Find companies:
General Dynamics - IT
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
461 reviews

General Dynamics - IT Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logisitic management,
Logistics Engineer, Property Book Officer (Former Employee), Fort Hood, TXSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: lunch breaks
Cons: short breaks
Worked with soldier and civilian inventorying incoming and outgoing property from and to Fort Hood. Good leader/manager. The best part of the job is to finished the day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Executive Assistant
Senior Analyst, Executive Assistant/Trade Shows (Former Employee), Fairfax, VASeptember 17, 2014
Business Development group was a great group to work for. Work/life balance was excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy Call Center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Riverview, FLSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: customer service experience
Cons: short breaks
Very busy call center. Management was not very knowledgeable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive Work Site
Associate Specialist CSR (Current Employee), Hattiesburg, MSSeptember 16, 2014
General Dynamics has several different branches. I worked for Center of Medicare services and also the health insurance marketplace. This is a call center, so there will be high call volumes during open enrollment. Its a great work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Diversification of 2 accounts
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lawrence, KSSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: the company would provide a catered lunch once a week, provided health insurance
Cons: not being able to make my scheduled medical appointments, even though it was an ongoing condition without getting docked so many points per time
It is a great place to work if you are interested in Customer Service. I learned how to get people enrolled using the Healthcare.gov website and explain their results of whether they qualified for a tax credit or subsidy to help pay for their healthcare. The hardest part of the job was getting my medical needs (i.e. an ergonomic chair) met and being – more... able to schedule doctor appointments. The most enjoyable part of the job was helping consumers get healthcare insurance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awsome place to work
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Houston,TexasSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: learning new things working with varies of people everyday
Cons: very short lunches
A tpypical day a work would start by reading email updates to see if there were any changes in program, It was very important that I look through them due to claases that we may have to take that day. I then went online and answered incoming call nearly 100 a day. I learned alot about Healthcare plans and how to be a great Customer Care Rep providing – more... peace of mind to thousands. My management team was Great, I was in the top 2% of the whole company of 10000+ employees. Management ask to to go for supervisor many times. Co-workers many times came by to ask for help on my team as well as off in which I enjoyed helping. The hardest part of my job is when the closed the Company down. The most enjoyable part was that I was able to help millions of American get affordable Health Care. As well as my hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ugh
csr (Current Employee), Chester, VASeptember 8, 2014
Pros: monday-friday shift and my coworkers
Cons: job in general, high call volume, beneficiaries, parking, temperature (always freezing) strict rules everything about this job is bad!
By far the worst place I've ever worked. There is NO opportunity for advancement. People that have been there for years make the same rate as someone walking through the door, that's ridiculous. Calls are back to back to back everyday for no reason. Having to deal with rude and irate callers that repeatedly call because it seems like they have nothing – more... better to do with life. It almost seems as if you are wasting your breath with these callers because they call in thinking they know everything or they just don't listen to what you tell them.They warned us in training that the job is mentally draining and I took that lightly but it is definitely the truth. If you don't adhere to your schedule you could be coached and possibly terminated for it. It's almost impossible to adhere to your schedule when calls are back to back. The time they expect you to get callers of the phone is impossible because every call is different and a lot of calls take time. They say let them vent and talk but expect us to get them off the line in specific amount of time..Yeah ok! Don't bother to get sick or be on your death bed because they won't accommodate you for it you just have to have the "hours" to cover yourself. This is just a warning if you know you want more out of life and you would like to be in a position that allows you to at least be content please look else where. I shed a tear every time I sit at my desk because this job is the absolute worse! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Speaking to agents and or consumers about their healthcare issues.
Bilingual Internal Support Supervisor (Current Employee), Chester, VASeptember 8, 2014
I enjoy assisting people solve their issues, since I am bilingual I can do this in both English and Spanish.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor and unorganized workplace
customer service (Former Employee), chester, vaSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: my trainer was nice :)
Cons: short lunch, no food in cafe, unorganized, too many ppl, too many layoffs
GDIT is not the ideal company to work for. If you just need a job, then take it. This is not somewhere you would want to work as your career. The only thing I like about GDIT is that health insurance through them is FREE. other than that, company sucks. They butter you up and make it seem like everything is peaches and cream. NOPE! This is a temp position. – more... you are NOT guaranteed permanent. Its ratchet and ghetto. Not to mention GDIT, is an "at-will" company, meaning they can fire you for any reason, at any time. I got extremely sick and was hospitalized for a week. Had doctors note and all, think they let me keep my job?? NO!! Due to me missing more than 40 hrs of wrk, they terminated me per their "policy". Its a bunch of BS. They're lucky I cant sue b/c of them being "at-will", but I definitely was. Its to each it owns but you shall see....don't say I didn't warn you. Just know, if you get sick, child gets sick, have death in the family, whatever the case may be, if u miss more than 40 hrs or reach your occurrences, you're GONE!!! And they don't care b/c im sure they have another 150 ppl starting the following week or month. They famous for hiring a lot of ppl then laying them off once medicare enrollment period ends. SMH – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was contract work while there
Communications (Former Employee), Middletown, RISeptember 4, 2014
Pros: nice work envirornment
Cons: long travel comute
I was only tjhere a few months as a contractor. I seemed to pickup that their were alot of perfessionals there, and all friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly workplace
Front Office Admin/Property Administrator (Former Employee), Arlington, VASeptember 3, 2014
I started off as a Receptionist but then I was given the title Front Office Administrator and I also received training to be a Property Administrator. I supported 2 offices, one in Arlington, VA and the other in Fairfax, VA. I ordered office supplies, greeted visitors, reserved conference rooms, worked closely with the Facilities department, assisted – more... with new hires for our office located in Richmond, VA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace with challenging opportunities
Medicare Advanced Resolution Specialist (Current Employee), Lawrence, KSAugust 27, 2014
Pros: free health insurance
Cons: working in a cubicle
GDIT is a positive workplace environment. It can be stressful at times but as a result of that offers a challenging and rewarding experience. The opportunity to help real people with deal with real problems is a very rewarding experience. The intricate and complex political dynamic of the workplace offers wonderful insight into resource allocation and – more... personnel management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Start-Up Job
Customer Service Representative (Temporary Agent) (Former Employee), Chester, VAAugust 27, 2014
A typical day at work would include arriving and going straight to my desk to begin taking customer service calls. The breaks were moderate, and my coworkers were pleasant people to be around. From this job, I learned how to work with computer database programs and to troubleshoot by using them. I also learned how to perform extensive research so I – more... could weigh out all of the possible outcomes of a problem at hand.

