Find companies:
Gatehouse Media
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Gatehouse Media Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours at fiscal end
Business/Accounting Manager (Current Employee), New YorkJuly 23, 2014
I learned a lot from my RAM when taking on this position. My typical day starts at 8:00 am and ends at 5:00 pm. Management and coworkers are easy to get along with. I enjoy the actual accounting activities of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Freelance Writer
Sports Writer (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: freedom of schedule
Cons: inconsistent work
Compiled and Wrote Freelance Material on weekly roundup events. Also wrote features on High profiled athletes in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people doing great work
Designer | Copy Editor (Current Employee), Rockford, ILMay 16, 2014
I really enjoy everything about this job. The work is challenging and they are always open to new ideas. The mood on the the floor is fun and playful but with purpose. The managers in my experience care about everyones well being and day-to-day satisfaction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working with the public
Classified Phone Solicitor (Former Employee), Fall River, MAApril 4, 2014
Pros: flexibility with management
Cons: health care
Every day you would have customers with a great attitude and some days not so go. Management was so, so when you had a problem. They would want you to solve it even if it was a customer who was not satisfied. Co-workers were great as we worked as a team for one another. Trying to work all other departments with complaints from customers and trouble – more... solving for them. Every month my most enjoyable reward was when I would make my commission and bonuses. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, multiple job descriptions
Multi Media Sales Executive (Current Employee), Liberty NyMarch 31, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: poor management
Working with multiple deadlines almost daily. Multi tasking always. Coworkers are great. Management leaves much to be desired. NO motivational speaking or praise ever. THe most enjoyable part of my job is when a customer gets something back out of an ad you did for them. THe hardest part of my job is working day to day with no real praise for the hard – more... work you do. THere is no fulfillment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wasn't given enough time to really get a feel for the company.
Multimedia Sales Manager (Former Employee), Sturgis, MIFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: very good editorial staff.
Cons: horrible training, old fashioned newspaper that still has hand written ad orders.
Left a job with a fortune 500 company to come work for Gatehouse. After 8 weeks, and initiating several new features securing thousands of dollars in new revenue, I was told that there were some areas they thought I should be doing better at and that they didn't have time to train me so I was being let go. No formal verbal or written warnings. I just – more... found it interesting that things that were going wrong for years they gave me 8 weeks to fix. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well managed group
Temporary Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Oakbrook Terrace, ILJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: kind, smart people
A strong group of women manages this office very well, which is difficult given the state of journalism and the economic climate today.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Senior Multimedia Account Executive (Current Employee), Concord, MANovember 23, 2013
People that work they are great and professional. Upper management can't seem to get it together. The company is failing with no hope in sight.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours but fun
Multi-Media Executive (Current Employee), Corning NYOctober 31, 2013
A fun a exciting company with some advantages such as heath plans and dental. Also the Staff are great people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
talented ,intelligent caring people on all levels and all depts.
Courier Driver (Former Employee), Orleans, MAJune 28, 2013
Pros: good salary, benefits, working environment.
Cons: summer traffic.
The editorial staff of Gatehouse Media consists of many firste rate journalists,many of whom have been recognized by New England Newspaper Association. I was inspired by their example to put more effort into improving my writing skills. The ad reps, I worked with were joyous caring people despite the attendant pressure of the business. generally ,I – more... enjoyed working in such a relaxed atmosphere where we shared each others burdens and triumphs. It was always a pleasure to help them out when it was needed.
I felt that I was fairly compensated for my work and the benefits offered fit squarely with my living situation.
My personal encounters with the upper echelons of management were brief, but cordial. I feel that, overall, I got a fair deal as an employee. Yes, the summer traffic could be tedious but it was better than sitting in an office chair.THis postition enabled me to live on Cape Cod for 27 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly a good to great experience
Senior Production Artist (Former Employee), Framingham, MAMay 20, 2013
Pros: creative, energetic team
Cons: out-sourcing whole departments while touting how you are a "local" newspaper.
I worked for the Middlesex News and MetroWest Daily News. My department was responsible for the day to day production of advertisement as well as more heavy duty design work. I myself was one of only two people set aside to handle the new and troubled accounts.

It was rewarding, creative work that I grew up with from the early days of cut and paste – more... to computer generated ads. Unfortunately though our last parent company outsourced my whole department to India, despite there still being plenty of work. Didn't care much for these managers, but the ones I worked with day to day, were just fine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look up the definition of Gatehouse
Team Leader (Current Employee), Framingham, MAMay 2, 2013
Pros: 3 day weekend
Cons: long shifts
Gatehouse

Noun ~ A house or enclosure near a gateway.

I've worked for Gatehouse Media since 2009. It was my first job out of college. It is an excellent entire level company to work for while you hone you skills. It took me three year to get a full time job. Once I did though, I was promoted within 3 months. There are solid benefits. I love the people – more... I work with, management and co-workers. The shifts can be long, but with my schedule (40 hours is 4 days Mon-Thurs) having a 3 day weekend EVERY weekend can do wonders for your happiness. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job duties change daily so it gives a nice balance
Advertising Traffic Coordinator/Digital Artist (Former Employee), Downers Grove, ILFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: the work hours are great. good balance between work and life
Cons: the working environment is uncomfortable and unenjoyable
Gatehouse Media Ad Centralization Department is a small group consisting of various shift staff and a whole lot of management. The employees are great and give a nice balance to the work environment. The environment itself is uncomfortable, unenjoyable and not a great place to be around. There are no salary raises/bonuses, no advancements and constant – more... watching of your every move. The co-workers are the only thing that make it tolerable to come to work everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mind-numbing and un-redeeming
Page Designer (Current Employee), Framingham, MAJanuary 22, 2013
Cons: it's journalism
12 hours of designing black-and-white newspaper pages, conforming to design specifications. Void of chance of creativity.

Management is great but corporate policies are not, like any big company. This is a fine job if you like newspapers and journalism, but if you're a creative type you will feel like you are wasting life away and not learning anything.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse Portfolio of Products for Advertising
Multi Media Account Manager (Current Employee), Taunton, MADecember 27, 2012
Training is consistent and ongoing which is necessary in an industry that has ever changing trends in regards to digital marketing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The position I held was a productive, very active and fast pass.
Sales, Accounts receivable, Accounts Payable (Former Employee), Benton, ILNovember 8, 2012
Pros: able to work with a variety of people and in a variety of fields
Cons: only the corporate cutbacks.
I would rate the company very high. However it was in the newspaper field and those positions have been cut back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Hardworking Environment
Graphic Designer (Current Employee), Independence, MOOctober 24, 2012
Great, dedicated team. Lot's of pride in all the work we do there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people to work with
Project Manager (Current Employee), Downers Grove, ILSeptember 4, 2012
Relaxed atmosphere. Many projects going on in the corporate office which makes for the days moving at a fast pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I care not to get into detail about my current employer online. If information is requested, we may discuss them in private.
Freelance Journalist (Current Employee), Southeastern MassachusettsMay 28, 2012
I care not to get into detail about my current employer online. If information is requested, we may discuss them in private.

About Gatehouse Media

GateHouse Media lets the local news flow freely. The company is a leading community newspaper publisher with more than 435 publications – Read more