Find companies:
Gates Corporation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
30 reviews

Gates Corporation Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
heat treating
Production Inspector (Former Employee), Versailles, MOJuly 17, 2014
run parts thur machine to be heat treated
the hardnest of metal
management is ok
the computer
not getting burnt by the machine
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All talk, no walk
Health, Safety, and Environmental (HSE) Specialist (Former Employee), Galesburg, ILMay 5, 2014
Pros: benefits and good veteran workers.
Cons: plant manager, operations manager, no life outside galesburg, no resources to be successful.
Gates Corporation, especially Galesburg, IL manufacturing and North America Hose and Assembly, states they support health and safety, but they do not provide the necessary resources to complete the tasks. I was expected to maintain a 300% work load and still meet all regulatory and corporate compliance. The facility, machinery, and management systems – more... have been neglected for years and will take years to correct at present state. The HSE Specialist (Manager) position is not set up for success with little or no support from other management positions (e.g. maintenance is under-staffed so support is difficult to get, Operations Manager is more interested in production, plant manager makes promises he does not keep). If you apply for the Galesburg, IL HSE Manager position, expect 60-80 hour weeks and plenty of stress. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Funny that they had a ping pong table when I started but it was removed. All work, no fun.
Picker/Packer (Former Employee), Hebron, KYMarch 25, 2014
Pros: good pay.
Cons: too many hours. tops out at $14.50 per hour.
Constantly changing. Shifts changing, rules changing, personnel changing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun at times
Order Picker (Former Employee), Hebron, KYMarch 23, 2014
I loved working for this company the time i had been there but,for personal reasons it was time to move on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for a robot or someone who doesn't value their own opinion
Management Systems Coordinator / QA Tech (Former Employee), Versailles, MOMarch 17, 2014
Pros: best paying job in a small market area. good benefits.
Cons: all operations and controls are conducted via remote headquarters; usually outside the us
Stable place to work but it's hard to deal with the policies thrown out by corporate management who don't understand the local environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gates is a very prodfessional well organized company with many opportunities
Corporate North America Divisional Engineer (Former Employee), Ashe County NCMarch 14, 2014
Pros: exciting fast paced company that rewards extra effort
Cons: a lot of pressure and travel required
I enjoyed my time at Gtaes and made many good friends and professional contacts. It was a great company to work for. There was at times a lot of pressure to perform but it was rewarding work. I left due to excessive travel required with my corporate level position but quite honestly regret leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work...
Accountant (Former Employee), Denver, COMarch 12, 2014
Great place to work! I would recommend working here if you can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I cut hydraulic hoses at precise measurments according to orders and also crimp parts and pack orders out according to what the customer wants.
SAW OPERATOR (Current Employee), Iola, KSJanuary 12, 2014
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at work I am getting orders ready to be shipped according to the customer needs. I work well with others, I enjoy working in a team but can also do fine on my own. I am a fast learner and alwasy try to make sure I get the job done right. The hardest part of my job would have to be the excessive amount of manditory overtime. It is not easy – more... to do with kids. I have always enjoyed my job I enjoy learning new tasks and skills and then following through with customer satifaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Experience
Quality Technician (Former Employee), Poplar Bluff, MODecember 11, 2013
Where I developed and trained in Quality. Good employees over all. Good work atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production Work
Production Associate (Former Employee), Siloam Springs, ARDecember 2, 2013
Pros: traveling
Cons: being away from family
We made timing belts for all types of machine and vehicles. We inspected and over-inspected to customer's specification
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good feeling when u walked into the doors. its a great place to work.
Maintenance man (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 5, 2013
Pros: if know one gets hurt or if we did over are goal they feed us.
I loved the place. I was a inter there for 1000 hours. I would love to work back there again. It is a good family environment. Good people all around, and good bosses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work at
Production Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Moncks Corner, SCOctober 4, 2013
very nice people they were very helping looking for more oppurtunities to work with them
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work. Enjoyable. Yearly company picnics, and other company sponsored activities.
Maintenance Supervisor (Current Employee), Jefferson, NCJuly 26, 2013
Pros: free coffee/hot chocolate, luncheons. training.
Cons: hot environment. closing due to economy.
I really enjoy going to work everyday. Each day contains different challenges. The management encourages employee participation in safety and idea gathering. I attend many different types of training classes (i.e. SPC, Safety, Problem Solving, Employee Relations, etc.) The hardest part of my job is employee scheduling due to understaffing in the maintenance – more... department. The part of my job I enjoy the most is being able to make production employees jobs easier through continuous improvements. I am saddened that the plant is closing due to the economic down turn in our country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working but fun staff that is very willing to help when needed.
Accounting Intern (Former Employee), Denver, COJuly 19, 2013
Work would begin at around 7:30-8am and go until 4:30-5pm.

Management was very willing to give feedback or answer any questions about a project that was being worked on and coworkers were more than willing to help answer other questions when managers were busy.

Got decent exposure to the software ORACLE and GERS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going
Plating Line Support (Former Employee), Versailles, MOJune 7, 2013
Pros: you can make up time that you missed
Cons: hard to move up
Good place to work for descent pay. Understands lifes bumps in the road. Great co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Lean Coordinator (Former Employee), Columbia, MOMay 16, 2013
run reports, check materials for defects. Co-workers were awesome and fun to be around. We all worked together as a team to get things completed. Hardest part of job was getting management involved in daily activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management and staff; work hard in a healthy lifestyle driven atmosphere, supports public transportation and keep employees informed.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 5, 2013
Worked in Corporate in Denver. Team members were carefully chosen for work ethic, knowledge, skills and ability to fit well within the team and company in general. The general working culture was supportive of new ideas and solutions to problems. Although benchmark driven the company also provided tools to meet those benchmarks. It was a pleasure to – more... work at Gates. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World-wide corporation
Technical Analyst II (Current Employee), Denver, COJanuary 23, 2013
Pros: excellent location in lodo
Cons: no chance of permanent employment
Gates contracts many positions including IT with little or no chance of full time employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complexity and mixed priorities
Senior Analyst (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 27, 2012
Overall a complex place to work. Focused more on cost containment than revenue growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I picked and packed orders using a scanner gun
I picked and packed orders (Former Employee), Lithonia, GANovember 8, 2012
I loved this job. It was the fact that it was a short term project

About Gates Corporation

This company's belts don't keep pants up; they¬†keep¬†vehicles running instead. One of the largest manufacturers of automotive and – Read more