Find companies:
Geek Squad
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
182 reviews

Geek Squad Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring, Repetitive Work with Poor Management
ARA, Service Representative, and Store Associate (Former Employee), Oakland, CANovember 19, 2014
Pros: none really, store discount i guess? not super helpful with the low wage
Cons: everything
Boring work with boring and petty management, no room for advancement unless you stayed at the company for upwards of 8+ years (lol) or were outlandishly qualified. (MBA, 8+ years experience, and new the store manager.)

The SOP was confusing since it was literally changed every 2 months to trip up new employees to give the management reasons to write – more... you up unless you continuously sucked up to them. Poor work ethic among other employees and favoritism is/was rampant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail-based tech support
Consultation Agent (Current Employee), Okemos, MINovember 12, 2014
While the nature of retail can be stressful, the Geek Squad provided a stability and sense of team that nurtured educational and professional growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly and forward thinking workplace
Advanced Repair Agent (ARA) (Current Employee), North Attleboro, MANovember 11, 2014
A typical day at work involves multitasking between the repairs, personal data and client issues of between 40 - 70 people at a time. I often find that an 8-hour shift turns to 10, turns to 12 and before I realize it, I've blown through an entire day in my attempt to successfully keep up with demands. The love of my co-workers and results-only mentality – more... of a group of talented individuals looking to fulfill a purpose higher than just a paycheck is a community mentality that I am proud to say that I've contributed to. The most enjoyable part of being in the midst of the organized chaos of each day and the countless victories and lessons learned from the inevitable failures is knowing that I'll take that ability to foster growth within a team with me to all future employers and walks of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work and good coworkers - lacking management
Advanced Repair Agent (Current Employee), Morgantown, WVNovember 9, 2014
Pros: excellent training materials, friendly coworkers, employee discount
Cons: short breaks (30-min), lack of involved management, very little recognition, (management only looks at sales employees for mvp/employee of quarter, services employees usually go unnoticed.)
I've worked for the Geek Squad for over 3 years. The position has not changed much, but management has consistently declined. On paper, my primary responsibilities include heading up computer and device repair (hardware and software) and communicating repair statuses to clients. Currently, no supervisor or manager above me has ever worked for the Geek – more... Squad. They insist I prioritize selling services or greeting clients (positions filled by other agents). Management is 100% sales oriented and has little to no idea how to handle the services industry.

Most days are filled with multiple customer issues. Generally, an average day is not too difficult, but the stress level can be high for long hours, and, hourly compensation does not nearly make up for this. The pay rate is representative of near-minimum wage while the difficult clients and never-ending issues require near-management level decision making on a daily basis.

I rarely see my direct supervisor. He has no prior Geek Squad experience and has made no effort to learn any procedures or other information aside from the price of services (nor is he under any pressure to by higher management). This leads to some communication difficulties as he usually can't explain our procedures or processes in-detail when dealing with client issues.

My coworkers are great and easy to get along with. Most of us are like-minded and I get along well with anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geek Squad was a lot of fun and it was great to be a part of.
Advanced Repair Agent (Current Employee), Salt Lake City, UTNovember 2, 2014
Pros: environment
Typical day at work is reviewing the queue briefly. Going over prior shift's agent notes on the computers. And going about repairing the computers. Management was a little hands off because there isn't a lot to manage. Co-workers are mostly all IT students. We had a lot of fun. The motto is "Having fun while being the best" and we took that pretty seriously. – more... We always aimed to be as high in the company as possible but also had our fun. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
PC Repair Consultant (Current Employee), Vauxhall, NJOctober 22, 2014
Pros: learning a lot of selling skills
Cons: takes a while to get used to the challenges.
I learned alot about selling and provide customer service. It was a great start for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's mostly the process that holds this position back
Advanced Repair Agent (Current Employee), Joplin, MOOctober 21, 2014
Pros: education
Cons: noncompetitive compensation
Confused labor structures can makes the job challenging.

Helping clients and employees better understand technology is incredibly rewarding. Most agents really are there to help.

