General Contractor Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flooring subcontracting can be both challenging and rewarding
Flooring Installer (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 11, 2017
I enjoyed the physical side of this job. The crew that I was working with didn't always get along but we managed. I was a subcontractor so I got to work on what I wanted to work on when I wanted to work on it.
Pros
Working for yourself is awesome
Cons
working with other contractors can be tricky
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get your broom
driver/courier (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAJanuary 24, 2015
mostly did demolition work and clean out and clean up work. delivering materials to other workers on site. making sure the work place was clean and safe for all to work.
Pros
easy no brainer work
Cons
no moving up or learning something new.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
General Contractor (Current Employee) –  San Francisco Bay Area, CANovember 4, 2014
I work with couple of guys and clients. I made sure that at the end of the job , they are happy with whatever is the finish product of the project.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as 25 years ago....
Building Contractor (Current Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCOctober 5, 2014
Love it!

Dream Job.

Love the business of building, remodeling, additions, renovations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and productive workforce with room for gaining experience in different trades
Bookkeeper & Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 26, 2014
Being a single mother and having a flexible job/career is ideal. I am able to care for my family in the way that I need and I am also able to run my own cleaning business as well. It's as if I have my necessities, but the only downfall is that it is part time and I would rather full time hours. The management is very firm but fair ad the environment is not stressful.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Its only allows part time hours and no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive hard working job
Roofer/Laborer (Former Employee) –  Scranton, PAOctober 26, 2013
I would start the day off by figuring how much of everything I needed with basic math. Then go ahead and get putting my body and mind to work under pressure. Very labor intensive job and very team oriented. Working well with co-workers is a must in this profession. Especially, while 80 ft. in the air, on a roof for 9-10 hours in 95 degree heat. Defiantly a hard job but teaches you patients and how to be calm in tough places. All in all it was a fun job.
Pros
Free workout
Cons
No benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Job
General Contractor (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMay 28, 2013
My position started out as a basic entry level position and I was given multiple oppurtunities to grow, in which I did advance myslef very quickly. Only problem was the economy, which when it went down, had a huge impact on the business which caused it to go out of business
Pros
time, pay, coworkers
Cons
limited work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productivity and quality of work
Window Installer (Former Employee) –  Kenosha, WIFebruary 27, 2013
quality of work and productivity is the goal I have in mind. quickly and learn new things about this work
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

See more General Contractor reviews

You may want to try:

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Contractor. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
2.9