (Former Employee), Las Vegas , NVMarch 13, 2014
Pros: not working their anymore!! don't work hear!!
Cons: pay sucks, union sucks, can't afford their benefits, lack of support
Pay is real bad! They hire you full time and have your hours cut to 3 days a week for months at a time. Very strick about over time! Benefits are good but if you lack hours you can't afford it! They promises you a lot of things and don't follow threw. As a chef for over 28 years I've never worked in a kitchen where the cooks get know respect! Stems – more... from the ex chef and management lack of support and action. Takes 2 hours to get supplies from warehouse, and lack of stoves, ovens, fryers or know steamers to do job. Note that you have to be done with work in 8 hours. You cook and pack food,and cook lunch. If you see this ad pass it buy you can do better!! This job will make you sick!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy active environment
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee), Astoria, NYMarch 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch, parking lot
Everyday was a different challenge , just because not everyday was the same.A typical day at work would have to be daily inventory,maintenance, and inspection of equipment.i have learned a lot in this company most of all it taught me responsibility.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Temp Agencies (Former Employee), Los AngelesFebruary 28, 2014
Very fast pace work environment. was able to learn new skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive!
Bonded Clerk (Former Employee), Schiller Park, ILFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: great benefits
I actually enjoyed working for gategourmet and also the different international airlines very time consuming on all areas of the workplace great benefits exceptional management and being able to bond with coworkers my time there was a growth that i enjoyed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can't be yourself-no room for talking or creativity
Food Assembler (Current Employee), Sterling, VAFebruary 24, 2014
Horrible place to work. No communication between managers. Treatment of employees by managers is abysmal. Like working in a sweatshop.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Recruiter (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 19, 2014
A very good company to work for. Very fast pace You have to pay attention to detail
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
combined my driving skills and food service knowledge
Driver/Warehouse (Former Employee), airport-atl gaFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: it was hands on
Cons: pay
ordered food and other supplies for commissaries,went to warehouse loaded truck with forklift went back to commissaries restocked to keep par levels
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very safe place to work
Porter (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAFebruary 14, 2014
smart management, clean building, has a union for employee
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be a good place to work recently has gone down hill
Vice President Operations Excellence North America (Former Employee), Reston, VAFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: long hours benifits declining
Gategourmet people are hardworking fun loving people who have done remarkable things. .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and stressful
Account Manager (Current Employee), VAFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: free lunch, dinner
Cons: long breaks and down time
Not a lot to say , other than wanting out after my first month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HIgh Paced Enviroment
Dispatcher/ Logistics (Current Employee), Chicago, ILFebruary 5, 2014
Gate Gourmet is a place where you learn something new everyday and practice patience on daily bases. I do like the high paced environment and working under pressure. Makes the day go by quite quickly and always keeps you on your toes. Management, at least at the kitchen I work at, seems afraid of change. No growing opportunity which unfortunately leads – more... to people finding the right placement elsewhere. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About GateGourmet

Dining at 30,000 feet is no problem when the plane is loaded with food from Gate Gourmet. The foodservice company is one of┬áthe – Read more