Find companies:
GEICO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
593 reviews

GEICO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company / Terrific Growth Potential
Liability Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Renton, WAOctober 20, 2014
This is a great company to work for. The career growth potential is very good, but don't assume you don't have to put your best effort forward. Very good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable company, poor work/life balance
Claims Adjuster (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VAOctober 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, co-workers, mission of the company
Cons: workload, poor work/life balance
good company that has an excellent reputation, great benefits and very good mission statement, focusing on integrity of work and its employees. However work/life balance can suffer because the workload can be so demanding and there is not enough employees to be able to get the work done in the amount of time that you are expected to do so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micromanaged
Senior Claims Examiner (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: pay and peofit sharing
Cons: ubmeetabe goals. senior. management. micromanagment. that god danned lizard
Very stressful place to work. They micromanage you and have unmeetable goals and they constantly Change how they want the job done. They script everything and want you to screw the customers out of their insurance benefits and fix cars with used or Chinese parts. They make you miserable. Nothing is ever right. They always want you to do more with less. – more... They even get mad if you use paper. They also make you sit in broken furniture. They listen in on calls and nothing is good enough. There are about 80 things to say or do in a call. They want calls to be 2:30 minuites and want everything perfect and 1 call resolution. They also penalize you for taking calls with a calls per feature resolution goal and they audit claims and penilize you if you don't save them money even if the parts and labor are fair and they stress you so much that many including me got sick and vomited every day and could not sleep and they wanted you to put up pictures of the anoying gecko and force you to look at him. The pay was good but management was awful and they always change bosses and goals and how they want the same job done. They are abusive mentally and they punish you for going to the doctor. I ended up on aderall Zoloft seraquil sleeping pills and more. I got shakes and tried suicide 2 times. Its not worth it. No wonder they are always hiring. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work overall!
Bodily Injury Claims Adjuster (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: free lunches, company wide parties
Cons: none!
GEICO was a great place to work! Management was supportive and always helpful. The workplace was always positive and upbeat, even when the workload was high. Everyday challenges were always acknowledged by management and the team always worked together to complete tasks. Benefits and compensation were also great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family priented
Claims Representative (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIOctober 13, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay
Cons: micro managed, lack of resources
If you have a family this job is not for you. The hours are horrible and management is a joke.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace
Hybrid Claims Examiner (Former Employee), Woodbury, NYOctober 10, 2014
Demanding workload
Good People
Great Company
Good Benefits
Good Profit Sharing
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure job, no work life balance.
Auto Damage Adjuster (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTOctober 8, 2014
Pros: company car, great medical benefits.
Cons: too heavy workload, little time off.
A typical day is spent handling claims, managing shop relationships, and managing auto parts supply chains. GEICO is great about providing education about the job. Local supervisors are in touch and easy to work with; management above that are superficial and way too metric oriented. Hardest part about the job is the too heavy workload and difficulty – more... in getting time off. Best part about the job is the ability to work independently. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work with great benefits and great people
Licensed Sales Agent (Former Employee), Macon, GAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: profit sharing checks, tuition reimbursement, compensation, and benefits
Cons: short breaks
A typical day at GEICO was always educational and exciting. I learned how to interact with customers as well as build a better relationship with the team including management. The management team was always encouraging and went above and beyond to make sure we did our jobs accurately. They thoroughly equipped us so that we were prepared for in advance – more... within the company. Management always made themselves available. The hardest part of the job was the testing. However, the trainers did an excellent job at making sure we were prepared for the upcoming tests. the most enjoyable part at this job was the interaction with fellow team members, contests, and achieving the goals we had as a company while. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay and benefits were great buy highly stressful.
ERS DISPATCHER (Former Employee), Macon, GAOctober 8, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: very stressful
My health changed working at GEICO. I went from taking no medication to having to take a blood pressure pill at night so I could raise my head off of the pillow and then taking one in the morning to sustain me through out the day. I was also on a prev pack for my stomach in which the doctors finally advised me (after indo and colonoscopies) that stress – more... was causing me to have stomach pain and throwing up EVERY DAY. When I left I stopped having the stomach problems and had to take only one blood pressure pill. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job for high school kids
Product Modeling Analyst/ Customer Analytics Team (Current Employee), Washington, DCOctober 7, 2014
offers decent flexibility for high school kids. It was a good job though some of the people are incompetent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unhealthy
Emergency Road Service Dispatcher (Former Employee), Macon, GAOctober 7, 2014
While GEICO pays very well, the stress isn't worth the money. They set unrealistic expectations for their employees and then punish you for not meeting said unrealistic expectations. They train you on how to handle calls in one way, but they "grade your calls based on a different set of unknown, arbitrary criteria.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tons of opportunity and great culture
Continuing Unit Examiner (Former Employee), Tucson, AZOctober 3, 2014
Pros: benefits (also includes profit sharing), advancement opportunities, company culture, appropriate associate recognition, concentration on associate development
Cons: high pressure/stress
I held 4 different positions with GEICO in my four years there, all positions were in the claims department. My final position included handling open claims that involved serious bodily injuries and claims in litigation. My day included speaking to all parties involved in an accident, investigating policy coverage, determining liability for the accident, – more... settling bodily injury claims, and corresponding with counsel on claims in litigation.

