Find companies:
General Dynamics - IT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
356 reviews

General Dynamics - IT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you are looking for immediate work then Spherion is a good company for immediate placement
Functional Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 16, 2014
Spherion was able to provide me with quick placement to another job once one contract ended.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chester, VAApril 15, 2014
General dynamics was an overall great place to work. I enjoyed answering the phone and assisting consumers with their health insuance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR at any call center
HR (Former Employee), Rather not sayApril 11, 2014
Pros: there are none
Cons: long hours, lack of appreciation, poor ethics, don't care about employees
No one should be this desparate for a job. HR turnover at their call center sites is unprecedented. You are expected to work 60-70 hours per week with no extra recognition or compensation.

They do not hire full-time recruiters to smartly recruit year round. Instead, temporary recruiters are brought in around April for the surge that starts in May, – more... so you're already behind. Then they do six months of surge hiring and you will be at a job fair almost every weekend. Because they hire so many in such a short time span, the quality of hires is poor. By October most everyone is hired and the recruiters are sent out the door and the generalist is left to handle hundreds of problem employees AND do all the hiring as well.

Then in January, they start "ramping down" (firing) people and in April, they start the cycle all over again. It is the worst system ever implemented. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great environment
NOC Analyst (Current Employee), Westminster, COApril 11, 2014
Pros: people, mgmt, salary
Cons: contract work.
I'd love to stay here...sadly it's contract work. C'est la vie
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Call Center to work for!
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Chester, VAApril 9, 2014
Helping Medicare beneficiaries really touched my heart and I loved knowing that every customer I got off the phone with, had all of their questions answered. Working for Medicare made me appreciation my elders more than I did due to the way healthcare is set up now. I learned a lot about healthcare during my time worked at General Dynamics!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Active and challenging office
Executive Assistant (Former Employee), Dahlgren Naval Surface Weapons Center, VAApril 9, 2014
Pros: home made birthday cakes
Cons: distance from home
This was a great place to work. The people were exciting and committed to the tasks and projects. I learned about the ups and downs of the Defense travel System.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mentally challenging
Customer Service and Support Representative (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZApril 8, 2014
The hardest part of the job was the customer base itself. The contract we worked for was enrolling consumers into a health insurance plan established by the government program. Despite not having to sell anything to consumers, the job was difficult in that we had to work with a large volume of consumers who were irate because their online applications – more... were not processed properly, could not be processed, or their accounts did not function properly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun team and boss
Customer Services Representative (Former Employee), Houston TXApril 7, 2014
Pros: can eat at our desk on some days and the relaxed days when we can wear comfortable clothing.
Cons: shortbreaks and 30 minitue lunches
Promptly answers, screens, and process applications and health insurance inquiries with strict adherence to confidentiality agreements and policies and procedures. Provide information to Marketplace consumers’ programs , policies and procedures, HMO, PPO, POS plans, Chips, Medicaid Collects and enters consumer information into appropriate database and – more... software system into initiate the transaction. Documents is to be concise, through and accurate. Responds to Changes /Red Flag calls and refer them to the proper department. Participates in internal educational opportunities relevant to call center or customer service environment Attends or reviews 00%of team meetings annually.Responds to irate calls in a professional manner. Meets outlined Q care benchmarks and/or quality indicators as monitor
I love my co-workers and my supervisor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and enjoyable.
Sr. Information Technology Technician (Former Employee), Fort Riley, KSApril 3, 2014
Pros: quiet and not a lot of interactions with management.
Do daily reports and then inspect construction activities daily.
I learned a lot about construction and communications.
Management was there if needed .
I worked by my self. Co workers were customers of my company.
Weekly reports were confusing in how management wanted the wording.
The people I works around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to be involved with the implementation of the Affordable Care Act
Health Insurance Marketplace Customer Service Rep (Current Employee), Sandy, UTApril 3, 2014
It has been an interesting experience to be involved with the new Affordable Care Act. I have seen several aspects of this new law and how it can benefit the lives of Americans throughout the United States. We have been required to be flexible to work to accommodate federal deadlines to assist consumers with information about health insurance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay and benefits. Uknown job security. Very odd work hours, non-negotiable
