Find companies:
Generac Power Systems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
28 reviews

Generac Power Systems Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shipping support
Shipping /Receiving Clerk (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIMarch 19, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: pay
I would start out seeing what I had to ship out on that day. Pick all items and get them ready for shipment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Production/Assembler (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIFebruary 20, 2014
I enjoyed working for this company at first. Then the unthinkable happened. I was hurt on the job and I was put to work in many different hard jobs so I would quit. I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an okay place to work when things were running smoothly
Line Worker (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: we had two paid fifteen minute breaks
Cons: bad management of time and money
generac was a job it was and okay place to work. but upper management had a theroy that if they didn't allow employees to access the parts themselves they would save money which in a way could be accurate. but the issue was that every time we would run out of part we would have to ask a supervisor to get the parts for us. at any given time one of the – more... 15 different stations on one line would run out of part to complete their task at hand and the whole line would come to a hault because they would have to wait for a supervisor to find time to get them. my main concern was that every minute wasted was another generator that could have been made. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Job That Provides Fantastic Benefits
Inside Sales Representative (Current Employee), Waukesha, WINovember 17, 2013
Pros: benefits, free lunches, customer 1st week.
Cons: pointless call time, other departments dump pointless work on you.
A typical day at work involves managing customer accounts, listening to customer complaints, and keeping customers informed about company products.

I've learned mostly about generators and how they work, as well as how to dealer with unmanageable customers.

Management is good at this job. If you are treated unfairly by a customer, management will – more... take care of you.

Co-workers at Generac are like team members. You work together to answer questions and to get job tasks completed. You will never find yourself working alone on any project, and you will always find help from your co-workers in times of crises.

The hardest part of the job would be trying to make pointless conversation with customers to keep a 50% call time. I believe that if you are doing quality work at your job, keeping your sales up, and thoroughly answering customer's questions, then keeping a 50% call time is not the ultimate goal and is pointless. I do a fantastic job at answering customer's questions, and getting done what I need to get done, but when it comes to the 50% call time I never hit it because I'm terrible at asking "How is the weather where you are today?," "How is your business going," "How is life?"

The second hardest part of the job is that, with this particular position, all other departments dump their work on you. You're basically the garbage disposal for pointless work. Management is working on improving this issue, but it is still an issue nonetheless.

The most enjoyable part of the job is the benefits. You receive some of the best benefits you will find at a job with health, vision, and dental. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Performed service and warranty contracts
Service and Warranty Clerk (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIOctober 24, 2013
Pros: developed customer service skills, ability to help businesses
Cons: few advancement opportunities
A typical day at work involved customer service such as making and taking phone calls from dealers and technicians. I filed paperwork regularly to keep thousands of dealers' files organized. I processed Industrial, Commercial, Residential, and International contracts. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with difficult customers. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job would be having the opportunity to assist people around the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
general assembler (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIOctober 24, 2013
Pros: lunches and different events
Cons: healthcare
A typical day at work starts obtaining our work orders and or prints,learned different asslembly jobs . learned to manage my time . Workes well with others in helping them with the training of there jobs.I like what i do because its a different job every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Place to work
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIOctober 9, 2013
I've been with Generac for almost 2 years, and within those two years I have moved from a entry level position up into an Inside Sales position. I felt that the company was very generous with the compensation and bonus' I was given. This company also takes part in many community service and volunteer type events. There is always a good mix of fun and – more... business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Third world company in your backtard
Material Handler (Former Employee), Edgerton, WISeptember 10, 2013
Cons: port a potty facilities. no heat in the winter.
Three Port a potty for the entire plant. Only ONE bathroom for the entire plant that doesn't work in the winter because there is NO HEAT in the plant. No drinkable water except a bottle water in the break room. This position had unsafe working conditions in the warehouse.. Was VERY disappointed with a Wisconsin corporation with a facility that proves – more... GREED IS THE BOTTOM LINE! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales environment without the proper opportunites
Dealer Acquisitions Representative (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIAugust 27, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, good starting sales position
Cons: low pay, high sales quotas with unreasonable expectations
A typical day at work involved making calls to try and prospect new dealers for the company's products and taking inbound calls to set up new accounts. I also assisted with current customer's inquiries. I learned a lot about the outdoor power equipment and working with small business customers. I did also learn about overcoming customer objections and – more... the sales process. I had a manager with unrealistic expectations. I wasn't provided with the right opportunities to make the sales we were required to bring in to receive our commission. The sales opportunities were based on chance which often allowed some people who were not working hard to succeed while others of us who were working hard did not get the same revenue generating chances. I loved my co-workers there though and the high tension sales environment actually brought us all closer because we realized that we were in an unfair situation, and treating each other unfairly because of it was not going to help us. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy-going fun workplace for the most part
Powdercoat Painter (Former Employee), Eagle, WIAugust 12, 2013
Pros: most employee's were easy-going and hard working
Cons: unsafe environment, no saturdays off.
The powder painting room was not very well kept, paint particles floating around everywhere for you to inhale if you aren't wearing a hood, which the hood didnt even really work either. They failed to tell me that the MSDS report says that the electromagnetic powder they use causes cancer. They say Generac is all about being safe but they make people – more... work in hazardous conditions. HR lady is a joke as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generac
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIJuly 19, 2013
Pros: promotion opportunities
Cons: salary
Generac was a great place to work when it was privately owned. I have no experience with the current ownership that has taken the company public. The atmosphere at Generac was very good with most people getting together after work and working well at Generac. Their salary package is below industry standards, but there is tremendous opportunity to move – more... up if you want to put in the work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run from this place dont walk
sales (Current Employee), whitewater, wiApril 26, 2013
Pros: benifits are not bad
Cons: poorly managed
Co pretends to care about its employees and even does some nice things but at the end of the day they are a big company operating as though it is 1990. The pay is horrible considering what they expect. Management does not seem insinc Once they use employees up they have a steady flow of fresh meat ready to move in at all time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy workplace
Assembly (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIFebruary 28, 2013
I was responsible for the installation of specific parts for various sizes and models of the company product, generators. I learned how to work well as a team in a fast paced environment. Management was respectful, flexible, as well as helpful at times. I worked with highly motivated co-workers with good work ethic. The hardest part of the job was keeping – more... up the pace sometimes, especially during times of high-production. The most enjoyable part of the job was the continuous high energy, which made for seemingly quick workdays. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy place
Transportation Coordinator (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIFebruary 6, 2013
Customer focused environment.

