GateGourmet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dysfunctional operations and a collapsing upper management
Galley supervisor (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAAugust 14, 2017
The company is going the wrong direction because of its upper management decisions and the way they manage the company and promote people is a universal culture of nepotism that cause the declining operations that they suffer and continue to suffer and losing business.
Pros
Nothing at all
Cons
Upper management [Nepotism].
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the run from the time you clock in from the time you walk out
Warehouse/material handler (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 14, 2017
big building with no communication but word of mouth with no routine or guide.
foul language was used by staff eddie render when he has a misjudgment ..
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They Aight.
Equipment Assembler (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 10, 2017
Too many booty kissers. Weekly pay and overtime. Kinda balanced out. Best advice , talk to no one. Just do your job and only your job. They dont appreciate dependable people.
Pros
Weekly pay
Cons
Too much racial tension.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great people to work with
Emirates Lead / CSR (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAAugust 7, 2017
Fast pace environment makes your day go by fast. Work in teams to make sure we get our work done right. Everyone supports one another. We work on a timely mater so sometimes it gets hectic but with our team support we get the work done.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Romulus, MIAugust 7, 2017
gate gourmet was my first job. The people are very welcoming. The job is a very laid back setting most of the time. As long as you do good at your job things went smoothly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place with an friendly environment
Customer Service Representative CSR (Former Employee) –  Des Plaines, ILAugust 4, 2017
Great company with great opportunities to move up within the company. They get paid weekly and you can get there with public transportation. Plus they reward their employees.
Pros
free breakfast and lunch
Cons
long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and nice co-workers, mangers.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 3, 2017
I worked at Gate Gourmet as a cook. I Completes and assembles Japanese and Chinese food items on upright carts and assembles Airline Catering Equipment, including tray setups, paper tray liner, trolleys, plates, cutlery, glasses, cup, plates, dessert, salad, snacks, bread, butter, condiments and eating utensils, according to airline specifications.I also worked at Northwestern Memorial Hospital – Canteen as sushi chef. I Responsible for rolling sushi, cutting seafood, steaming rice and pricing product at the Sushi Bar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 3, 2017
Its been great, meet a lit of people. Learn a lot UN different areas of the job. Co- workers came and went but for the most some where really great. Management has been good to me, learn a lot from them.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Food Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 2, 2017
Good company to work with, communication need to improve and other managers need to do their job, too much talk and little or no action (smart mouth) would work with them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
constant deadlines
Food Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 31, 2017
I would like the change the management structure, there are better and more efficient ways of providing service to customers. they are not open to change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job and good people to work with
Food prep (Former Employee) –  Dulles, VAJuly 29, 2017
I would prep the food for first class and coach flights. Also making sure all the food was ready for the flights on time. I like the fact that there was different ethnicities working there too. So I had to learn different languages which helped my versatility in speech.
Pros
Work as long as you want.
Cons
Very short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks good on the website but not as much in person
Equipment Assembler (Current Employee) –  Schiller Park, ILJuly 27, 2017
The work is interesting and could be fun if the culture was professional. The work environment is very abusive in more ways than one. Has some good perks and benefits.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
career aspirations not supported
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honestly, not worth it.
EPA/Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 26, 2017
Be ready to be overworked & underpaid. Worked from 4pm-3:30am everyday. Mandatory OT. No time to do anything else in life but work. Very disorganized!
Pros
Free lunch.
Cons
Mandatory Overtime, not organized, not enough personal to get job done efficiently and high turnover.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall satisfying to work for
Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 25, 2017
Company has a lot of good benefits.
It is really difficult to move up which is slightly disheartening .
The team makes the difference ! fun place to work especially if you're into what ever section you work in..
Pros
good benefits and perks
Cons
no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Admin Assistant (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJuly 24, 2017
I started with this company in 2013, i was a food pre at that time, after 6 months i was transferred to Duty free to pack all the products to be sell in the plane. Then i was promoted to be one of the admin assistant to assist the account manager and the QA manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Packing flight carts
Package Handler (Former Employee) –  Rosemont, ILJuly 19, 2017
I was preparing each flight food cart. Everything was fine. It would only be difficult when others would mess up on their end and we would have to redo it all.
Pros
Set break times
Cons
Everyone coming back from break on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool place to work
Special Meals Person (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 19, 2017
Its a good place to work because you get 40 hours plus. But having the things you need to work with is not consistence. Supervisors are never around when needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy money
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 19, 2017
Management sucks....they show a lot of favoritism ...its at the airport be prepared for extreme weather and overtime weekly pay free food work you hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High school but more dirty
Equipment Assembler (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 16, 2017
Full of immature management more than coworkers. The work environment is very unsafe. They essentially make joining a union mandatory in order to get the job. Mandatory overtime was almost everyday and they made an effort to be snarky when asked when the we could expect to be done with the days work.
Pros
coworkers were alright for the most part. Breakfast was good on occasion.
Cons
Unsafe workplace. Management is bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice work enviroment
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2017
workin here as fun most days. I met met a lot people, from different places and back grounds. driving around the airport watching planes take off and land was a lot of fun.
Pros
free food
Cons
long breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report