Health Insurance Call Center Representative (Current Employee), London, KYApril 3, 2014
Pros: great pay, benefits, extremely nice office building
Cons: low job security, unexpected lay-offs, odd schedule hours, not very personal
Great place to work over all, good pay, professional environment. Unknown job security, such as unannounced lay-offs. Non-negotiable schedules. Very mentally tiring job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting, challenging
Healthcare Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Hattiesburg, MSApril 2, 2014
I would recommend this position to anyone who loves to provide quality customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative company that faced many challenges while providing customer service to the public.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), FloridaApril 1, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits & pay
Cons: poor software
We, as a company, faced many challeges with imperfections and constant re-vamping of the software programs and web site we were using to assist consumers in finding plans that would suit their needs and financial situations. As a customer service representative, it was imperative to learn to constantly adapt to change while maintaining the highest level – more... of customer service possible. As it was a new contract, and time was of the utmost importance, management were unable to be trained on the phones or computers, so many of them learned that part of their jobs from the CSRs who had the actual "hands-on" experience on the phones and using the systems software. Most of my co-workers understood their lack of floor knowledge and we all worked together to try to assist them. We definitely worked as a team. The most frustrating part of the job, was when I was in the middle of trying to assist someone, and the system, or phones, would go down. The most rewarding part of my job was when I could completely assist a consumer from start to finish and provided them some peace of mind and a plan that really fit their needs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enterprise IA Projects
Enterprise CISO Security Project Manager (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 1, 2014
Pros: productive and great pmo support
Cons: lack of political support
I have increased my knowledge by implementing IA engineering services, program management and technical solutions to enterprise-wide requirements. Supervised the creation, editing, and reviews of security certification and accreditation packages for the Air Force's Joint Worldwide Intelligence Communications System (AF JWICS) Enterprise. The hardest – more... part of my job is utilizing the new Risk Management Framework to certify and accredit the Enterprise. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work as a customer service rep
Medicare Claims Rep-Written Correspondence (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSApril 1, 2014
Pros: general medicare training program is fun b/c they hire corporate trainers (true professionals), free medical insurance, biweekly pay periods when they don't screw it up
Cons: unqualified supervisors, verbally abusive/psychotic callers, secure floor policy, no pay increases (base rate despite increased training/skill set), layoffs, minimal employee screening, hr department is clueless & belittling, attendance policy
This corporation is a 1-800-Medicare contractor and The Worst company I've ever worked for. The incessant protocols & absurd "secure floor policy" (I.e no pen, paper, coats, soft candy,etc. at your desk) made CSRs feel like parolees not employees. Upper management never admitted mistakes like when they messed up payroll. GDIT makes securing another – more... contract more important than employee safety & happiness. It was like a call center/sweat shop/concentration camp. Only work here if you are desperate or an Ex-con because there are no background checks and you have access to 52million social security numbers!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run
Customer Service (Current Employee), Waco TexasMarch 29, 2014
Cons: too much to list
Don't waste your time. Very unprofessional and never organize. For high schoolers only, because that's exactly how they treat you there. They lay off every 6months no chance for permanent or growth within.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Program Manager- Logistics Automation (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAMarch 28, 2014
Outstanding division managers, from the President on down to the director.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to earn a living
Driver, Forklift & Pallet Jack Operator (Former Employee), Arlington, VAMarch 27, 2014
Fast paced stress free environment. Management was easy going. You basically managed yourself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team members
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSMarch 24, 2014
Pros: knowing that i got to help a lot of people
Cons: i couldn't change shifts
A supervisor who says they never thought you would make it far; then getting write ups when they know what’s happening. I loved the job and the people all around me I just didn’t need the main person that’s job was to show me and support me to down grade me any chance they had.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Network Engineer (Current Employee), Chantilly, VAMarch 21, 2014
Great mission and the opportunity to learn is superb. Shift work is difficult.

1 2 3 4 5

About General Dynamics - IT

General Dynamics Corporation (General Dynamics) offers a portfolio of products and services in business aviation; combat vehicles, – Read more

General Dynamics - IT Photos