GEICO is overall a fantastic company to work for. They really do value their employees and if you work hard every day you will go far. They operate with a high level integrity and have a significant emphasis on employee development and morale. The benefits are great including medical, dental, vision, 401K, and annual profit sharing and they really strive to provide a fun work environment. There is ample advancement opportunity to those who constantly strive to be the best and put in the appropriate amount of effort.

The only two pitfalls can be working with difficult customers (almost everyone hates insurance company claim representatives; the industry just has a bad reputation even though GEICO really strives to provide outstanding service and do the right thing) and working in a high stress environment. The work loads are high and difficult, but with experience and the proper tools, it is achievable and overall a rewarding job. I did not want to leave GEICO, I had to due to relocating for my husband's job. If they opened an office in my new location, I would reapply again in a heartbeat.

The only people I have found that do poorly at this company are those that are not willing to work hard and do not want to challenge themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity with poor work/life balance
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Macon, GAOctober 3, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: poor work life balance
Great job for someone that likes doing the same thing everyday. The company tries to make working there fun for its employees. The efficiencies that are required to make are difficult depending on the department you work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's not for everyone
TCR1 (Former Employee), Poway, CAOctober 3, 2014
GEICO has its fair share of pros and cons. To be completely honest, out of nearly 7 years I only liked my job for about 10% of that time.

It's an extremely corporate environment. Like any typical call center, micromanagement is expected. I've heard that some regions are more pleasant to work in than others. However, in the end it's all about the numbers. – more... If you are ok with mediocre pay (but decent bonuses), good benefits, and constant stress or worse lack of enthusiasm about your job, then work here.

Customer Service - Worst job I've ever had. They expect you to take 60-80 calls a day which works out to an average of about 3 minutes per call. When someone calls in having legit questions about a change they are making to their policy, you are NOT providing good service by rushing through a call map that management has provided. It's pretty common for call centers to operate like this so I can't say this is unique to GEICO but I consider good customer service listening to your customer, identifying the problem, offering solutions to the problem and finding ways to prevent the problem from happening again.

Underwriting/Claims - Not so bad - but same old story.

I couldn't be more pleased that I will NEVER work here again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult workplace
Customer Service Representative II (Former Employee), Poway, CASeptember 30, 2014
Very meticulous reviews by management and micro-managed. Call center taking close to 100 calls per day. Don't get to spend anytime with co-workers since everyone takes different breaks and lunches.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your success is based on your personal assertivess as well as your luck in the supervisor and coworkers you are given
Telephone Claims Representative 1 (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: easier to get than most jobs, better pay and benefits than most, great coworkers
Cons: impossible standards, abusive customers, micromanagement, picked on for little mistakes while supervisors are not as willing to help with urgent questions
It is not for everyone. Looking back on my training class of 14 people, 4 are still in the same job, two have been promoted, one was fired, and the rest of us quit. I quit without another job lined up because the stress was affecting my health. I feel ashamed that I am college educated with a solid work history and could not make it in this job while – more... others around me have been there for years. Having never worked in this type of job, I was unaware just how draining and demanding the phone calls would be, as well as everything that needed to be accomplished in between the calls. I feel like many of the factors we were graded on were either outside of our control or easily messed up due to the high volume or honest mistakes. Some people I knew had very nice, supportive supervisors but mine was most often not. I continually tried to get other positions within the company, but was never chosen because my own department had given me such bad numbers and put me on a performance improvement plan. Looking back, I see the point where my workload got out of control and I could have gotten some control back, but I didn't know what to do at the time. I was trying to find the balance between not taking it seriously so it didn't affect my sleep, health and homelife, and taking it seriously enough to make the right numbers. The day I quit everyone hugged me and said they would too, if they didn't have a family to support, and I was lucky to get out while I could. I try not to beat myself up about being a quitter and remember how they kept telling me "it is not for everyone." To me the hardest part is you have a certain number of calls and tasks that must be accomplished within a day, and some return calls needed within 1-2 hours. Sounds easy enough, until you get a crazy, angry caller about some complicated claim from 4 years ago and they take your whole morning. Or maybe a coworker calls in sick, and you have their voicemails. For me, a variety of little things snowballed until I had such extreme anxiety about the job I could not even begin to catch up. Also, I disliked having to tell people car accidents were their fault, so clearly I was never well matched for this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: not very flexible/very stressful job
basically just come into work sign in the phone and talk all day until your 15 min break or 30 min lunch. Supervisors and co-workers are great. The hardest part is dealing with a customer whom you can not satisfy no matter what you do or say to help them because they're upset that they have to pay for insurance. The most enjoyable part is getting off – more... the phone. management is okay depending on who your manager is.. managers are so busy with other work that they rarely can focus on an individuals need/request. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Empathy and morals
Legal Department (Current Employee), New YorkSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: 401k
Cons: they only care about money
A typical day can be very hectic. An associate can learn a lot but has to seek the information themselves. Depending on which management team, they can be fair and efficient in their skills. But, mostly very self- serving and inconsistent with their procedures and how they treat associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Local Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 27, 2014
Having the opportunity to work with great co-workers for a few years, and providing excellent customer to service to clients was a valuable opportunity for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Mail Imaging Clerk (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: excellent jobs opportunities
Cons: shift hours
i learned a lot about the company , how to sell insurance , and most importantly how to work as a hole team , hardest part of the job is to meet quota , and the most enjoyable part its that its a stress free company

1 2 3 4 5

About GEICO

For more than 75 years, GEICO has stood out from the rest of the insurance industry! We are one of the nation's largest and fastest-growing – Read more