Find companies:
Genentech, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
157 reviews

Genentech, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager, Medical Affairs Information Technology (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 1, 2013
We focus on people development and share the same common goal to make a difference in people's life
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Hard Play Hard...and all during work hours!
Foundation Specialist, GATCF (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CAJune 27, 2013
Genentech not only provides wonderful job opportunities and great pay, the company also provides many perks to help you keep your life in balance, making life easier. Such as offering Genentech Buses that pick up from countless cities around the bay area to help with your commute to and from work. Day care is also an option provided. Conscious of the – more... environment, Genentech fosters recycling in its cafeterias as well as each of its departments. These are only a few of the great things worth mentioning. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for science driven minds and research oriented people
Research Associate (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJune 27, 2013
Nice place to work; Access to resources is great; you learn a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Corporate Security Operations (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJune 26, 2013
great company beautiful place to work, best job I ever had just shady management on the Guardsmark side, that place could be so much better if they hired a new contractor company or brought the security in house
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic work place with great people
Associate Biosample Coordinator (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CAJune 25, 2013
Pros: occasional free food, career workshops, great management
This was probably one of the best jobs I have ever had with the best team and management. Everyone, from my colleagues to management, was supportive and created a learning environment that challenged me. The hardest part of the job was learning all the acronyms. The most enjoyable part was working with a team that was encouraging, hard working and had – more... the same common goal and mind set. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
QC Laboratory Associate (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CAJune 21, 2013
Probably the best biotech company to work for. Great corporate culture, focus on the patients, great coworkers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Two different cultures within one building
Case Manager (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CAJune 11, 2013
Pros: pay, food.
Cons: high turnaround time for contractors, job security very unstable.
As a contractor the pay and the creature comforts where great. Job security was awful, doesn't matter if you sign on for a year or two months the turnaround time for contractors was very high, within my first 90 days at least 6 contractors where let go. Now i've worked at places that use temps/contractors and your treated like your a regular worker – more... but at GNE you are treated like a second class worker I would always hear perm workers talking bad about other temps in the break room. Going in as a temp just know its very hard to get a permanent position and all the cool perks and extras such as parties and gifts are for perms only. Only take a temp job for them if you really need it or have time to take a chance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
System Specialist (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CAMay 25, 2013
Pros: great work environment
Cons: not much longevity for contractors.
I enjoyed my years at Genentech. It is a great environment to work in. It's very diverse, yet, welcoming too.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance.
Sr. Administrative Associate/ Project Support (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CAMay 21, 2013
Great place to get into, but hard to move up because the company is siloed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible company with breakthrough one of a kind products
Avastin Professional Sales Specialist (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 21, 2013
Pros: the ability to discuss subjects with physicians on a daily basis which affect patient lives
Cons: reimbursement, high cost of drugs, obtaining quality time with physicians
Many mornings began with a division conference call, or the Memphis team members meeting for breakfast to make plans. Due to the level of qualifications required to possess such a position you generally found yourself working alongside a true professional. I learned that every customer, and the way he reponds to sales representatives can be very different. – more... I found it crucial to match his style rather than try to force him into my box. In regards to management I have been involved in many interviews and have been responsible for quite a few roles of field trainer for new hires.
The hardest part of the job is access to the physician. A successful rep must think outside the box of daily lunches and implement alternative and effective means to achieve one on one time with these physicians. The hardest part of the job is definately finding a healthy home/life balance. When you work at home you never truly leave the office! The most enjoyable part of the job is the health and hope we can provide patients. My mother was diagnosed with breast cancer, and due to my disease state knowledge and physician relations she is cancer free today. I was just out of town to spend Mother's Day with her. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh
Packaging Technician (Former Employee), Hillsboro, ORMay 16, 2013
Very mismanaged. You'll become a temp and most likely stay that way.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative approches to problem solving keeps th edaya to day activities exciting
