Find companies:
General Growth Properties
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

General Growth Properties Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Conference Coordinator (Former Employee), Chicago IllAugust 18, 2014
I loved it it was fun. It paid the bills it was downtown. It had people there. It paid me money
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome benefits & great place to work.
Assistant to Senior General Manager (Former Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLJuly 10, 2014
Love this job and the company. They have unbelievable benefits and great place to work. Totally enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Develop team environment with over 30 contracted service providers.
Operations Manager (Current Employee), Manchester, CTJuly 8, 2014
Manage operations and construction for a one million square foot enclosed shopping center located on 100 landscaped acres. Ensure that contracted work meets or exceeds shopping center standards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job loved everything about it.
Property Staff Accountant (Former Employee), 110 North Wacker, Chicago, ILJuly 2, 2014
Pros: great people to work with, again left alone to complete my job, but my supervisors where always available to questions.
Cons: the two hour commute into chicago every day and then the 13 blocks to walk in the chicago weather.
Received and processed all travel vouchers for 150 malls and employees for the Corporate office. Code all travel and expenses to get all employees paid in a timely fashion. I took what was a normal six week turn around for expense checks to be paid and got it down to two weeks. I also reviewed the American Express Credit Card report every month to get – more... it paid in a timely fashion. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced growing company.
Senior Analyst (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJune 5, 2014
Pros: very easy going and growing company
Cons: downtown location.
I love working here but looking for more challenging role. The company is constantly growing and getting better by every passing day. But in my case, I feel like I am not getting any challenges and I do not see any potential to grow. Also, commute to downtown is taking its toll on me so I have decided to look outside the company and hopefully find something – more... more challenging and in the Chicago northwest suburbia. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Common Area Coordinator (Former Employee), CaliforniaMay 26, 2014
Pros: established, organized, great place to learn.
Cons: went through lots of change impacting employment of many of employees.
Good company to work for with opportunity for advancement. Encouraged employees to work hard but to balance work and home. Managers were very supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people to work with
Property Accountant (Current Employee), Columbia, MDMarch 18, 2014
Pros: ability to telecommute when needed
Cons: healthcare. upper management decisions and rationale.
Most enjoyable part of job is working with immediate managers as well as co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Chicago, ILMarch 3, 2014
Lot of changes, management changes very frequently and it is not a stable work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved GGP
Project Administrator Assistant (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 23, 2014
Project Administration team lead by great leader.
Great beneifts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Multiple management changes, never-ending layoffs, zero job security
Manager (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 23, 2014
Many years ago, this company was actually known as a great place to work. A bankruptcy and multiple management changes has made that a thing of the past. Now morale is at a low, layoffs have become a part of the culture, and stress levels are peaking. Meanwhile, the company makes changes to its organizational structure, only to revert back to the original – more... organizational structure later, and then back again some time after that. It's like ping pong and leaves the rank and file scratching their heads. There's a lot of grumbling in the trenches, that's for sure. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization is constantly changing
Financial Analyst, Marketing Budget Management (Current Employee), Chicago, ILJanuary 22, 2014
Organization is constantly changing, very little room to advance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Regional Marketing Manager (Current Employee), Naples, FLJanuary 21, 2014
I really enjoy working at GGP, although the Marketing department has constant reorganization. It is somewhat unstable, unfortunately.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of fun
Operations Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, MDDecember 18, 2013
General Growth Properties, Inc. is an American real estate investment trust, headquartered at 110 North Wacker Drive in Chicago, Illinois, a historic building designed by architectural firm Graham, Anderson, Probst & White. It owns and manages shopping malls throughout the United States.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly exciting and rewarding
STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS / BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXDecember 11, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: n/a
A typical day for me would be to create ideas for prospective and existing clients to offer a partnership that would provide awareness to their brand through high-impact marketing via in-mall advertising, event activiation, sponsorship opportunities, and most recently digital media, ultimately developing long-term business relationships resulting in – more... meeting / exceeding financial goals. Last minute out-of-town travel was always expected so that I could canvass the markets to meet the financial expectations of each of the (9) malls through Alternative Revenue. I learned that my ability to multi-task utilizing my organizational skills was key in doing my job well while managing client expectations and working closely and well with internal departments. I can't say that I really thought there was anything hard, so to speak, about my job, but would rather position that question as maybe a challenge would be when each of us as a sales team were given a stretch goal towards the end of the year, in order to meet a financial goal as a whole, but I always accomplished that task, or exceeded the goal. The most enjoyable part of my job was working closely with my new and existing clients and building relationships with them, which many times resulted in long-term multi-million dollar contracts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior Property Accountant (Former Employee), Columbia, MDNovember 15, 2013
It is a great place to work. I would recommend it to anyone. Standard hours, management is helpful, co-workers are excellent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Culture and Management
Business Development (CAC) (Former Employee), NJNovember 14, 2013
Pros: staff
Great Experience, Great position. If it were not for my Husband's relocation I would have stayed forever!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review summary
Marketing Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Glendale, CANovember 4, 2013
Pros: networking experience is amazing and will learn alot.
Cons: work most holidays.
Enjoyed working for this property management. Learned alot from my previous mentor and would like to return working here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family environment lost
Manager- Property Accounting (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 9, 2013
New management ruined this company. Through bankruptcy protection and successful emergence, the founding family was booted and new managment cleared house.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working atmosphere, good relationship between supervisor and self.
Maintance Technician (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, Va.October 1, 2013
Employees in Maintenance Department were great, yet the policies of the company changed from when I was there before.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Real Estate
Senior Property Accountant (Former Employee), Chico & HoustonSeptember 28, 2013
Pros: great benefits, interesting job.
Cons: centralized accounting to corporate offices
Great company! Possibilities of advancement within the company.

About General Growth Properties

General Growth Properties (GGP) has an idea for an economic stimulus plan: Let's all hang out at the mall! GGP is the country's – Read more