Find companies:
GCA Services
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
115 reviews

GCA Services Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Janitor (Former Employee), Romulus, MIDecember 4, 2014
Pros: good people, not stressful
Cons: poor management
I would come in everyday with a daily sheet that I would need to complete every day. If I got done early, I would find extra tasks to complete. I would start with cleaning all the bathrooms, then after that, cleaning all 3 offices. That would include vacuuming, dusting, trash removal, and wiping desks down. I learned how to practice clean environments – more... and safety precautions. I enjoyed working with my co-workers even though I was only able to work with them for an hour or two. The hardest part of the job was getting everything cleaned before customers came in. The most enjoyable part was the comments and appreciation I received from the employee's there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Supervisor (Current Employee), Cookeville, TNDecember 3, 2014
Came in and cleaned classrooms, I learned to not only clean but to sanitize everything. management is good but needs to learn to multi task. I loved my co workers they was great. the hardest part of my job was being supervisor I had to keep reminding myself that when I had to address an issue. I enjoyed meeting new people and working around a lot of – more... them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
housekeeping (Former Employee), Richmond, VADecember 1, 2014
It was an ok place to work. The pay was not enough to support my family. A good place for someone to work right out of high school or in college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work at
Custodial Worker (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXNovember 11, 2014
Pros: steady income
Cons: cleaning up after people
Cleaned and cared for buildings and facilities to ensure health and safety precautions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly co workers, awesome place to work
Custodian (Current Employee), Anderson, SCOctober 31, 2014
Pros: nice co workers
Cons: not good enough benefits
Go in get my cart ready and get started. I love this job i am still currently employed there. Easy going people, nice supervisors. There isnt many hardest parts of this job. just go in do what your suppose to and if you get done early find some other work that may need to be done
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with the Principals and teachers.
Account Manager (Former Employee), Panama City, FLOctober 27, 2014
Pros: traveling and meeting people.
Cons: worked too many hours.
Typical day was to start delivering supplies to all the schools and talking to the Principals. Handling any complaints. Working schedules and supplies around school activities. Training employees.

I learned that you can't always please people but to not take it personally.

Had some of the best co-workers that you could ever ask to have.

Hardest part – more... of my job was lay off time or firing someone.

Most enjoyable was at the end of the summer and all the schools were cleaned and ready for a new school year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Account Supervisor (Current Employee), Newark, NJOctober 13, 2014
Temp agency , disorganized, no benefits, good manager but no establish
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GCA services custodial work
Custodian (Current Employee), Storrs Mansfield, CTOctober 9, 2014
Pros: no pros.
Cons: unhealthy work environment.
A typical day of work is always the same. Y shift starts at 4 am. we start the day with signing out keys we are in charge of for opening and cleaning the building we are assigned. During the school year we do regular cleaning but when the students are on vacation we do project work like heavy dusting, stripping and waxing floors and bonneting and extracting – more... rugs. All my knowledge of performing my duties I learned from previous companies that used to have the contract before. The management lacks in people skills and is infested with heavy nepotism. My co-workers are hard workers that some times are made to work more than they should and are given to many job duties to perform in the time frame they are asked to do them in. The hardest part of my job is dealing with the supervisors that are only there because they are friends with the management and have no knowledge of the cleaning industry and removal of heavy snow in the winter. Thee most enjoyable part of my job is basically signing out and leaving because the management and supervisors do not induce a healthy work environment. There is no moving up in this company unless you are friends with management personal. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Enviroment - Fun & Rewarding
worker (Current Employee), MichiganSeptember 26, 2014
The management team is very involved and rewarding. They make your day fun and enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at your own pace
General Contractor (Former Employee), Berwick, MESeptember 23, 2014
Pros: easy job to learn
Cons: extensive outside work in winter
A typical day of work involved me working in shipping and receiving at the North Berwick, Maine Pratt & Whitney plant. I would load/unload trucks as necessary, and check in orders as we received them. I learned how to operate a fork truck and scissor lift. Management was fun to work for, and were willing to train me on new things when needed. I got – more... along well with all my co-workers. The hardest part of the job was having to be outside during snow storms loading or unloading trucks, and the most enjoyable part was learning how to drive the forktruck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work flow
Lead Driver (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNSeptember 16, 2014
Managing drivers in an car rental at the airport is always challenging. The work flow at the airport is always busy as we cater to many business travelers coming in to town. One is always challenged to make sure cars are delivered in a concise matter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and enjoyable
Lead Custodian (Former Employee), Memphis, TNSeptember 2, 2014
The co-workers are just great. The environment was just for me, laid back and very friendly. The management was a complete mess but things turned out just fine. If they paid more i would have stayed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Custodian (Current Employee), New Haven, CTAugust 23, 2014
Pros: great staff, easy work, reliable job
Cons: part-time
A typical night at my job is easy but productive. My job is to make sure all classrooms, bathrooms, staircases, offices and hallways in my wing are cleaned to the building managers expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good enviorment
Custodial Worker (Current Employee), Commerce, TXAugust 19, 2014
hands on and good customer service and good hours. managers will work with you
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just clean
cleaner (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 11, 2014
Pros: its a job
Cons: nepotism is a issue of the day
there is alot nepotism not a place to grow and learn no bueno and plus is just a job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Regional Zone Manager (Former Employee), Memphis, TNAugust 8, 2014
Great easy flow job a lot of traveling and getting to know the city.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Janitor (Former Employee), Bowling Green, KYAugust 4, 2014
Pros: kind leaders and coworkers
Cons: hour cuts
I Loved working for this company and the location I was stationed at. Had it not been for the cut hours I would have been able to stay. My duties were simple and allowed for an effective and enjoyable job. My supervisor was kind and a great leader and my co-corkers were kind and helpful when help was needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night crew custodial services with over-time opportunities
Custodian (Former Employee), Fairbanks, AKAugust 2, 2014
Pros: appeciation for a job well done
Cons: night-shift
While working for GCA Services i was assigned a building at the University Of Alaska where I independently performed my custodial duties. I learned time management skills and how to perform building maintenance. I informed management of any problems in my building and cleaned bathrooms, offices and lobbies. My shift started at 10pm and ending at 6am – more... with over-time opportunities. Sometimes night shift can be difficult to work if you don't have a strict sleeping routine. UAF employees often showed appreciation for our custodial work by leaving us gifts around the holidays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Good work place to work for.
Custodian/Floor Technician (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJuly 23, 2014
I cleaned around 13-15 classrooms daily also waxed and buffed hallways and classrooms floors. The management was nice and also fun to work with and the co- workers. There really was not a hard part on the job. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new things because I love to learn new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeping the students and staff comfortable
HVAC Technician (Current Employee), Charlotte, NCJune 9, 2014
I make sure the students and staff happy by making sure the buildings are comfortable. It helps them to work better and pay attention so that they can stay alert. My coworkers and I work well together by assisting each other when needed. The job can be hard when machinery is being difficulty to get started. The enjoyable part of my job is making everyone – more... happy. – less

1 2 3 4 5