Find companies:
General Construction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
60 reviews

General Construction Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work experiance
Stucco Installation - Customer Service (Former Employee), Utica, NYDecember 13, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Contact customers face-to-face, by telephone, or otherwise to go over plans, instructions, or specifications to determine work activities.

Provide information to supervisors, co-workers, and subordinates by telephone, in written form or in person

Convey information effectively to others to identify complex problems and review related information to develop and evaluate options and implement solutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place with great people
Laborer (Former Employee), Canton, OHDecember 2, 2014
Great staff, good people always doing something new. Great place to learn a craft and gain skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start to learn about pipefitting
Handyman/Carpenter (Former Employee), Jacksonville,N.C.November 26, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: ran out of work contracts
Was a great job doing new and replacing old piping for commercial buildings
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
forklift operating is fun
Heavy Equipment Operator (Former Employee), Newnan, GANovember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: hours
Enjoyed operating forklifts and participating in wire pulls. Would recommend job to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked for myself
self employer builder (Former Employee), NMNovember 4, 2014
Pros: worked my own schedule
Cons: not enough building opertunities
I worked on building porches, as I finished one I looked for some more building opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hands on work place
Laborer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILNovember 2, 2014
A work place that encourages willingness to learn and dedication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and rewarding
Carpenter (Former Employee), Ocala, FLNovember 2, 2014
All employees were encouraged to broaden their skills and received compensation for doing so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting & challenging
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Dillsburg, PASeptember 19, 2014
Pros: team atmosphere
Cons: the morale started to get lower with lay offs
Everyday was different. I never knew what I'd get into in the course of a day. I have learned a lot about the construction industry. I loved management and the co-workers, we were all a team. I enjoyed the fast past and multitasking everyday.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
Transportation/Heavy equipment operator (Former Employee), Santa Clarita,caSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: great boss
Cons: wanted something differnt & benifits
Start up procedures Rigging Safe working load on rope & wire, Transit set up & accurate reading, Read engineer ruler, Preventative maintenance, soils, front & back bucket skills, supervisor skills, Teaching skills, grade checking, air brakes, loading trucks, color codes for dig alert, oxygen acetylene
Cutting, hand sign, cubic yard formal, first aid & accident procedures
• Experience: Class A Driver for Mission Produce with responsibilities for all aspects of supply chain distribution.
• Responsibilities include inventory control and management of all products within my control.
• Delivered product to various distribution centers within my routes.
• Off season duties included: ripening room construction which required significant use of electrical, welding, drywall and general construction skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and Fun workplace
Framer/Laborer (Former Employee), Amsterdamn, NYAugust 13, 2014
fun people to work with as well as a solid hard working job. I learned many things about construction techniques and how to be a team leader. i loved dealing with the customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Cement Worker (Former Employee), Beaumont, TXJune 13, 2014
Day starts with a supervisor to employee meeting about objectives and goals of the day. Hardest part of the morning is the unloading of the shipment that arrives mid-morning which is the largest. Most enjoyable would be around the holidays mainly because you can never promptly prepare yourself for what type of work one might encounter
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-employed while working as a handy man in a variety of locations.
Handyman Services (Current Employee), CA, FL, NY, MI, PRApril 30, 2014
Performed a variety of tasks in different environments. Learned about extreme temperatures, both hot and cold. Required to multi-task, with a flexible time frame. Completing tasks and reviewing the work completed at the end of the day was most rewarding as a sense of accomplishment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD PEOPLE TO WORK FOR JUST NOT STEADY WORK
GENERAL LABORER (Current Employee), TENNESSEEApril 3, 2014
LOVE DOING THE WORK BUT THE WORK IS NOT STEADY AND THERE IS NO CHANCE FOR ADVANCEMENT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction
Carpenter (Current Employee), Long Beach, CAMarch 31, 2014
Was good employment, but was offered a position @ Boeing which I accepted. Better future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with different people
Project Manager (Current Employee), Hercules, CAMarch 25, 2014
Pros: good boss
Cons: non
Enjoyed working with different type people.
Well compensated.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdoor work conditions
Carpenter/Laborer (Current Employee), Queens, NYFebruary 27, 2014
A typical day of work is not too burdensome, a day starts with some planning, preparation, execution of project, and a final clean up of the days work area.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer in business
Steel Building Erector, Forman (Former Employee), Quitman, GAFebruary 4, 2014
Was a great job to have and a great boss. Learned a lot from this man. He was like a dad to me and still is. Hardworking and would never give up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whatever work needed to be done.
Carpenter/Laborer (Former Employee), Dracut, MAJanuary 27, 2014
Get to work start up the trucks. Receive the job listing for the day, and complete task given by the boss.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Remodeling Laborer (Former Employee), Clovis NMJanuary 25, 2014
New builds, remodel, demolition jobs. Tile work, multi tol uses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fan work place.
Remodeling (Former Employee), Chicago and ChicagolandDecember 12, 2013
Pros: be busy making money an something you like.
Cons: long hours
The most enjoyable part of the job is fix the problem and make customer happy.

1 2 3