Find companies:
GEICO
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
578 reviews

GEICO Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your success is based on your personal assertivess as well as your luck in the supervisor and coworkers you are given
Telephone Claims Representative 1 (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: easier to get than most jobs, better pay and benefits than most, great coworkers
Cons: impossible standards, abusive customers, micromanagement, picked on for little mistakes while supervisors are not as willing to help with urgent questions
It is not for everyone. Looking back on my training class of 14 people, 4 are still in the same job, two have been promoted, one was fired, and the rest of us quit. I quit without another job lined up because the stress was affecting my health. I feel ashamed that I am college educated with a solid work history and could not make it in this job while – more... others around me have been there for years. Having never worked in this type of job, I was unaware just how draining and demanding the phone calls would be, as well as everything that needed to be accomplished in between the calls. I feel like many of the factors we were graded on were either outside of our control or easily messed up due to the high volume or honest mistakes. Some people I knew had very nice, supportive supervisors but mine was most often not. I continually tried to get other positions within the company, but was never chosen because my own department had given me such bad numbers and put me on a performance improvement plan. Looking back, I see the point where my workload got out of control and I could have gotten some control back, but I didn't know what to do at the time. I was trying to find the balance between not taking it seriously so it didn't affect my sleep, health and homelife, and taking it seriously enough to make the right numbers. The day I quit everyone hugged me and said they would too, if they didn't have a family to support, and I was lucky to get out while I could. I try not to beat myself up about being a quitter and remember how they kept telling me "it is not for everyone." To me the hardest part is you have a certain number of calls and tasks that must be accomplished within a day, and some return calls needed within 1-2 hours. Sounds easy enough, until you get a crazy, angry caller about some complicated claim from 4 years ago and they take your whole morning. Or maybe a coworker calls in sick, and you have their voicemails. For me, a variety of little things snowballed until I had such extreme anxiety about the job I could not even begin to catch up. Also, I disliked having to tell people car accidents were their fault, so clearly I was never well matched for this. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 29, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: not very flexible/very stressful job
basically just come into work sign in the phone and talk all day until your 15 min break or 30 min lunch. Supervisors and co-workers are great. The hardest part is dealing with a customer whom you can not satisfy no matter what you do or say to help them because they're upset that they have to pay for insurance. The most enjoyable part is getting off – more... the phone. management is okay depending on who your manager is.. managers are so busy with other work that they rarely can focus on an individuals need/request. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of Empathy and morals
Legal Department (Current Employee), New YorkSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: 401k
Cons: they only care about money
A typical day can be very hectic. An associate can learn a lot but has to seek the information themselves. Depending on which management team, they can be fair and efficient in their skills. But, mostly very self- serving and inconsistent with their procedures and how they treat associates.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Local Company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 27, 2014
Having the opportunity to work with great co-workers for a few years, and providing excellent customer to service to clients was a valuable opportunity for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Mail Imaging Clerk (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VASeptember 25, 2014
Pros: excellent jobs opportunities
Cons: shift hours
i learned a lot about the company , how to sell insurance , and most importantly how to work as a hole team , hardest part of the job is to meet quota , and the most enjoyable part its that its a stress free company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NOT A FAMILY FRIENDLY WORK LIFE COMPANY
CSR I (Former Employee), KATY,TXSeptember 23, 2014
Cons: poor management in every department
POOR MANAGEMENT AND SUPERVISORS.
NOT ENOUGH TRAINING.
TOLD ON THING DURING HIRING AND TRAINING, ONCE TRAINING WAS COMPLETED IT WAS SOMETHING COMPLETELY DIFFERENT.

A BUNCH OF LIES AND ZERO TRUTHS!!###
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very comfortable working environment
Licensed Insurance Agent (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VASeptember 20, 2014
Pros: profit share
Cons: working hours
very conducive to a pleasant working experience. The work was demanding and required attention to details. Management and supervisors were very supportive
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay lots of work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Macon, GASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: pay is decent
Cons: poor lunch/break, workload, rating structure, room for advancement
For a service rep your day starts out logging into your phone opening your programs and then you immediately begin taking calls. It can be a little over whelming at times you just have to step back and take a break. Co-workers are what makes this job more enjoyable. The hardest part is the constant negative feedback you will receive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GEICO Local office servicing the U.S. military in Midwest City, OK
Licensed Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Midwest City, OKSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: good office; good hours of operation
Cons: office is open from 10:00 am - 1:00 pm, saturdays
GEICO Local office, Midwest City, OK, provides automobile and
motorcycle insurance, to the U.S. Air Force and U.S. Navy
personnel stationed at Tinker AFB, Midwest City, OK.
Interaction with the customers of the GEICO Local office is most
rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very up beat place to work. they had relaxation stations when you were able to take your break to take a breather.
Insurance Sales Agent (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VASeptember 18, 2014
Pros: we had competitions and incentives.
Cons: you couldnt always get your breaks because of how busy we were
My typical day at work was as soon as i got there i would log into my computer and into my phone. then i would wait for the phone to start ringing. the calls were pretty consistent so I had to be ready all the time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance
dispatcher (Current Employee), indianapolis, inSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: perks
Cons: no life outside of work
bad management.. not family oriented.. they expect you to cater to them at all times.. Tho it feels good to help out customers with roadside needs... can be stressful due to the constant battering of not meeting unrealistic goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring Job
Sales Representative/Account Manager (Former Employee), Macon, GASeptember 16, 2014
The company is great
Co workes were great
Everyday job gets old quick
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
micro-management
Underwriter (Former Employee), Buffalo, New YorkSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: profit sharing
Cons: environment, opportunity
GEICO hires only the best of the best and then gives employees no autonomy, the culture is very demoralizing to intelligent, hard-working professionals
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & challenging & very rewarding.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lakeland, FLSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: overtime always offered
Cons: short breaks
Very nice company. Many opportunities, great work environment & awesome management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly but highly stressful work enviornment
Insurance Agent (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VASeptember 5, 2014
Great work environment, everyone is friendly, self motivated, high class environment.

Goals are extremely high, you learn by error, training only gives 20% knowledge needed to do job.

Very number based as with most large corporations.

Extremely stressful & high pressure work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellant working conditions
operator specialist III (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits
Cons: management not listening to our ideas
I worked three 13 hour days a week. All the co-workers worked together well. Trained new supervisors in job tasks. The most enjoyable part was being able to keep machine running by doing all the maintance myself. Very seldom had to call on maintance people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company, great benefits
Underwriter (Current Employee), Dallas, TXSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Review policies for adverse activity and contact policyholders regarding changes to their policy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Payment Recovery Technician (Former Employee), Fredericksburg, VASeptember 3, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: stressful, not a family friendly company.
GEICO is a demanding job that can be very stressful at times. It is a non-stop company and you have to be able to keep up in the fast paced environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GEICO
SENIOR EMPLOYMENT SPECIALIST (Current Employee), Virginia Beach, VASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: starbuck, quiznos, fitness center, benefits
GEICO is a great company to work for. GEICO offers a good work and life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace focused on providing excellent customer service
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Macon, GAAugust 31, 2014
At GEICO, our primary goal is to provide excellent customer service efficiently. The hardest part of the job is handling customer dissatisfaction and turning that around to make their experience on the phone with me a positive one. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to assist our customers and have them end the conversation in a great mood – more... and also to have them so pleased in the company that I represent. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About GEICO

For more than 75 years, GEICO has stood out from the rest of the insurance industry! We are one of the nation's largest and fastest-growing – Read more