Find companies:
General Mills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
311 reviews

General Mills Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance with amazing co-workers
National Account Manager (Current Employee), MinneapolisJanuary 26, 2015
Pros: the people
Cons: very political
I have worked at General Mills for 10 years and the company is fantastic with a strong and lean work force. A typical day at work is different every day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Consumer Insights Manager (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 26, 2015
Great place to work, motivated people, limited career path within CI. Great brands, matixed organization that is very hierarchical. Many opportunities to build your tool kit and learn from structured approaches and experienced mentors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good coworkers
Industrial Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), New Albany, INJanuary 23, 2015
New Albany, Indiana General Mills, Inc. plant is closing. Like the people that I work with, made a lot of good friends while working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre work environment
Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: consistent work
Cons: poor management and no opportunities for advancement
The facility I worked at was small and managed poorly. It has since closed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a well balance company
Forklift operator (Former Employee), Covington, GAJanuary 23, 2015
Pros: the pay was good
Cons: it was a little to far to commute
I think that it was a great place to work and I got a lot of experience there under good management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to grow professionally
Logistics Team Leader III (Current Employee), Buffalo, NYJanuary 21, 2015
The company is supportive of its employees. Because of the large size, employees are able to work in a variety of areas, and are encouraged to find the best fit for them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Logistics Business Manager (Current Employee), Golden Valley MNJanuary 20, 2015
I really enjoy working with great brands and great people.

2 rounds of layoffs in 2 years isn't fun to go through. Hopefully it will make the company stronger.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ups and Downs
Customer Replenishment Analyst (Current Employee), Golden Valley, MNJanuary 20, 2015
Overall I have enjoyed my time with GMI. Like any job there are pros and cons. It’s an enormous company and people have a tendency to get stuck/lost if they are not able to lay out a plan and communicate with their manager next steps and career plans. Company is currently going through a large scale restructuring plan.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Capable Account to maintained accurate accounts assigned
Accountant I (Current Employee), MinnesotaJanuary 19, 2015
A typical day tend to work in fast -paced to meet deadline- oriented projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the relationship with coworkers
Operator (Former Employee), Vineland, NJJanuary 19, 2015
Pros: great benefits
Cons: had a hard time with emergencies with my children
I enjoyed doing my daily jobs which were filling for anyone that was not at work. each day was a different task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management changed
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Vineland, NJJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: free christmas dinner
Cons: great health benifits
the job was fun to have, its like any other place its always the people you work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has provided for many
Facilties Maintenance Pipe Fitter (Current Employee), Lodi, CAJanuary 16, 2015
Pros: onsite personal trainer and a very nice gym
Cons: plant is closing down
My day starts with a meeting with co-workers and direct manager.
We go over any issues from the previous shift.
Using the Maximo work order system. We prioritize our back log work orders. Print them out and get to working on them.
I do enjoy working with my co-workers. Their varying personalities makes for an enjoyable environment to be apart of.
My direct manager allows us the time to be creative and put pride into our projects.
The hardest part of my job would be the push to get a project installed between production down times. So far, we have never missed a dead line..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Union environment
Quality Engineer I (Current Employee), West Chicago, ILJanuary 12, 2015
The harder part of the job is the union environment and the plant culture. However, the salary team is very innovative and full of talent, to drive change.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
SharePoint Client Services Consultant (Former Employee), Golden Valley, MNJanuary 9, 2015
I would have given General Mills all 5 Stars but I am only a contract so my job security/advancement is missing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the atmosphere.
Assistant Chef (Former Employee), Minneapolis MinnesotaJanuary 6, 2015
There was not enough hours and the upper management was all about himself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment for motivated team players.
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIJanuary 5, 2015
Pros: great place to learn more than work skill...
Cons: management will play the numbers game with your hours. remember it's business not personal, but i understand it's hard not to take short hours as personal.
Great work environment for motivated team players. The hardest part about working here is you can't find job security on the hourly 40 bases as often as you may like. However, you can take advantage of learning more than one warehouse work environment skill set.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, slow to market
Global Communications Manager (Current Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 4, 2015
General Mills offers up a wonderful environment. The company encourages diversity and walks-the-walk with the philosophy "bring your whole self to work."

However, General Mills is slow to innovate. It lags behind in critical areas of the industry. Consumers are on trend with smaller companies, and healthier and more exploratory brands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Business Planning Manager (Former Employee), Minneapolis, MNJanuary 4, 2015
Pros: great headquarters
Cons: current layoffs
Good work/life balance. Unfortunately going through layoffs now, so culture is on a downturn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mass produced Pizza Company
Line Worker (Former Employee), Wellston, OHJanuary 3, 2015
Pros: inside cool air in plant
Cons: long way to walk to plant from parking lot
Lots of walking on the Floor, putting out boxes, ready for pizza boxing
Or standing in one spot of a hour at a time pulling pizza off the line.
Management was very nice, co-workers were very nice. Hardest part
when the line goes down everything is done manually. Enjoyed the cool air in the plant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plant shutdown
Operating Technician (Current Employee), lodi caDecember 30, 2014
The company just announced its closure. Which affects 430 families. The moral at general mills is low. The company itself is good to its employees.

1 2 3 4 5

About General Mills

Our Brands. Your Legacy. Great brands start with the people that make them great. One of the world's leading food companies, – Read more

General Mills Photos