The hardest part about the job was sometimes the wait between calls; we were not given much else to do. The most enjoyable part was helping consumers to the best of my ability, as well as coworker interaction and meeting new people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be!
Sr. Network Administrator (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 25, 2014
Benefits/pay good. Work/life balance very good. Not much support from day-to-day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work; nice people and interesting work.
Senior Database Developer (Current Employee), Bay St. Louis / Stennis Space Center, MSAugust 22, 2014
Pros: interesting work with good people
Cons: job security depends on government funding, and is at risk year by year.
I worked with a small, hard-working team performing System Analysis. Researching the recent developments in parallel processing and virtualization in a data and graphic-intesive environment has been a great pleasure and learning experience. I've enjoyed working with GDIT personnel and management as well as our client.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid To Be A Professional Liar
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Lynn Haven, FLAugust 21, 2014
Pros: paid sick time
Cons: everything else
This review may cause potential employers to not choose me as a candidate for employment, but I have to be truthful about my experience with this company. I take pride in my job, but with General Dynamics I could not enjoy my job. This job makes you lie to consumers and mislead them into obtaining health insurance coverage. I could not sleep at night – more... and stayed sick all of the time. I am not the type of person to quit a job until I have another job, but I decided that I morally could not work with this employer any longer and chose to leave the company. Every six months you have to bid for a shift and it is based on your compliance and quality. You constantly change supervisors and managers, so it is hard to meet compliance and quality due to each supervisor and manager having different requirements. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity
IT Analyst (Former Employee), Fairfax, VAAugust 13, 2014
Good opportunity to work learn from IT professionals from diverse backgrounds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uncertainty and low morals with team.
Technical Advisor / Sr. Architect (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 11, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: needed direction
The contracts were unstable and the morals of who team were low. People were placed but had no experience in doing what they were hired for. The blame game started and the good people were blamed. So decided to leave.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful work place
Former Rep. (Former Employee), Panama City, FL Lynn HavenAugust 10, 2014
Pros: great learning experience about what goes on behind the scen's on healthcare insurance
Cons: poor management from the lowest management up to the higest position
No one knows what to do from day to day this includes management especially mangers the site director you hardly ever saw the floor walkers could not answer any basic questions about the work performed system problems on top of all this e-coachings that were inaccurate and not specific as to how to correct the problem managers that try to intimidate – more... you time sheets being inaccurate not being paid for overtime supervisors walking around doing nothing but shushing you by putting up the quiet fingers like they do elementary schoolers changing supervisors often supervisors not knowing how to assist with your questions other supervisors ignoring you when you have your flag raised with a question two 15 minute breaks 30 minute lunch only 4 microwaves to use durning 30 minute lunch which usually takes 10 minutes to get one to use.. Management from HR to supervisors to managers not knowing and or ignoring you when you have questions... Very rude and treat you as a child like environment – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a never ending learning environment
Senior Warehouse Technician (Current Employee), Panama City, FloridaAugust 10, 2014
Pros: travel and the great people i work with.
Cons: hot warehouse in florida.
I manage equipment used for production of Marines projects. On a daily basis I perform inventory control from receiving, shipping, issuing, testing, delivering, and assembling high dollar electronic equipment following production procedures. I work alone in a 7500 SF warehouse, but when I need help there is always a co-worker that is willing to help. – more... I'd say the hardest part of the job is trying to satisfy several customers that want equipment like right now and all generally geographically separated. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to travel and help set up the end product. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About General Dynamics - IT

General Dynamics Corporation (General Dynamics) offers a portfolio of products and services in business aviation; combat vehicles, – Read more

General Dynamics - IT Photos