General Mills Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to much ot
Sanitation/Production (Former Employee) –  waverly, ohioJanuary 22, 2018
good pay. very hot had to gear up in yellow rubber suits to clean. you worked 13 on 1 day off in two weeks.. you only received 2 days off a month. good food in lunch room
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and meaningful work, slow advancement
Product Engineer (Current Employee) –  Golden Valley, MNJanuary 19, 2018
Each day at work was different as a product development engineer! I did everything from direct interviews with the consumer, to formula/recipe development, to scale-up and optimization at the plant. Great opportunities for learning on the job. The workplace is friendly, but very corporate jargon heavy. The hardest part of the job is that R&D is an all encompassing role that answers to every other function without a lot of control. The best part is the variety and how exciting it is to take a product from idea to on shelf.
Pros
variety, work place fun events
Cons
busy times of the year you get no breaks and work a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Management
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Golden Valley, MNJanuary 17, 2018
I worked for eight years in IT at General Mills and never could figure out how to get promoted. The whole process was very hush hush and it seemed you had to schmooze quite a bit to get consideration. I was on multiple high-profile projects that were successful in large part because of me stepping up and working outside of the box. They had profiles of each employee - one form even included "Career Derailers" as one of the things they tracked about you, but never shared so that you could work on it.

In general the culture was collaborative otherwise and I would work there again...I just know better now to expect a promotion for a job well done.
Pros
Work/life balance; flexible work arrangements
Cons
Promotion mystery; Unorganized/closed management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dough Processing Operator (Former Employee) –  New Albany, IN 47150January 17, 2018
The people and benefits were very good. Unfortunately, General Mills decided to close the plant in which I was employed. The management was fairly good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Line Leader (Former Employee) –  Palmyra, PAJanuary 16, 2018
Great place but need better benefits . It was only hired by agency not by company. But is a great place to work. They give an opportunity to lern different tipe of job dutty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational
Maintenance Supervisor Team Leader II (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILJanuary 14, 2018
Many Different Facets
Liked working in a diverse culture with personal opportunities for growth,
Good work life balance
Company willing to educate and promote safety as a priority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Belvidere, ILJanuary 12, 2018
It was a good place to work,but the hours and pay were not good. It is a fast, intense work environment as well.It was difficult for me because there was a lot of heavy lifting and standing involved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Utilities Worker (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAJanuary 10, 2018
It was very comfortable but really hot and busy and competition was everywhere we got cancelled because they relocate there business to Perris can and I no longer went back.
Pros
Good
Cons
30 min lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Latina (Current Employee) –  Eaton County, MIJanuary 8, 2018
loving enviroment, good peoople. best part of the job is the people everyone is caring worst part is that it had to be shut down. i learned alot of skills that i will take with me forever.
Pros
good people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work, lackluster management
Sourcing Buyer North American Plant Services (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 8, 2018
The work/life balance here is great. The hours are flexible and the pay is pretty decent. The stress factor was on the constant emphasis on saving money, no matter the cost, even though the company is not struggling. Management here is also disappointing. I question how some managers were able to advance to leadership roles.
Pros
Work/life balance, good benefits, flexible hours
Cons
Bad management, lack of strategic direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about General Mills?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General Mills is a wonder company to work for
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Vineland, NJJanuary 8, 2018
I have learn and experience a lot working for General mills, i was grateful for the opportunity to be employee. Unfortunately the Vineland facility close their doors August 3, 2017.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with great benefits
on factory lines (Former Employee) –  Joplin, MOJanuary 7, 2018
I loved this job and the hours and pay i really like factory work it keeps a good pace and provides security . it is a job i could see myself in a career at
Pros
JOB SECURITY and great health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wish they never closed.
Fill Production Machine Operator/ Sanitation (Former Employee) –  Vineland, NJJanuary 4, 2018
Progresso was the best job I ever had. Was very family bonded and had plenty of overtime. Learning the process on how to make can soup was enjoyable. Wish they did not relocate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not bad
Line leader/Packer (Former Employee) –  Social Circle, GAJanuary 3, 2018
Great place to gain experience for new coming labor workers. Friendly environment. Sometimes the work may be hard because the packing items are heavy from time to time but you’ll get used to it.
Pros
Hour break
Cons
Low pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manufacturing Plant
Packaging Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Vineland, NJJanuary 2, 2018
Excellent job in a manufacturing plant and paid well. good great awesome loud clean happy wonderful repetitive nice wow almost done filling characters
Pros
personal days
Cons
many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family, team oriented culture.
Raw Material, Production and Deployment Planner (Former Employee) –  Belvidere, ILJanuary 2, 2018
Fast paced, ever changing, constant revisions due to inbound delays, customer demand. Daily meetings to collaborate with all departments.

Learned all aspects of scheduling, material planning and deployment as well as lean manufacturing and continuous improvement impementation.

Necessary to keep up with the constant changes which meant working late hours, taking work home to work nights and weekends due to additional responsibilities from company downsizing.

Enjoyed working with my department team and all other plant departments as well as the vendors, transportation customer service reps., and the outside sales customers which I worked with for eleven years. The logistics part of my employment was an enjoyable challenge.
Pros
Culture, diversity, professionalism.
Cons
Communication between departments can be improved.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Pay and Benefits
Food Safety and Quality (Current Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIDecember 31, 2017
Paid weekly; 3 weeks Vacation, 5 PTO, 401k, Health Savings Account, Vision, Dental, and Medical, Two bonuses a year, with yearly raises. two 20 mins break, OT available
Pros
Great pay & benefits
Cons
A lot of OT last minute notification
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fork lift driver at cereal plant
Fork Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYDecember 31, 2017
Loaded and unloaded production line and stacked product accordingly. Busy logistics area. Very friendly environment. Fast paced. You can eat all the cereal you want while at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here !
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CADecember 29, 2017
The company does not care about safety,they had 3 forklift accidents because of quotas too high,everybody in fear for their job to the point people are unsafe on forklifts.
Pros
None
Cons
Dangerous enviorment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management and culture all around. Great life work balance
Senior Team Leader II/Quality Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 28, 2017
Valued people
Great Leadership and culture
Productive
Great opportunities for advancement
Great process and systems
Value Quality and Regulatory
WLB
Pros
Multiple plants and products
Cons
Plant closure due to mergers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at General Mills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,205 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7