GateGourmet Employee Reviews

Found 471 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
A/P Analyst (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAFebruary 22, 2017
A typical day at work is very busy. There is no micro-managing, everybody is left to do his work at his own pace. Workplace is not very professional, and people are not very friendly. The hardest part of the job is taking over a desk that did not keep a system of filing copies of invoices and made resolving issues quite difficult because there were no hard copies to look back to and verify numbers. The most enjoyable part of the job is that it kept me very busy and had issues that were a a challenge to resolve.
Pros
No micro-managing
Cons
No teamwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 16, 2017
great place to work my assignment was just up. the place was nice and clean a little busy but that's work. the people are nice and helpfully. i clean carts and prepared food. i also work on the docks and in freezer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the worst place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 7, 2017
Gate is what would except it to be. There are some good people there but they are over shadowed by people that have no clue what they are doing.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
up lifting and motivated environment
server assistant (Former Employee) –  Stockbridge, GAFebruary 1, 2017
A work place thats never in a bad mood or people in the work place that have bad attitudes. I want to come to work knowing I have a team that got my back and isn't going to let me down.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work for
Galley/ assembly (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 30, 2017
Where do I start the only thing that I look forward to with getting paid every week I work there from 2008 - 2011 at the one close to the airport. I never did so many sick days in life when I did have a day off I was exhausted because I never got a chance to be at home always at work, they overwork you, some co-workers were horrible, management was a joke. On my worst day I wouldn't want to work there again
Pros
Free food and pay weekly
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fast paced environment with breaks provided
Production manager (Current Employee) –  Ft. Lauderdale, FLJanuary 27, 2017
Fast paced learning environment with minimum cooperation among management staff. Union based atmosphere with minor productivity. The most enjoyable part of this job is the learning experience . Incorporating new problem solving ideas to increase production.
Pros
Breakfast and lunch are provided
Cons
I'm busy during those hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Materials Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sterling, VA 20166January 25, 2017
There are plenty of opportunities with this company depending on who is above you. the culture of the job is very diverse and fair. pay is trash but the employees are great.
Pros
great people
Cons
pay, management, benefits, micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gate Gourmet
Pre-Cook/Food Shipping (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJanuary 23, 2017
1.- I was a cooks helper
2.- A food handler also had certificates in that department
3.-We where making and cooking food for National Air lines and also Virgin islands.at the international Air port
4.- Was living the job site and watching the Planes land was fun
Pros
good salary and Benfits
Cons
change of state in a emergency
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food service for delta airlines
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJanuary 21, 2017
Ok job till they sold to a new com.
You work good you get rewarded
Some workers don,t like that a new guy is the boss
I enjoyed working with delta
Pros
FREE LUNCH
Cons
HEALTH PLAIN
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organized, fast and pleasant place to enjoy work.
Food Preparer (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 20, 2017
Gate gourmet was one of my best jobs. They were very helpful in supervising me. All my co-workers were team player. Ita a safe and secure place to work.
Pros
FREE LUNCH AND UNIFORMS.
Cons
30 MINUTE BREAKS AND GREAT BENEFITS
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Food Prep (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 19, 2017
When I first started working there it was a great job now that they have new unorganized supervisors who have no clue about that line of business it's horrible and I rather move forward with my life at a less stressful and more organized job.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can find better opportunity
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Oak Park, ILJanuary 17, 2017
Not what I expected.
Pay is low
Work is overbearing
Management is sporadic
Hours are good
Weekly pay is decent to have
Turn around rate with employees is depressing.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Missing Much
Cook/Prep (Former Employee) –  Romulus, MIJanuary 16, 2017
The free hot meals were nice. But when balanced with incompetent management,and benefits that didn't cover medicl needs, this job falls short. Not very inspiring.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
short breaks, bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours no rewards
Transportation Supervisor Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 14, 2017
This company works 24 hours a day 365 days a year, very long hours with no brakes. Pay is low to the work the company only needs a body to work and does not think of the person.
Cons
24 hours 365 days a week
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
CSA, Ramp Guide (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 13, 2017
excellent work environment. Great people and good help everywhere. Gate gourmet employees are very easy to talk with and are always willing to help you understand things better.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Drive truck as a cater to Delta Airlines
Driver (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 13, 2017
When I punch into work, I locate a dock in order to obtain my equipment to my flights. After which wait to gate safe to secure and dispatch send me off with a driver helper to my proper gate. The hardest part of my job is to make sure I do not get any delays and cater each flight with the right products. I enjoy servicing flight attendants so that they can serve millions of passengers. After catering flights I go back to unload truck to load truck with products to cater flights.

I am presently employed.
Pros
Free food and weekly pay.
Cons
many times no lunch and long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Ops Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 12, 2017
Work is fast paced and high stressed but for the most part I enjoyed working here. Management and employees were great. Military family so I didn't use healthcare benefits but vacation and sick days were good. The pay was good starting out however if employees get a raise one year management gets a raise the following year which has taken quite often. I have received exceeds expectations on my evaluations.
Pros
Uniforms and lunch provided
Cons
Management and employees deserve better pay
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized
Food prep (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXJanuary 11, 2017
a typical day would consist of waiting around trying to find supplies to work with not enough people so had to work 2 station when you were finished you were not allowed to help someone on another station
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok job
Truck Driver-driving (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 10, 2017
you get paid every week , free food they give you meals all day , have to deal with the weather, and if you are afraid of heights , good job overall lots of overtime ,
Pros
free lunches and breakfast and dinner and pay every week
Cons
weather working outside
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging day at work
Operations Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Inwood, NYJanuary 4, 2017
Busy schedules, a lot of people rotation, HR is great!! the best HR ever, Co-workers in general, are okay, the hardest part of the job is to work in the cold temperatures. The positive part of the job is the benefits and lunch is a perk.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GateGourmet. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 652 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.2

CEO Approval

67%
Approve - Based on 146 ratings
Add your rating