Find companies:
General Aluminum
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

General Aluminum Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at
Tool & Die (Current Employee), Wapakoneta, OHMarch 11, 2014
Good job but could use higher pay. The people are friendly and great to work around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not operated with a professional attitude.
Tool Room Attendant (Current Employee), Wapakoneta, OHFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: a paycheck until a better opportunity is found.
Cons: benefits, pay, care for the company, safety hazards, lack of respect for employees.
General Aluminum has a lot of ways to improve itself. The work force is constantly changing causing major quality issues partially due to the hours they are having people work and the pay the are receiving. Management seems to have issues communicating with each other and those that work under them. The company seems to have a lack of team spirit and – more... pride in their work causing a large gap in quality that does not appear to be closing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and great environment
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee), Wapakoneta, OHJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: almost everything.
Cons: low top out for maintenace.
The place is kept clean, the people are mostly good to work with, management does what they can to make you successful. Great over all place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cnc Operator
CNC Operator (Former Employee), OHDecember 30, 2013
Run a CnC Machine
Very poor Management There.
Co-workers were repulsive and distracting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Originally a Good Company to work for.
Industrial Engineer (Former Employee), Carrollton, TexasDecember 11, 2013
General Aluminum was a good productive company. It had quality personnel that worked together for the betterment of the company. It was purchased by a larger corporation that wanted their name added to the higher quality recognition of General Aluminum. They ended up degrading the 99% on time delivery and product quality by removing the GA products – more... and replacing them with an inferior product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GA
Information Technology Specialist (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXNovember 26, 2013
Combination of Corporate Owner and local BOD's makes it hard to determine who's policy to follow in order to obtain a path for proper resolution and company growth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace enviroment, rotating shifts, on feet for 11 to 12 hours
Production Operator (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXNovember 23, 2013
work nights rotating shifts 11 to 12 hours, controled production line passing the products, team player, help in training others when assigned, used tape measure to measure length and height of product, learned varioius jobs, general housekeeping around plant sweeping etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours, hot days and lack of family time
Casting Operator (Former Employee), Wapakoneta, OHSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: good people
Cons: no home life
I am thankful for the time General Aluminum employed me and allowed me to work so that I may provide a roof and food for my family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to Work
Machine operator for John Deere Parts (Former Employee), Wapakoneta, OHAugust 20, 2013
Pros: vending machines inside breakroom
Cons: everything else
General Aluminum in Wapakoneta you will work 7 days a week and 12 hour shifts when needed. They staff the company by a different company called minutemen. I had 2 days off of work while I was employed there, and if you have an unexcused day off you will be terminated on the spot. They have a point system in place if you clock in late you lose half a – more... point, one point is one day so if you show up late twice your terminated. 3 breaks on an 8 hour shift, 2 10 minute breaks and a 20 minute break for lunch, depending on where your at in the plant by the time you get to the break room its time to turn around and start walking back to your workplace. tobacco free facility if you are caught dipping your fired if you are caught smoking on the grounds to include your car your fired. if you leave the building while on the clock your fired once your inside you cant leave. I got yelled at for 15 minutes once for walking out to my car because I forgot my lunch on the passenger seat. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the managment treated workers poorly
Machining Operator (Former Employee), Wapakoneta, OHJuly 8, 2013
Pros: lunches were paid
Cons: was always covered in machining oil
I would clock in, walk to my station and sign in along with grabbing paper work. Then filling out the paper work for the machines I would run. Start the machining cycle fill the bins with raw parts. The continuing to file down parts. What learned from this job is how to work more as a team. The management was super poor with workers. They would treat – more... us like dirt and didn't deserve respect witch is what later lead to over forty plus workers on one shift within a few months seek a new jobs. The hardest part of the job was having to work with people who would not put in the same hard work. The most enjoyable part of this job was I was always able to keep busy to make the day go faster. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Fleet Manager (Former Employee), Carrollton, TXMarch 27, 2013
Pros: plenty of work
Cons: lack of stong mgment
Good company to work for but needs some stronger leadership
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD WRK PLACE
Machine Automation Technician (Former Employee), Rome, ga.January 13, 2013
good place to work.learn how to run a automation robot and Die Castin machine
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
molder
Molder (Former Employee), Huntington, INNovember 29, 2012
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: hot
Start up mold then run through out the 10 hour day. The guys are very helpful when u need help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work for. Supervisors are cooperative
Electrician & General Maintenance (Former Employee), Fremont, INNovember 7, 2012
Great people to work with. Good management. Good insurance benifits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work was hot
Finisher (Former Employee), Huntington, INApril 29, 2012
Pros: free drinks
Cons: heat
The job overall was very tedious and strenuous, the management made sure the employees had all the needed equipment to perform the jobs required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good work place and good people
Tool and Die room (Current Employee), OHApril 24, 2012
I like the job looking for better opportunities I work in our tool and die room and have learned alot of different things maching welding dressing and repairing of molds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a very hot and sometimes unsafe place to work.
Finisher, mold operator, and furnace tender (Former Employee), Conneaut, OHMarch 25, 2012
Pros: easy place to get a job.
Cons: hot, unsafe, and not a pleasant place to work.
This workplace was very hot and at times very unsafe to work. Advancement was not very easy to come across unless to knew them. The pay was low for the work we did and the employees were not the best in the business. The hired just about any one off the street.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the H. R.was good in richmond to the work force
maint tech (Former Employee), Richmond IndianaMarch 3, 2012
Cons: the healthcare was good
it was good place to work for,if you did your job,you would be left along,I work for them for 17 year

About General Aluminum

Park-Ohio Holdings is driven to look for trouble. The holding company, operating through Park-Ohio Industries and its subsidiaries,¬†troubleshoots¬†industrial – Read more