GateGourmet Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High school but more dirty
Equipment Assembler (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 16, 2017
Full of immature management more than coworkers. The work environment is very unsafe. They essentially make joining a union mandatory in order to get the job. Mandatory overtime was almost everyday and they made an effort to be snarky when asked when the we could expect to be done with the days work.
Pros
coworkers were alright for the most part. Breakfast was good on occasion.
Cons
Unsafe workplace. Management is bad.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was nice work enviroment
Driver/Operator (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2017
workin here as fun most days. I met met a lot people, from different places and back grounds. driving around the airport watching planes take off and land was a lot of fun.
Pros
free food
Cons
long breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gate Gourmet Inc
Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 14, 2017
I Have To Say That Even Tho The Shift's Are Sometime's Late Hours They Are Totally Worth It In The Long Run. Free Lunch & Dinner Upon Employment Also Paid Training For All Employee's.
Pros
Free Lunch/Dinner
Cons
Overtime Hours/ Late Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4 years
custome service represenative (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 11, 2017
u can b there 4 years and someone off the street will get promoted ahead of you. it's all on u and it will b like a struggle it will be like everyone is working against u. management is nice but shows favoritism
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work place
CSR Driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 11, 2017
Very fast pace getting to the planes on time and loading and unloading plane with a timely manner before take off, working closely with Flight Attendents
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at the Gate
Dishwasher/Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 10, 2017
Gate gourmet was a little challenging. You have to have energy to unload about 100+ carts a night. Lunch is late sometime. Limited resting on the job.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
You dont have enough to eat when you punch out, Lunch is not on time, Riding public transportation you have to be there 2 hours early.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Schiller Park, IL 60176July 10, 2017
I enjoyed this job because it allows you to get experience in many areas. I was CSA (customer service assistant) helping guide the catering trucks to the airplane but I also helped by assisting in driving.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A total mess
Flight Checker (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 9, 2017
This was the worst company i have ever worked for in my life the people are really rude no one has any manners such an unorginazed company they force you to stay against your time even if your done and make you help someone else that moves really slow or been playing around so they can milk the clock no one is in compliance with the company rules management/supervisiors dont know much about the job u ask them a question and they hardly assist you walk away from you that place is toxic not enough pay to deal with there foolishness
Pros
Free lunch but terrible
Cons
Paid every week when they have the checks available
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok to work but long hours.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 7, 2017
I only worked for them a short time but I would recommend to a friend working there. The day goes fast because there is a lot of work to do and you have to keep a fast pace.
Pros
Free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overtime
Human Resources Generalist (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJuly 6, 2017
There is no work life balance here.You hear the expression, you have a start time but not an end.

Everyone is overworked. The job for me was fun but had too much work and under paid for my position.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Union environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Atmosphere
Lead Cook (Former Employee) –  Euless, TXJuly 5, 2017
Worked with a lot of friendly people and welcoming team atmosphere. The work life balance was not there. There were many days, we had to work six days, because we were under deadlines.
Pros
Free breakfast and lunch
Cons
Six days on
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good idea
Equipment Assembler (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 3, 2017
They will train and help you be successful in your job.If you have drive you can go far in the company. They feed you so you never have to worry nothing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Senior Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Franklin Park, ILJune 26, 2017
worked with great staff very hard working employees and very loyal to the company the hardest thing was the labor and viability of the product great upper management team
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very unorganized
Dispatcher/Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  El Segundo, CAJune 24, 2017
really unorganized they don't show appreciation towards employees and always rude. supervisors don't know what they're doing. this company offers no yearly raise. no way of moving up. gate gourmet drains you out.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
no respect for their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Endless Production
Food Production Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 23, 2017
The potential is there but this is truly a bargain basement slaughter house. The work is ENDLESS. Slowest hiring pace and they know they are under staff and do not CARE.
A.M. shift get all a larger staff then the night shift yet the night shift does a deeper percentage of the work. Union shop so the the management team can't even help out. and the the management team seem to all be in the wrong area's great place to grow with no experience of anything else.
Pros
Room to grow.
Cons
Hours >>mandatory overtime daily!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very unorganized
Dish Washer (Former Employee) –  6701 w imperial hwyJune 22, 2017
Kitchen interior, transportation or food preparation in our airport facilities across the United States. A very fast paste to move and stand for a long period of time, great management!.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Giant warehouse with many airline products to be provided, free meals courtesy of the company
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Far Rockaway, NYJune 22, 2017
A typical day at work starts you off with providing food for the people who organize said food before they ship it off to their assigned airlines for passengers. Next, you either organize the cages which hold all the supplies or you roll in more cargo to be used for later.

I sharpened my multitasking abilities and received a personal understanding of how to run and work in a warehouse, such as organizing shipments and also quickly taking them in to be locked until further use.

The work was fast paced and required you to rush to your next task. Socializing took place mostly during lunch breaks. Every worker was vital to the company so your position was guaranteed. Very little chances of advancement as a warehouse helper.

The honest reason for me leaving so soon was the distance I had to travel to reach it. The long hours were also difficult.

I enjoyed helping others with their daily requisitions and needs. It always feels nice to help people lessen their workload.
Pros
Free meals all the time, refillable drinks
Cons
Long distance to reach, must know a little Spanish in order to work with others
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unprofessional managers.
Lead/Cabin Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 19, 2017
The entire management team wasn't professional. they didn't treat employees right, all the concern about were just numbers. Supervisors do care about the injured worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Gate Gourmet
Food Assembler (Former Employee) –  Schiller Park, ILJune 19, 2017
Physical work from beginning to end. There is room for advancement if you do your job accordingly. A very diverse atmosphere...make sure you have comfortable shoes.
Pros
Free breakfast and lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible workplace
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJune 16, 2017
Too much work for 1 person to handle at once, before you get 1 job done you have 4 more waiting and after minutes, rude employees go over intercom and yell that they need stuff right now even though they know you are working in 3 areas every day because management in other areas was so bad, they cant keep employees. After being screwed out of over $1400, finally told them to shove it and walked away after 4 1/2 years of being a model employee and next in line for management title. They offered free lunch to employees everyday but it was always horrible food unless it was chicken tenders and they served chicken 5 days a week. I did learn a lot about being management because I did 3 out of 4 managers jobs while also doing my own job in timely manner.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport