Find companies:
Genentech, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
127 reviews

Genentech, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment
Pharmaceutical Manufacturing Technician (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CADecember 6, 2013
A typical day at work is hectic but with organization and teamwork I am able to get the job done. I learned how to multitask with my chores at work and with information from people. I learned what it means to be a safety coordinator. My coworkers are amazin they adapt well to a diverse environment filled with diverse people. The hardest part of the – more... job was learning basic mechanics and handling heavy equipment. The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing that I played a small role in manufactuing medicine for patients who need it to survive. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with
POMS software developer (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CADecember 4, 2013
wonderful company, free food, coffee on every Friday. Good management and produce high quality product.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I knew sas clinical trials progrmming well in this company
SAS Developer (Former Employee), SFO, CADecember 2, 2013
Pros: good lunch
Cons: tight work schedule
Maintained data loading programs written in shell script and SQL
Brought transactional data from OLTP system to TA (Trend Analysis) System
Developed and maintained SAS programs which would run on data available in TA system
Developed reports including information on average time to close a Service request, maximum and minimum number of Service requests – more... per product and product group, average cost of maintenance per product per quarter, mean time between failures of different products – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun work place with fooseball table, great work culture
Inspection Manufacturing Technician (Current Employee), Hillsboro, ORNovember 24, 2013
Pros: good pay, great culutre
Cons: some disparities between contract and regular employees.
Genentech engenders a very fun and hard working culture that extends to all levels of employees should they decide to adapt to it. Their motto is work hard and play hard and it shows. The job is not very difficult but requires continuous training to assure FDA compliance. The pay is very fair starting at 17/hr for contract workers and moving up from – more... their. A typical day can involve inspecting vials all day or jumping from task to task, depending on training levels and work ethic, The job can be monotonous for those that don't seek out extra work, but for those that do a slow day can even feel busy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best company to work for.
Medical Representative (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 19, 2013
Pros: company has respect for employees and rewards successful employees
Cons: was part of a 90% layoff of one of the franchises
The management respects and treats you incredibly well. It has the opportunity for job development and growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company with good project management and nice facilities
Research Associate (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CANovember 8, 2013
Pros: economic meals, many free lunch from training and meeting. company's shuttle to work
Cons: less interaction with other colleagues that don't engage into same projects
A typical day for me at Genentech would be reading some publications related to my study of interest. Doing data analysis for IND report, preparing samples for in-vivo dosing and collecting samples back for analysis. ( All necessary doing everything on a day, but these tasks might be mixed and matched depend on its priority)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, helpful in bringing you up to speed - loved it there
SR. Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CANovember 4, 2013
Very busy from start to finish, learned much about Pharma as I was a contractor and moved from department to department as required, management was great, can't say enough about my co-workers, hardest part was juggling management since I dealt with them across the US. Staying very busy, learning new things and working in a happy environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management-BAD
Space Planner (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CANovember 1, 2013
Pros: it's a job
Cons: bad management style
I was a contractor and my manager was horrible. She would give me projects, but would limit my resources to complete them. She would give me a due date, without any support. It seemed as if she wanted me to fail. There is a lot of micromanagement here. They do not give you any autocracy to do your work. Have to check in to wipe your butt. Didn't give – more... any reason for terminating contract. Glad I don't work here anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Operational Excellence MECOP Intern (Former Employee), Portland, OROctober 28, 2013
As an intern I had a great time working for Genentech in Hillsboro, Oregon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Senior Administrative Associate, Medical Affairs (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CAOctober 28, 2013
I take pride in working for a company like Genentech. It takes pride in the work it does to make patients lives worth living.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company I have ever worked for
Associate Director (Former Employee), South San FranciscoOctober 28, 2013
Pros: great place to work
Cons: hard to get promoted, few people leave
Great benefits, great culture, great environment, positive place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment was very conducive that encouraged high productivity.
Management Consultant (Former Employee), Hillsboro, OROctober 27, 2013
Great working atmosphere that promoted creativity. There were great team players that made the project run smoothly despite the few challenges that were encountered.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manufacturing Supervisor (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CAOctober 25, 2013
Very competitive atmosphere drives innovation, managers are very supportive of furthering your career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to work
Procurement/Consultant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 23, 2013
Pros: very good cafeterias w/affordable prices
Cons: it's very hard to become a regular employee at genentech. i'm a contract worker.
Very relaxed atmosphere. The most enjoyable part of this job is learning something I didn't know anything Anything about.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company
Project Manager (Consultant) (Former Employee), Teaneck, NJOctober 22, 2013
Genentech was great to me. Good pay, nice people, relaxed but professional and intelligent people and culture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very educational experience.
Operational Rotational Development Program Intern (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 9, 2013
I had strict deadlines for projects. I loved the cafeteria food and working with other interns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sr. SFDC Architect
Senior SFDC Architect (Current Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 26, 2013
Pros: great working envirnoment
I was the architect and senior Salesforce developer at the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Biotech
Case Manager (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CASeptember 24, 2013
Pros: great trainings
Cons: job security
While working at Genentech, the department I was working with provided detailed and essential training. Everyone was friendly and was willing to help out any team member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"casually intense"
Senior Medical Science Liaison (Current Employee), Chicago, ILSeptember 24, 2013
My Genentech experience has been professional and fun. I have had many opportunities to learn, develop, and lead projects. The overall experience has been very positive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work to gain experience, skills and knowledge.
Case Manager (Contractor) (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CASeptember 17, 2013
Great place to work to gain experience, skills and knowledge.

About Genentech, Inc.

Working Here is Living a Life Inspired We exist to make a difference to the lives of patients. They inspire us to develop groundbreaking – Read more