GCA Services Group Employee Reviews

Found 853 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job
costodian (Former Employee) –  Nampa, IDFebruary 26, 2017
The employees were great to work with. Had a set schedule but when offered to work at different schools i took it. When overtime was offered i did it worked there for many years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work day
Vehicle Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Denver, COFebruary 25, 2017
They are a very outreaching company. They opened their doors to everyone that was willing to work hard for the company. I am appreciative of the opportunity.
Pros
A company that gives opportunity to everyone.
Cons
Difficult to shift change due to shortage of employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team to work with
General Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 24, 2017
I like to work with the people in the building and this job has taught me to be able to work independently and also to help out co workers as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Concern for employee/manager welfare
Account Manager/Warehouse Sanitation Manager (Former Employee) –  Fountain, COFebruary 24, 2017
After improving the account and fixing numerous issues I was told I was no longer needed and was let go and was given no reason
Pros
set your own schedule
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
full of inconsistencies
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 23, 2017
With regards to upper management: "the left hand seldom knows what the right hand is doing" but the employees are generally hard working.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To work for GCA
Lead Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Saint Francisville, LAFebruary 21, 2017
GCA was a place to meet new people and an ok company to work for, but there weren't any good medical benefits for the regular employees. There was no opportunity for growth or any increased compensation, it's like your just stuck. The Regional and Area Managers would come in to see what we needed and our response would always be an increase in pay. They would always say they will look into it and never get back with us, that went on the entire four years of my time there.
Pros
Retirement benefits
Cons
No good health care benefits and no incentitive pay or pay raises
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job itself isn't bad. Management is just not good
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Louisville, KYFebruary 21, 2017
If you get in good with the account manager. You should be ok. The job is very laid back . They don't make you feel like they are Baby sitting you. The supervisor is very understanding
Pros
Laid back
Cons
No overtime . Hours or days arent set
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challanging yet rewarding work atmosphere
Janitorial Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, WAFebruary 21, 2017
GCA is a great place to start your experience. I have advanced rapidly due to higher up supervisors paying attention to my leadership capabilities. I speak highly for the company and have valued respect to the buisness in which they offer. They are highly competitive and give unlimited advancement opprotunity.
Pros
Union based company
Cons
Needs to hire more help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Tow Motor Driver (Former Employee) –  Shelby, NCFebruary 21, 2017
A 12 hour day
fiberglass hurts skin burn & itches
I didn't see management that much too busy working
good work take a lunch break & go back to work
walking around in steel toe boots
getting off work after being there for 12 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady paced, consistent work area
Driver/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Kissimmee, FLFebruary 21, 2017
You start your shift by finding your leader/supervisor and the group that they are supervising for the day, at this time you are assigned a lot where you are responsible for retrieving dropped off cars and taking them in for cleaning, from there you pick up a cleaned car and take it through the car wash and then on to the lot where you are told which company's lot to park it in, after parking it, you find another dropped off car and at this point its wash, rinse and repeat.

at the time of my employment, management was run by people that did not know what they were doing. I've heard news of their purge and improvement of their management
Pros
hour long lunch breaks with the many airport restaurants within walking distance, employee discounts at said restaurants
Cons
difficult to earn a promotion or raise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Produtive work
Janitorial (Current Employee) –  Panama City, FLFebruary 20, 2017
Need more hours ... And higher pay good place for a starter job or someone just needing a 2nd job but cant live off of the pay for a family but bosses are great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
housekeeping
Bathroom Attendant (Former Employee) –  Hudson, OHFebruary 20, 2017
Gca services was a great company to work for. The management team was always attentive to everyone needs on the cleaning crew. We had weekly meetings to keep us informed and also just to vent out our problems at times. The management team all worked well together. It matters to have mature people who all focus on the same goals.
Pros
weekly meetings, constant work, friendly work enviroment
Cons
hourly rate a little low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHFebruary 19, 2017
I enjoyed my time at this company, I grew a whole lot under the manager I had. It was my pleasure to work there during the time I did.
I moved on for a bigger opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is based on your speed, but long-term employment isn't desirable
Creeler (Former Employee) –  Lexington, NCFebruary 17, 2017
I would only recommend this group (the Lexington one) for temporary or short-term employment. They are a staffing agency that prefers to be called contractors. The one I went to makes contracts with client companies to lock their workers out of trying to become a permanent employee of said client company.

What this means is you will be stuck getting paid like $10/hr for work that the other workers would get $14 doing, at minimum.

Depending on your position, you control the flow of your own work. So you can take many breaks as long as you can stay ahead or keep up with the work.

Management is pretty understandable and fun to talk to.
Pros
Overtime always available and management seems cool
Cons
Locking employees out of rising their pay through contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Panama City, FLFebruary 15, 2017
Good place to work if you're looking for a part time job. Good place to work if you like to clean and work with few people around. Night time work
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Few workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was great challenging at times but I liked working for them
Custodian Worker (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville FloridaFebruary 15, 2017
You have to be patient good attitude willing to clean I cleaned classrooms. Restrooms. Office. Library. Pulled trash. Picked up trash outside of school
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Rental Driver (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 12, 2017
 Provided customer service at AVIS Rental Group
 Ported vehicles in parking areas and to maintenance shop
 Performed vehicle inspection for damages
 Transported vehicles from city to city
 Light inventory of maintenance vehicles
Pros
Overtime, Long trips, Tips
Cons
Management, no time off, strict lunch policy
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outside
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 11, 2017
Good company to work for if you chose to stay in the your beginning position . They say room for advancement it's rare. Will work for the company again if they keep their word as far as room for advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple locations so you never know what you will get
Custodian/Janitor (Current Employee) –  St. Louis Canyon, ILFebruary 10, 2017
They had a hard time always finding replacements and they were not big on overtime. There were man times I got sent home 2 or more hours before my shift ended. Pro and a con.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GCA is a nice place to work.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 7, 2017
It is nice for a full-time student as I was. Great team, everybody helps. However, when hours are given employees have to take advantage of them.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GCA Services Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 858 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.6
Management
2.7
Culture
2.9