Generac Employee Reviews

Showing all 40 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract Only
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, WIMarch 24, 2017
Pleasant work environment with likable management. Clean and safe building with secure entry. Lighting is poor quality in the manufacturing area. It is dim.
Training is continuous in this Lean Manufacturing facility. Planning is excessively changed on a daily basis for a plant that manufactures product for a stock situation which limits its ability to use Lean manufacturing principles.
Pros
Pleasant Environment & Knowledgable Staff
Cons
Contract job- not full-time, low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very easy job great hours nice people to work with.connecting wires fast paced job the hardest part of this job was nothing what
Assembler/Production (Former Employee) –  WisconsinMarch 14, 2017
this was a very easy 3rd shift job no stress at all very quick nice co workers. fast paced great team work management was great also .the hardest part about this job was car pooling with co workers.
Pros
nice hours
Cons
had to car pool with a co worker
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, job
General Laborer (Current Employee) –  WisconsinMarch 8, 2017
It'd ok, don't like the slow production... I do not like the bonus system they have.. One month I make a dollar more then if the company as a whole does not perform correctly and meet quota as required it's taken back...
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Slow production
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
boring workplace and cold
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, WIFebruary 4, 2017
do the same job every day and you will be ok at working there
easy job and not much to do especially when the machine breaks down
boring
the most enjoyable part of the job is lunch
Pros
money
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and business first attitude
Data Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WIJanuary 25, 2017
Generac is a wonderful company if you're looking for a task oriented no nonsense position. Management for the departments is well structured, and direct supervisors give you mostly everything you need to succeed without being overbearing. They will only check on you if they feel the task given should have been done sooner. The freedom of time management is the most enjoyable part of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
Lead Tester / Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, WIDecember 2, 2016
Management wasn't organized. A lot of unprofessionalism activity going on. just not a safe place I would not recommend to anybody to employ themselves their.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always busy
TESTER (Former Employee) –  Whitewater, WINovember 29, 2016
Very busy line work,I liked testing portable generators and was good at it.Enjoyed repairing the generators that would not pass test,it was challenging.Learned how to test and the requirements it took to pass all tests.Coworkers were nice.Making are quota on finish product at times.Meeting new people and teaching them how to do there job.
Pros
Companies came in at times for lunch so you could get different foods not just the vending machines.
Cons
Short breaks, mandatory overtime not volunteer most of the time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
FORK-LIFT OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, WINovember 3, 2016
it is a good place to work and they manage there times well. also willing to work with you whenever you needed it. they have great co workers. and a typical day at work would be a fast pasting day. i learned a bunch of different things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly and enjoyable work environment.
Material Handler/Forklift Driver (Former Employee) –  Whitewater, WI 53190October 15, 2016
I enjoyed my time at Generac and thought they treated their employees very well. If it was not 45 minutes away from home i would have continued my employment there.
Pros
Had food venders almost every day.
Cons
Originally not the highest paying job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great job
Picker/Shipping and Receiving (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WIJune 13, 2016
Generac is a very great place to work the people there treat u like family and everyone gets alone great .the food is great and the the owner is a great person
Pros
pay is great
Cons
alot a very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging work environment
Tester Technician (Current Employee) –  Oshkosh, WIApril 7, 2016
Assembly and then test industrial size generators. I test them to the customers expectations. It varies to the size of the generator on how much amps the generator can be tested at. Troubleshoot any mechanical or electrical problems the generator may have. It is a very complex and dangerous job. I take safety vary seriously.
Pros
Working in the electrical field is something I like to do.
Cons
Hazardous work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall it is a good place to work
painter (Current Employee) –  Whitewater, WIMarch 15, 2016
I enjoy working there the day is over before I know it. I am learning a lot daily. My supervisor is teaching me a lot. I am hoping to be employed there permently
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waukesha Plant ok
Engine Line assembler (Former Employee) –  Waukesha, WIFebruary 10, 2016
Waukesha plant #4 on line put all parts on engine make your harness double check work use your paint marker so they would no
who put on the parts sign name push it down the line.
Learned how to make harnesses.
management ok.
Co-workers ok.
understanding just what they expected of you.
enjoy just working alone.
Pros
Working on your own
Cons
Management not helpful at all
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Technician (Former Employee) –  Reading, PAJanuary 31, 2016
Really enjoyed working here. Long drive but the pay was definitely worth it. We serviced, set, and fixed old generators.
Pros
Generator Knowledge
Cons
Long drive
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job awesome Company but was closing plant here
Sales & Marketing (Former Employee) –  Maquoketa, IAJanuary 28, 2016
Great place to work cared about their employee just wish i would have moved with the company now. I learned a lot in training for Customer service and Sales. I was top seller of home based generators for 2008. sold over 75 generators in 2 months.
Pros
clean place to work
Cons
closed plant in Iowa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I use to like to work here!
Assembler/Production (Current Employee) –  Whitewater, WINovember 9, 2015
It use to be fun going into work! Then they started cracking down on rules to an extreme, and can't keep anyone for very long. Insurance is good, but all of our bonuses have been taken away! A lot of favoritism and not a lot of career opportunities to move up in the company, especially for women. No longer fun!
Pros
health care premiums and ocasionally a free lunch
Cons
rules vary across the plant depending on which supervisor you have
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work alongside
Grounds Crew (Current Employee) –  Whitewater, WIJune 18, 2015
very busy place year round so the job is permanant. Very clean working enviornment.Very safety concious about there employees also.
Pros
nice work enviornment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management...great coworkers
Dealer Acquistions (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, WIMay 11, 2015
Cold calling to dealers trying to get them set up as a Generac dealer. Expectations were very high with the amount of calls to make and call percentage as well as the expected monthly dealer goal. Sales are good when there are storms. The hardest part was obtaining dealers. Leads and manager never follow through with what they say they are going to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Budget Plant. Minumum overtime, maximum profit.
Maintenance Electrician (Former Employee) –  Jefferson, WIApril 19, 2015
Co workers are all good people. Management is friendly. Unfortunately the commuting got hard especially after the last winter.
Pros
Used to get regular bonuses.
Cons
Plant Supervisor doesn't even know the names of a majority of the workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Firefighter and EMT-P
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Whitewater, WIApril 2, 2015
Everything was running smoothly until all the political aspects came into play and for those that had been there for 8+ years weren't allowed to perform what they trained for
Pros
EXPERIENCE
Cons
NEW MANAGEMENT
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Generac. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 40 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1

CEO Approval

76%
13 ratings
Add your rating