People are great, but until BBY isn't a part of the picture GS will be held back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun environment enabling you to grow.
Operations Agent (Current Employee), Blaine, MNOctober 14, 2014
Very great place to work with constant training available on your time. Coworkers made the job fun and exciting while staying motivated and formal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace to get started on IT or learn a bit more if you're already IT oriented.
Operations Agent (Current Employee), IndianaOctober 8, 2014
Pros: you get to do what you love (if you love technology/computers)
Cons: it's still retail (don't need to say much more than that)
I started working for Best Buy as a Wireless Sales Consultant, but as my passion is computers, I quickly tried to "move up" and went for a Geek Squad job opening. The first position I had within Geek Squad was as Consultation Agent, meaning, I would greet customers and try to identify their computer/other devices problems and tell them what would it – more... take to get them taken cared of. I liked it a lot, but what I really wanted to do was fix computers, and so I quickly moved up to Operations Agent, who's primary role is to make sure that everything is "in order", starting by managing paperwork, making sure that customers computers where not sitting in a shelf for days without being worked on, providing assistance to Consultation Agents and ultimately, anything else that needed doing in the department.
However, it also allowed me to start digging into computer repairs and proving my knowledge as well as learning a few more tricks along the way. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job for beginner computer repair
Advanced Repair Agent (Current Employee), Township of Cranberry, PAOctober 2, 2014
Pros: help with knowledge of computers
Cons: pay
If you enjoy computers this is a good job to have. It is more of a beginner level/intermediate level computer position
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place, very retailesque.
Advanced Repair Agent (Current Employee), Grandville, MISeptember 7, 2014
Pros: fun, get lots of computer repair experience.
Cons: retail, extremely repetitive.
Great place to work when you look at the people you work with and how much fun and experience you gain, however it is still retail and it slowly kills your soul.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Refurbishing Associate (Former Employee), Brooks, KYSeptember 2, 2014
Pros: people, job security
Cons: pay is not great
A typical day is opening televisions categorizing good parts and repairing bad parts.
Use old good parts to Frankenstein televisions back together and sell them as refurbished.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Geek Squad
Customer Service Support (Former Employee), Humble, TXAugust 29, 2014
Responsible for frontline phone support quick analysis answering basic PC, Tablet & Software.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
mounting tv and installing home audio
Installation Technician (Former Employee), king of prussiaAugust 23, 2014
 Responsible for pre-wiring, installing, programming, and maintenance of products and services ordered for structures
 Trained the customer on system use and how to obtain system maintenance if needed
 Acted as a company representative in clients' homes, and to act as a consultant while in the store
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was bad
Counter Intelligence Agent (Former Employee), Omaha, NEAugust 16, 2014
My first year at the company was great, but eventually management was totally replaced....actually twice. Corporate likes to cycle through management at Best Buy firing them for pretty much anything. It got to the point where I had completely new management that scoffed at Geek Squad and didn't appreciate us at all. They made so many budget cuts that – more... it was eventually just ONE agent scheduled at a time for an absolutely insane amount of work. My job ended up being me apologizing to customers for the last couple months. I had to explain that our management was too incompetent to schedule more than a single employee to work on 30+ computers, do all the shipments, answer all the phone calls, do all the screen installs, do all phone claims, run the register, do GSP returns, and run the front counter for each and every shift. Any company that thinks a single employee can handle that much work is absolutely insane, and that is why I left. The job used to be manageable but our new management was more concerned about how staffing hours looked on paper at a corporate level than the service we provided to our customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starting Point For Professional Technical Experience
Administrator/Operations Agent (Current Employee), North Haven, CTAugust 13, 2014
Pros: i loved being around computers all day, it was (kind of) a desk job, being in charge was fun in certain situations, employee discount on most items in the store
Cons: hated the responsibility, no breaks unless i worked an 8 hour shift, manager without the pay, very limited to what we could perform at geek squad
I originally applied for Geek Squad to start to build my professional experience with computers while obtaining an hourly wage. It was not exactly what I was looking for when comparing to my current major in school, but it was technical experience nonetheless.

When I had first started working for Geek Squad, I had no idea how the company's operating – more... procedure was performed. I figured it was a place where people would drop their computer off, we'd fix them, and give them their computer back. However, because we were a subsidiary of Best Buy, we had to follow extremely strict SOP. I will not list all of our rules, but it was anything from "We can't do this 5 minute heat sync replacement here in store. We have to send it to our service center in Kentucky and it's going to be a 1-2 week repair" to "I can't install your operating system for you, even though I have a Windows 7 disc and your product key. I need your recovery disks, which come from the manufacturer and include all of the manufacturer's built-in software [bloatware]. You don't have them? Well, you need to call HP to obtain them and it will take about a week to receive them. We will keep your broken computer in the meantime."

I was originally informed that the job was going to consist of being in charge of shipping and receiving, scheduling client appointments, and minor troubleshooting over the phone. However, this position also came with the responsibility of administering the entire precinct's operations. If any other agent was to make a mistake, it was my duty to resolve it. If there were any customer issues, my job was to get to the route of the problem, compromise, and make the customer happy while being fair to the company as well.

As time went on, I realized that this job required much more time, effort, and responsibility than I was willing to present as a full-time student. Everyone's work fell back on me, and the smallest mistake could result in a catastrophic loss to the company. I was also not satisfied with my hourly wage, especially because I had felt that I was the supervisor without the paycheck. Stress began to build and tension became present across the entire precinct.

As the next semester is starting at the end of the month, I will not be able to handle the stress and maintain a high GPA simultaneously. I am looking to leave the company soon to focus on school, however I want to continue to build my technical experience and maintain a steady pay as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with room to grow
CA (Consultation Agent) (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYAugust 13, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: unpaid lunch
Delivering world class customer service. Repair computers with software and hardware issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Operations Agent (Current Employee), 36301August 12, 2014
I really enjoyed working for Best Buy and for the Geek Squad.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
rapid exchange (Former Employee), brooks, kentuckyAugust 7, 2014
Cons: uniforms
not a bad job if u like sitting in one spot all day. the management was decent laid back all around a great place to work. if u want a job where u can work at your own pace but still meet a quota this is where u need to be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
many opportunites to partcipate in community work
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Woodridge, ILAugust 4, 2014
the job is forever changing, one moment you are doing one thing, than you're told the whole time you were doing it wrong

1 2 3 4 5