Fast paced days.

Nice working with customers and vendors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Sheer Operator (Former Employee), EagleDecember 30, 2012
Pros: upper level industry pay rates
Cons: very little personal time
Eagle facility has outdated equipment. Facility has been working 6 ten hour days for several years. Front line management staff has little to no experience using machines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid at all costs, talk to engineers via networking,phone,etc, to find how bad this place is
Senior firmware engineer (Former Employee), Waukesha, WiDecember 6, 2012
Pros: paycheck
Cons: see above
A typical day is making sure you are at your desk by 8:00...dont be late. Management does not promote teamwork. Raise questions and you could be terminated. I had test equipment with tubes and the offices remind of old style bin where everybody can see you. The offices were dirty.
I wish they had a lunch roomor coffee maker,
sufficient bathrooms, and – more... a kitchen.
There is no place to wash your utensils except the bathroom. Out in the factory there is a lunch chuck wagon vendor to pick up sandwiches that can be microwaved. McDonalds is gourmet compared to this.

There are many engineers there from foreign countries, especially Great Britain, as an example that Generac has cheap labor. Every one I saw had
a green card and well....in need of some dental work.

Co-workers are guarded with their conversations and
weekly team meetings/planning non-existant.
Leave after 5:00 and or expect verbal warnings, even if taking your work home.

Ask questions about procedures, planning, and improving productivity and expect to be in trouble.

Upper management are mostly mech engineers and long for the good old days,ie, drafting tables, carbeurators, and no circuit boards. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work,
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIDecember 3, 2012
Pros: nice place to work.
Cons: no lunch or break room to sit and relax when not working.
Taking care of the VP of sales home stand by units. Also took care of 5 sales persons who would travel, Help out with the call center. Booking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive- good place to work.
Cycle Counter (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIOctober 8, 2012
Pros: everyone got along and worked together to get the job done.
Cons: short breaks, distance from my home to my workplace.
I liked working at Generac. I didnt like that they didn't do drug testing to be hired so some people did drugs. It's hard to get excellent quality from some people if you think they are under the influence of drugs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment.
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Whitewater, WIAugust 22, 2012
Pros: 15 minute breaks. thursday pizza days. hard work. the way the hours of the shift were set up.
Cons: sometimes rules were not followed by co-workers, and my lead would even at times encourage me to do the same.
I would work at my station (#1, assembling stators) my entire shift; I was never moved from my station. It was a great place to work, because it allowed one to work quite independently, without feeling like you were being watched. I loved the hard labor; physically it was quite rewarding.
There I learned how to use power tools (I'd never used these – more... before). I also learned how to work on an assembly line. I learned the importance of getting things done on time, while following the rules.
My coworkers were great. They hardly ever complained. I have no complaints there.
The hardest part of the job was trying to follow the rules while getting the job done on time. Sometimes another co-worker would come and try to get me to hurry up, because in his opinion I was not moving fast enough. Some of the rules were hard to follow because they delayed general production of the line.
The most enjoyable part, for me, would be the very job I had. I loved the hard work, and also how I'd become quite dexterious at certain parts of the job that had been quite hard for me at first. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Maintenance Service Technician (Former Employee), Waukesha, WIAugust 6, 2012
Pros: good benefits
Cons: nothing bad
I had many responsibilities and was able to perform work on different things. I enjoyed working with the other employees and bosses.

About Generac Power Systems

Perfect storms make good business for Generac Power Systems. That's because the company manufactures engine-driven standby and – Read more

Generac Power Systems Photos