Business System Analyst I (Current Employee), South San FranciscoMay 13, 2013
The typical day at work is always exciting. On a large scale my job history at the company speaks to the abundant job growth possibilities within the company. You are encouraged to move with-in the company and search for different opportunities to contribute. This is exciting for me. Moreover, the innovations being onboarded or simply created grass – more... roots by one of the many capable co-workers keeps the mind active and challenged. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Case Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 6, 2013
-Great place to work
-Fantastic coworkers
-Great Mission Statement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Delivering results in a company which values people
Operational Excellence Manager (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAApril 24, 2013
Pros: co-workers
Cons: long hours
Working for a company which is focused on improving and saving the lives of people is a very rewarding experience. The work philosophy of "work hard, play hard" has a long tradition at this company. You need to work long hours, but you are supported by a team of people who also work hard and share the important value of putting the customer (our patients) – more... first. The company tends to spoil the employees, which is something that helps make it easier to handle the high stress and high performance work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Oncology Specialist (Former Employee), jacksonville,flApril 18, 2013
Pros: manage your own time
Cons: difficult to see customers
Leader in industry great place to work,difficult to see docs in the industry,but still responsible for hitting numbers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as Senior ETL Consultant
Senior ETL Consultant (Current Employee), South San Francisco, CAApril 14, 2013
• Understanding the existing Genentech Aggregate spend architecture
• Understanding the MDM system and extracted the reporting required data for MA, MN, VT states Prohibition Reports
• Worked with Analysts & prepared the Source to Target mapping documents
• Implemented ETL jobs for Non Steward spend recipient, Prohibition Report, M&E enhancements etc.
 – more... Working on Agile/Sprint model using Jira.
• Worked on SFDC transactions Corrections functionality.
• Worked on SFDC transactions Dispute functionality. If an external doctor Dispute the transactions and approved by CCO users then bring the approved Dispute records to Oracle. And then changed the existing ETL functionality to bring the approved/adjusted transactions amount, brand, attendee count, or form of payment or Nature or Payment and after data cleansing and transformation, pushed the transactions back to SFDC for CCO users/External user access.
• Worked on XML source and target transformations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Death Star-like
Purification Bioprocess Technician (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CAApril 9, 2013
Pros: wonderful campus
Cons: money over patients
Terminated my contract after a month of training and gave no feedback whatsoever or reason as to why it was terminated. Very stressful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work - relaxed culture in the workplace
Senior Research Associate (Former Employee), South San Francisco, CAApril 3, 2013
Pros: great culture and benefits, monetary awards, great manager
Cons: little time between projects; long work days
Genentech was my first experience in the pharmaceutical industry and a positive one. The company gave me an opportunity to sharpen my skills as a scientist and to be innovative. Working with some of the greatest scientist and in the home of biotechnology, Genentech provided a great learning experience in how to establish a pipeline of drugs and the – more... process on how to eventually get them into development. In addition to the laboratory, I learned how to be confident of the data I had acquired and how to present that to upper management in project meetings. I will always be grateful to the company for giving me the opportunity to be a scientist with credibility. I owe my continued interest in drug development and the pharmaceutical industry to Genentech. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cancer curing company
Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee), Redwood City, CAMarch 21, 2013
• Participates in, recommends, troubleshooting on issues affecting single or multiple machines; performs analysis to help diagnose issues per customer (e.g. Mac/PC hardware, software, OS, monitors, printers, mobile devices, etc.)
• Reviews, creates, and updates documentation in shared knowledge base.
• Effectively utilizes company incident management – more... system to ensure timely and efficient support of end-users.
• Responds to, and communicates with customers providing professional, courteous and knowledgeable service. Acts with an appropriate sense of urgency, and follows up to ensure issues are resolved to satisfaction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company with potential
Senior Manager Marketing (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 13, 2013
My experience with Genentech was not favorable. I am not in favor of passive aggressive behavior - and it was rampant throughout the company. While I was there, internal success was focused on network connections as opposed to goal attainment - not ethical or good business. As Roche took ownership, things started looking up as rules and regulations – more... started. Change continues even after my departure and I am hopeful that Genentech will come around and really focus on patient centrality. – less

About Genentech, Inc.

Working Here is Living a Life Inspired We exist to make a difference to the lives of patients. They inspire us to develop groundbreaking – Read more