GATX Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Carmen (Former Employee) –  Geismar, LAJune 21, 2017
This job has the greatest benefits I've ever had at a job. I wouldn't mind working for GATX again if the pay was better. the only bad thing is all training is out of state.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
will ask you to sing papers you should not sing
FINISHING SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Waycross, GAApril 18, 2017
good job but management not so good. employees with the local union was fun and great to work with I miss them but I lost my job because management pushed me to sing off on forms that was a false statement of work that was done and them they got caught but I was the one let go.
Pros
could leave property for lunch
Cons
managment sucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its not a job its a career
Carman/Welder (Current Employee) –  Doyline, LAFebruary 28, 2017
Great company. Always room for advancement. The work isn't hard physically but have to be on your p&q's when it comes to the forms and documents. They change very regular. Safety and quality are major focus points with this company. Management does get a little political from time to time but overall it's nothing bad.
Pros
Benefits, promotions
Cons
Pay, managements politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I ran a glue machine
Glue Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Coloma, MIFebruary 2, 2017
I was responsible for gluing labels on cans and making sure the correct bar codes matched the can, which continuously changed, had to do QC on labels
Pros
Everyone worked well together
Cons
Getting glue on my clothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here poor management
Railcar Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Terre Haute, INJanuary 27, 2017
I was fired for not being properly trained. Wasn't even given a heads up just fired within 2 minutes. I even asked for help and was denied.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Field Service Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Donaldsonville, LADecember 14, 2016
it was easy work need higher pay the working hours was not long at all.. good benefits and great co workers to work with everyday
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad all
Switchman/locomotive operator (Former Employee) –  Hearne, TXDecember 9, 2016
Once you get a little seniority you can move to different positions. Pay isn't to bad for the area. I like what I do.. off shifts are a little more relaxed than first shift
Pros
paid lunch, good compensation for the area
Cons
Short lunch, first shift supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
field service repairman (Current Employee) –  East Chicago, INAugust 8, 2016
great company to work for and always comply by AAR and FRA regulations. strictly by the book as far as valve and coils.GATX over exceed customer expectations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Railcar Repair
Welder (Former Employee) –  Waycross, GAJuly 12, 2016
GATX is a leader in the railcar industry. The company had an emphasis on safety and quality. The management were well versed in their positions, but would sometimes try to micromanage things a little bit too much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Company to work with
Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  222 W Adam street, ChicagoFebruary 19, 2016
People here are excellent, super nice and friendly. I learnt a lot from this working experience. The company cares about their people and the benefit is quite well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for GATX As a repairman
Senior field service repairman WIS (Former Employee) –  Tumwater, WADecember 12, 2015
My experience with GATX was awesome as far as the ability to be a positive presence and entity for the companies customers
I loved helping to customers with any of their rail car needs and interacting with them
I had 15 years with GATX and had the opportunity to work all over the United states
Alaska Texas Georgia Louisiana Idaho Oregon & California .
All in all a positive experience
I truly miss some of the personalities I was working with as well.
Pros
Travel yet most days I was home with my family
Cons
Sometimes travel ment I was not home when my kids were younger
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place it once was
worker (Former Employee) –  Lakeland, FLNovember 4, 2015
The changes in upper management has really put a toll on the workforce as far as company moral. They have adopted a micro management style that has pushed out good employees and losing customer focus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Switchman (Former Employee) –  Hearne, TXJuly 29, 2015
Learned what was needed to make it a productive day worked hard and like co workers.It was a job and I liked what I was learning.
Pros
Lunch break
Cons
insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive end fun workplace
mechanic welder (Former Employee) –  Colton, CAMarch 1, 2013
give maintenence to diffrent type of rail cars its a union work the union offer better benefits
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breacks
Was this review helpful?Yes 54No 35Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Warehouseman (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXOctober 24, 2012
Learned much here in this warehouse from managing to import/export and inventory. Too many work hours not enough pay or compensation.
Pros
discounts on electronics
Cons
lack of time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely Office
Mailroom Coordinator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CASeptember 28, 2012
Working for GATX was a lot of work but I enjoyed every moment. A lot of mail and packages but I love to stay busy at work. I went from being a mail clerk to being a Mailroom Coordinator which I was very proud of. The Supervisor was like a 2nd mom to me always helpful such a great boss
Pros
big company, like family, team players
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to work with
Communications Analyst (Former Employee) –  Normal, ILJune 11, 2012
I worked with GATX for 7 years in the past. Was challenging and fun.
Would work with them again if possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GATX Rail is a great company with many offers
field service leadman (Current Employee) –  lakeland, flDecember 3, 2011
GATX Rail is a great company with great benefits and competitive wages. I really enjoy working for GATX but more money is always welcome, GATX has giving me many oppurtunities to grow and expand my mind
Pros
great benefits
Cons
not many raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 28No 13Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GATX. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 19 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.4
Culture
4.0